Fiction logo

The dragon’s love

Chapter 1

By Sarah ElishaPublished 2 years ago 21 min read
1
The dragon’s love
Photo by Dan Cutler on Unsplash

Although dragons weren't always in the valley, Madison Michaelson, a twin who can call on a dragon for help, is drawn to it. Always believed that everyone should be given a second chance in life. She realizes a tad too late that life itself doesn't follow that idea. Until she is faced with a life-threatening situation with a stranger named Channel Peterson and rescued by the dragon.

In front of her home, Channel was taken into a van and beaten. After helping save Channel from her kidnappers, took her to the police station to report the crime. Later, she joined her sister and friends for dinner. A few weeks later news of the channel being captured and saved became viral. About a month later the same men were looking for the lifesaver of Channel.

They found her house and stationed a van to watch her movements and routines. After months of watching, she was involved in an accident that left her conscious with her car flipped over. Daniel Joshua Colons has made a deep impression on Maddie that makes her think he is an arrogant jerk who is self-centered. She does not like Daniel Joshua Colons, although she is drawn to him as a dragon. He was running in the woods when he smelled a leak of gasoline, followed it, and found a car with a person in it. He pulls the door open and tries to help her out of the car. She passes out and Daniel picks her up and takes her through the forest until he reaches his destination.

Daniel didn't realize his dragon and Maddison’s dragon would be so drawn to each other that later he would fall in love with a girl who thinks of him as a jerk that saved her life when she needed saving. Who knows she might fall for him too in the end and maybe forgive him.

During the late-winter season, it was windy in New Orleans. This city is known for its round-the-clock nightlife, vibrant live-music scene, and spicy Bourbon Street. The singular cuisine reflects its history as a melting pot of French, African, and American culture during the carnival famed for raucous costumed parades and street parties.

While Madison was taking part in all these activities, she was heading to her farewell party. However, out of the blue, she stops for a minute to watch the singer at the Burlesque Festival. Taking in her surroundings, she notices a well-built muscular man with curly hair and strong arms.

She daydreams about him until a little girl with bouncy and curly hair with blue glowing eyes runs into her. A little girl is crying in her arms as she lands on the floor. He takes in the scene of his baby sister crying and walks over to help. He then asked, "Are you alright?" thinking he was referring to Madison. Upon turning around, Madison realized that he was talking to his little sister rather than to her. She is taken into his arms, consoled, and tickled until she forgets all about falling. After waiting for him to say anything she smiles and waits for him to do something, but he turns around and walks away.

I can't believe a person could be that rude, to think I was daydreaming about him. Well at least the little girl is alright, I wish I could give him a piece of my mind. What an arrogant, self-centered jerk.

Daniel turns around and looks right at Madison with an irritated face. Madison flinches for a moment saying did I say that out loud. Turning around to play I wonder what time it is. Ignoring the angry look, she starts to head to her party.

Burlesque Festival & Late-night eats

I was a bit surprised when she didn't fall at my feet. Other girls would fake hurting themselves for my attention. She was mad that I didn't even bother to help her. I wonder who she is, for her to have that courage to call me out on my behavior I mean after all am a dragon lord.

Her dress does show her shape not to mention her green eyes and her very pink lips. She sure looks like a girl with a smart mouth but I bet I can find something else to do with it besides calling me out of things.

Madison arrives at the restaurant known as late-night eats, meets her twin and friends at the door, says their hello's then walks in to meet the waitress already waiting for them. She welcomes them, picks a few menus then walks them to their table. Offers the menus and says your server will be with you shortly to take your orders.

The restaurant is packed with tables and chairs with flowers to decorate the room. In the background, there is music playing while on the wall there are beautiful pictures of past clients with their families. After leaving New Orleans, Madison is looking forward to meeting new people and experiencing exciting things. While she will miss her twin and friends here, she says she couldn't be happier about it. Their server arrives, introduces herself then begins taking orders for drinks (four cups of lemonade). The girls (Madison, Addison, Amanda, and Cynthia) do not drink alcohol and with good reasons. You see the girls have the ability to drawn their dragons, however drinking alcohol weakens the link. Madison's friends are also twins like herself and her sister (Addison). Their names are Amanda, who goes by the nickname Mandy, and Cynthia, who lives by the nickname Cindy. Madison and Addison's nicknames are Maddie and Addie. Only friends of theirs or family call them by their nicknames.

What happened to you, Maddie? I waited for you at the festival but you didn't come and you showed up at the restaurant instead. Is everything alright? You weren't working late again, were you? You had us worried, thinking you weren't attending your party.

