Fiction logo

Across Worlds Across Universes

That are just merely pages away.

By Thavien YliasterPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
10
Across Worlds Across Universes
Photo by Jonathan Kemper on Unsplash

Dear Sazo,

I'm going to be away from parchment and quill for quite some time. I don't know when I'll be able to write to you again. It could be weeks, months, years, or even decades. Thankfully for us though, time is one our side, well more so yours than it is mine. Twenty years for you may be a blip in your existence, but for us that's approximately four percent of our lives. That's a whole lot of percentages once they start stacking up together.

Where do I start? The summer visit, harvest fest, Kingdred's; ugh, who knows. So many events and so little time.

Here, let's begin two months ago. Aribella visited my domain as during the summer months, where I hosted her within my icy cavern walls as we feasted upon fresh mountain goat. It was rather marvelous, dare I say. You should've been there. I know you favor deer more, but mountain goat just has a unique structure to its meat where its musculature has been perfectly honed over the years of scaling rocks and its fat perfectly shields it from the cold providing a magnificent marbling. Since they ingest the mountain's natural mineral deposits their flesh is naturally spiced as well.

Less I digress and let my stomach do all the writing here, I must continue. Whilst visiting her sister, roaming freely, and soaring near my territory Aribella visited me once again, practically the night before harvest fest was to take place at Kingdred's. Yet, this time she had brought something- no, no, not something. Someone. There was a guest that she had carried with her. Now, being a free spirit and all, Aribella's not one to allow anybody to mount her. That'd be akin to taking her maidenhead. When she bellowed out, informing me of her presence, I noticed that she carried a rather peculiar object within her talons.

Handing me her contraption, she transformed once again and we strode inside. The world had a new guest. She told me that only a finch was the one telling us about it. The poor thing sang its heart out before collapsing in its tree nest. Though that bird may have been yellow it 'twas not comingled with cowardice.

While I gathered a nanny, Aribella gave our little guest a bath and bed. While she prepared a skin, I prepared the milk in a bowl before she boiled it for us. While our guest sufficed on the milk we savored coffee with herbal tea. I'll mention this, Aribella may be terrible on informing others of her sporadic visitations, but she sure does know how to be hospitable, even if the resources don't belong to her.

After delighting in our drinks, I flew her and our guests over to Kingdreds. I must say, their hatchlings have grown quite the size, and the appetite too. Thanks to magic disguising holding up their appearances, the chicks have learned to develop a taste not just for their mothers' blood and magic but for wet nurses' milk as well. Thankfully the later was just the resource we needed.

Upon arrival Kingdred's get immediately took to the babe, marveling at him in all his pink, fleshy, squishiness. Meanwhile his wives were also smitten with how tiny he was. Poor thing was practically a newborn, alone and exposed to the elements. Don't let Kingdred know that I wrote this, but I could smell the breeding pheromones exuding off of his wives. I doubt he'll be getting an ounce of sleep tonight unless he decides to bar his door on his own.

While Aribella talked to, in her mind, the most reasonable one of his wives, Kingdred and I visited the smithy, where we lit their braziers ablaze. Our flames impregnated the iron with magic, along with enough carbon and other precious metals, forging his king's guard's blades with the finest of steel these lands would ever know.

Aribella did grow jealous of my prowess, as she could feel the heat even from another building. Alas, with age comes wisdom and power.

After suckling at a wet nurse's breast the babe was rocked to sleep in a cradle along with a few of the chicks. Aribella may detests offsrping for now, but that squalling thing put a glint in her eye. May the gods save me. Our goal is to find its true home, its family. That is if it has one. For now, its "status" is "unknown." Though, I guess 'healthy' currently fits.

Aerin informs me that you lost your dragon form. Don't fret. Your manna's been siphoned off. It'll return soon.

Oh, let me know how when Aerin's due. For the longest time you were like Aribella, not wanting younglings. I can't wait for you to be a father.

Sincerely,

Dariglac

***

Thavien's Token:

This letter was crafted for Heather Hubler's challenge, 'Write me a letter.'

Characters from their referenced stories are provided below.

Short Story
10

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Delightfully & beautifully unexpected.

  • Veronica Coldiron6 months ago

    Even without the two worlds this was intended to bridge, this was a great letter! LOVED this!!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    I was lost in the geek out of the story, not having read the other story. It was so well written, More like Thavien's Tolkien. More reading is required to fully appreciate, but a great read anyway.

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Love, love, love!!! I'm so excited you somehow merged our two worlds in such a creative and believable way!! This was fantastic and put such a big smile on my face. I loved these stories :) Thank you!!

  • Okay, that was Cool😉✌️♥️📝💯

  • Ah, thank you so much for the context at the bottom because I was confused a tad. Though I did find the name Aerin familiar. I've not read your story. I've read Heather's but I can't recall how it went. So I now would have to read your story and reread Heather's, lol! Both ya'll stories combined need 49 minutes. I'll come back when I have made time 😁

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.