Fiction logo

Alec and Marie

On the back of his bike

By Megan Ashley WhitedPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

My chest pressed into his back, my arms clung around his waist holding on with all my strength, and my hair hanging out of my helmet whipping in the air… I have never felt more free. On the back of the motorcycle as we raced through the streets, I felt my cares disappear. The wind was so loud I could not even hear myself think, but I felt so me. So complete.

I am way too terrified to ride a motorcycle by myself, but I could ride on the back of his bike forever.

We began to slow down as we came to a halt. I hopped off the back as he turned off the engine. "Here, let me help you." He said as he chuckled at the sight of me struggling to take off the helmet.

"Don't laugh at me, I have a big head and you gave me the smallest helmet ever." I pouted but it faded away as I felt his presence come closer to me as he placed his hands on top of mine and pulled the helmet off. I huffed before mumbling "Thank you."

He took off his helmet and smiled softly. "You are welcome, Marie." Alec was tall with dark brown hair and kind blue eyes. He was very handsome. He didn't talk much; he was more reserved. I haven't even seen him smile fully. But I like him. Is it weird to really like someone you met only a week ago?

He packed up the motorcycle and grabbed my hand as he began to lead me up a trail. "Is this where you kill me and hide my body?" I asked. He was just silent as he continued leading me up to the path. "If you are a serial killer, can you make my death a little special… I don't want to be just like the others."

"I'll keep that in mind.” He did not look back at me, but I could hear that he smiled.

We continued to trek up the trail until we reached the top of the mountain that overlooked the city. I let go of his hand and took a few steps forward to take in the amazing view.

“This is truly breathtaking.” I grinned from ear to ear beaming with wondrous joy. “You have held up your end of the bargain and made it special…” I quickly turned around to Alec. “Okay, you may kill me now.”

His face was overcome with a look of playful exasperation as he shook his head and looked away. “You just had to ruin a perfectly good moment.”

“Who me?” I pointed to myself and then looked around. “I would never do that Alec.” I giggled as I stepped toward him.

“Has anyone ever told you that you are very difficult and ornery?” he sighed.

“Only my parents, the rest of my family, all of my teachers, a few co-workers, and this guy I met at a bar, semi recently.” I smirked. “But other than that, no one.”

“Ha, ha, you are very funny Marie.” I could tell he was trying to hide his amusement, but it was not working. “Now can we just sit and enjoy the view?”

“Only if by ‘the view’ you mean me.” I winked and then grabbed his hand as I led him over to a nearby boulder to sit on. Alec wrapped his arm around me as we just stared out overlooking the city. After a moment I looked up at him, “Thank you, for bringing me here. It really is beautiful.”

“No, thank you, for coming with me,” he said. Then he reached into the pocket of his leather jacket and pulled out a folded piece of paper. “Here.”

“What is it?” I asked as I unfolded it. “Is this a drawing of a mechanical bull?” He just nodded. “Like the one I rode at the bar last week when I totally annihilated your time?”

“Something like that.” he just shook his head with a smirk.

“I love it, thank you!” I wrapped my arms tightly around Alec... just like I did when I was riding on the back of his bike.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.