In her mind, Madison remembers the earlier incident involving Daniel, and she smiles as she recalls how he looked. Then remembers how rude he was and stops smiling.

Everyone at the table was waiting for her to answer the questions Addie posed when they saw her smile. And like they could tell what she was thinking, Cindy says she must have met a guy; no wonder she forgot about her party. Mandy then asked him his name. When is the date and what does he do for a living? At that moment Madison snaps out of her reverie and asks what? Looking confused she says what date? I don't have a date; I don't know what you guys are talking about.

So, there is no guy, says Addie with shock in her voice. There are no guys, I was distracted by the singing and the beauty of the festival, and I also ran into a little girl. Before you say anything, I am fine and I found the little girl's family before leaving, added Madison. They order their meal and start eating....

Goodbyes & Best wishes

Not long after Daniel and two of his sisters with three of his friends arrived at the same restaurant. The waitress sits down at the table across from Maddie's. Maddie wasn't paying attention to who walked into or out of the restaurant until she looked out the glass door to see the festival. As a group of people walked in, she realized he was one of the individuals in the group.

She turns her attention back to her table ignoring his presence. While Daniel hadn't seen Maddie when he walked in, he later spots her as he sits at the table. He smiles thinking to himself how beautiful her smile is and how breathtaking she looks in her pink off-shoulder flower dress.

The people she surrounds herself with are significant to her. They are the only reason I am not joining her at the moment. Her hands look so small in comparison to mine, not to mention how soft she would feel What's going on with me? I don't even know her how can she take over my thoughts in less than 24 hours. Can you behave yourself before you make a fool of yourself in public, Daniel? There's no way she's even my type or interested in me after the way I behaved.

At that moment Daniel's sister follows his glare...

She is beautiful, right? Also, her name is Madison and she is a twin. She owns the St. Hope hospital and the Organization for Children. I hear she is moving to open a branch in Paris. Daniel looks shocked for a moment then says how do you know so much about her?

I know so much because her sister and I met in the same class in college, so I got to meet Madison through Addison, her twin. Addison is the owner of the event coordination firm MARE. She organized the ball last year and is doing this year's as well. Am going to say hello to them excuse me says, Adriana

Hello Michael-sons, what are the chances of meeting you guys here?

Addison says with shock and laughter in her voice hi Adriana. How have you been? And hugs her Madison says hi Adriana, hugs her and acknowledges it's been a while. Please let me introduce you, these are Amanda and Cynthia childhood friends of ours, the famous photographer of SHAPE.org, and the talented dancer of EMPOWERMENT studio.

This is Adriana Colons, the COO of Colons conglomerate. We went to the same college.

The girls greet each other, then Addison says are you here alone if so you are welcome to join us.

I am here with my brother, sister, and friends at the table right across from you guys. I don't believe you met Daniel when you guys came to hang out at the house.

Maddie says that he was always out. Almost like he was avoiding meeting us, by the way, is Brenda here? she added.

Adriana says I wish, then laughs and says he was taking over the company from our dad, yes she is here. You guys should join us. It will be like old times.

We understand, adds Addison. Sure, if everyone agrees. All said, "Wow, that sounds like fun.

The girls picked their things and followed Adriana to the table. Does Adriana say Brenda look who I found?

Brenda jumps to her feet and shouts OMG Maddie and Addie it's been ages. Where have you girls been? as she hugs them.

Maddie says hi Brenda it sure has been ages, you don't call or text.

Brenda laughs, then says sorry it's gully crazy by this time in the office, not to mention everyone going on break for the holidays.

Addison says we understand, it's glad to see you. Also, I want you to meet Amanda and Cynthia.......Brenda cuts her short by saying Simpsons, you from SHAPE and EMPOWERMENT...she shouts with excitement and hugs them. Thank you very much, it has been great to meet you in person.

Forgive my manners, this is my brother Daniel, his friends Lucas, Peter, and David.

All the girls say their hellos and introduced themselves except Madison who was stuck processing how Daniel is the same self-centered jerk from earlier. After a moment, she does say hello and then takes a seat next to Brenda and Mandy. Mandy happens to sense something wrong with her but does not utter a word.

The gadgets get to talking, there's laughter, some glance from Daniel to Madison who is so en-golfed in her conversation with Lucas, Mandy, and Brenda.

The night comes to an end, so the group steps out of the restaurant since it's closing. At the entrance the group exchange numbers, then say they're good nights. As Madison turns to meet up with her girls to know if they are ready to leave,

a hand taps on her shoulder... She turns around to face Daniel. However, they were close enough that she could smell him.

I didn't get a chance to introduce myself properly earlier. My name is Daniel- Joshua, and I'm sorry for not doing so earlier.

................glad you realized your faults, nice to meet you too says Madison as she backs up from him so she's not smelling him.

Then she says hope the little girl is alright ... Amara, right? She is fine, yes, it is.....

Addison interrupts Daniel saying, “Maddie we are going home…” With a smile, Madison says goodnight and walks away with Addison.

When Madison got home, she did some parking for a little bit then called it a night and retired to bed. On her last weekend in New Orleans by Tuesday, she will be in her brand-new loft in Paris to open the St Hope foundation to the public.

At the airport waiting to board the plane with Addie at the cafe shop.

Time to board, they say their goodbyes... Addie says call me immediately after you land. Maddie responded yes mummy I will, as she walked away.

A Fresh Start....

I landed in Paris at about 3 am, picked up my bags, and then walked to the car waiting for me. I remember Addie's last word to me then pick up my phone to dial her number in the car.

Hello mummy, I just made it out of the airport and am on my way to my loft now. It was a very straightforward and smooth trip for me. It's really beautiful here.

I just made it to my loft and need to get checked in with the receptionist, hang on a second, ok?

My name is Madison Starr Michael-son, and I am checking into the apartment that I am registered for.

Hello Miss Mikelson, we have been expecting you. How was your flight? Hope you were not kept waiting at the airport for your car?

Thank you, it was fine, and the driver was waiting for me when I arrived. Do I need to sign anything else?

No Miss, we have everything done and ready for you to move in. The doorman will help you with your bags. Great thank you say Maddie and smiled.

Please come with me, I will show you to your loft. You are on the seventh-floor number 709. Let me call you when I am in my loft, Addie. I'm heading to the loft right now.

Arriving at my door the receptionist opens the door, turns on the light, and invites me into it.

As I walked in, I was greeted by the beautifully spacious living area with pretty flowers in the center of the tables. On the wall, there are some wallpapers in white and some with mixed colors.

However, my favorite decor is the painting of a boy painting at the beach. The beautiful gold and white antique sofa are by the wall facing the balcony. To the right of the sofa is a very large red flower pot. In the center is a gold couch facing the flat screen mounted TV with some silver pillows.

Here is your key, says the receptionist, Gabriella. She hands the keys over to me and tells me good night, Miss Michael-son. I smiled at her and nodded my head. She smiles back at me then turns around and leaves, closing the door behind her. I look around my newly-purchased home for a bit before calling Addie again.

Hello, I was wondering if you forgot how to call me back, says Addie after answering on the first ring. I smile and say I wish you could see what I am standing in then you will understand.

Three months later after moving to Paris I settled in and opened the Paris branch and it's doing well. My schedule has been so busy that Addison decided she is due for a visit. So here I am preparing for Addison and the rest of the group she invited. They arrive tonight but for the life of me, I don't understand why they couldn't wait till morning so I could pick them up at the airport. She insisted on meeting me at home after work. Ashley knocks at my door interrupting me from work.

Yes, Ashley, I signal for her to come in. Ashley is my assistant. I hired her based on her skill and efficiency. Am here to remind you about your lunch meeting with Mr. Andrew. Okay, Ashley, you can close out the day. See you next week, Miss Michael's son. Have a great weekend.

Thank you, Ashley, and remember to make sure you do something fun this week, you only live once.

Here I am meeting a client to discuss signing a few homeless children in the system to St Hope Org. We have been on the fence about this arrangement before because of the finances but now we are stable enough for it.

It's very rare for this organization to want to take responsibility for these children. They usually say they don't have room for more children or they don't have enough staff for the children at the moment. I was rather surprised when St Hope, a newly formed branch, invited me to a meeting. Am meeting g with the CEO of St Hope about 10 children's cases right now. Meeting at La BE CANE IN GAS TON

Hello Mr. Andrew, my name is Madison Michael. So sorry to have kept you waiting.

It's fine y just made it here myself, and it's nice to meet you Miss Michael-son please call me Andrew.

Here I am leaving the restaurant and going home but need to make a quick stop at the store about 15 to 20 minutes from home. I park my car and head to the store. Picked up a few things to make Addison's favorite (mashed potatoes, baked fish, and veg sauce).

I pay at the checkout, walk to my car, put the bags in, then realize I forgot the drinks. I headed to the store on the right-hand side of the grocery store. It's a bit of a walk because I am at the back of the store so I have to circle the side to get inside. I walk into the store; find the drinks I need and make my way back to my car.

A girl with bruises on her face, hands tied together with her legs seated in a van with bruises on her face catches my eye as I walk by. I run over to her at the end of the alley four men are talking, so I make sure to be quiet, once in the van which wasn't locked luckily for both her and me. Hi, I am Maddie. I am not trying to hurt you. I am here to help, okay? I say to her as she nods her head. We are going to untie the rope now, okay?

She nods again as if she lost her voice and was just afraid to say anything. While untying her ropes

I tell her once we get out of the van when I say run ....... I want you to run. Don't stop. Don't look back. Get into my car, open the door, get in it and find my emergency phone in the armrest. Dial my sister's phone number, Addison, tell her what happened here, and drive to the police station. Then I hand my keys to her. Right, when we were about to get out of the van she said, ``I am Chanel. I Am shocked for a second as she smiles at me for the first time... I smile back at her and it's nice to meet you, Chanel. I helped her out of the van and we started walking the moment we were out of the van; however, it didn’t take long for one of the men to spot us immediately they started running after us so I said run......she hesitated for a moment then said to her I am right behind you, everything is fine. Then she starts running...... I watch her run after she is out of my view... I turn around to face the men. While I know I may not be able to fight them all at once... I can knock them down one after the other.

I picked up a large stick by the alley. When the first man comes at me, I hit him with the stick across the face, as he goes to the ground holding his head, I see blood on the stick. Here was my chance to get away from them but, I wasn't sure Chanel left yet or made it to the station, they could just follow and get her again. I decided to have them follow me while that gave Chanel time to get to the station. I started running right after I saw one of them coming at me. I ran into an alleyway to my right.... he followed. I reach into the pocket of my jacket and grab my phone. Turn on the flashlight cause it's dark .... try to dial Addison but I don't have service. I decide to leave clues around and hope the kidnappers don't find them. I cut my beads bracelets which Addison and I got as a present from mom for our 10th birthday, we never take them off. I know when she sees them, she will make sure to keep them safe.

I end up going into a forest... I hide behind a tree and wait for him to come closer ...so I can hit him too. When he gets close enough, I swing the stick...it hits his stomach but he doesn't go to the ground instead he tries to get the stick from me. We struggle for the stick for a moment then it lands on the ground a few trees to my left....so I brace myself to fight him.... with pepper spray in my left pocket, I spray him in the face. Then hit him across the face hoping to knock him out. Was about to deliver the final blow when the third man pushed me on my left side.... right on the ribs with his fists ...I landed on the floor hitting my side against a rock while my stomach hit the tree and my head hit the floor. I felt so weak and couldn't even move my arm. I tried to get away from them...... my mind kept saying get up but my body wouldn't. This was the first time I screened for help in mind. When they realized I wasn't moving anymore, they called the rest of the group to come meet them. I knew at that moment if I didn't leave...I won't make it out of there alive. I was hoping someone would hear me So, I managed to get up holding my side....my head is pounding with a bad headache as I walk. I kept walking till I found the stick. Use it to hold myself up and kept walking knowing they are right behind me, I needed to keep moving. After what felt like hours of walking, I stopped to catch my breath...then I heard footsteps coming toward me.... quickly found vines formed into a small cave. I walked into it and HOLD MY BREATH... As the footsteps pass by, I let go of my breath.... then came out .... only to run into something hard.... too scared to look up I kept my head down and started backing away. when he says Madison .... Madison, I'm not going to hurt you ...It's me Daniel...we've been looking all over for you.... look at me, please...

At that moment I look up and see it's Daniel.......happy to see him. Knowing that he’s here and I'm not dreaming...I reach out to him and touch his face with my left hand. This is now covered in blood ...then smile at him as I say you are real...he smiles back at me and says yes, I am... taking my hand in his. He observes the blood and asks where I got hurt. I was too weak to stand anymore, so I fell to the ground right before him, and he panicked and shouted...

MADISON STAY WITH ME PLEASE...OPEN YOUR EYES, OKAY? I do as he says and says I just want to rest for a little bit. I am tired...

Being a compassionate Samaritan

Here I am walking to my dorm room after my last class when a man stops me to ask for directions to get his niece into the study hall. Tells her he is delivering a bag from her mother. I reply by saying okay and direct him to the library, which is right across from the study hall but somehow, he doesn't understand. So, I suggest that he go to the reception office so she can call the niece or he could call her himself to come to meet him.

He agrees that's a smart idea...takes out his phone and dials a number...a few moments later he realizes she isn't answering her phone. My heart goes out to him, so I recommend he visit the receptionist again. He replies with a smile saying thank you for your time and am sorry to have bothered you but, could you please take me to the reception office? I don't know where to go next. I think about it for a moment and hesitate but agree to help him only for him to say he forgot one of the bags in the car and needs to get it.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Sarah Elisha

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.