Fiction logo

About a Purse

Short story

By Ada ZubaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
About a Purse
Photo by Marissa Grootes on Unsplash

All I needed was to change my grade. It started with my dad promising me a new Coach purse, but only if I got all A’s in my first semester, which I was really close to achieving but Mrs.Bitchworth (that’s what we call Mrs.Birchworth) decided to fail my first assignment. I thought I did a great job, but then she said I would never amount to anything, “you are never going to amount to much, if this is how you treat your math course” and then she tossed eighteen hours of work into the trash can. I had never been so mad, I later met up with my friends in the bathroom and I threw a fit, while they all watched and agreed with me. Of course, my friends would agree with me, they would be crazy not to. I need that purse. It has the most adorable style with cream coloured horse design and besides my other Coach purse; hand cream exploded all over the inside, sure I had it dry cleaned but it is not the same. I had to have that purse, if I did not get it I would try and throw a fit until dad gave it to me. His new wife however, Francine is trying some new methods of parenting on me and now my tantrums stopped working on him. I have to get my grade changed. There was no other way, I could break-into the dean’s office and change it from there, it was the only real way. So here I was standing above his maplewood desk and leaning over his computer, of course it was password protected. How stupid was I? Of course he had it password protected. Salina was out at the front door keeping an eye out.

“Oh Mr. Dean I wanted to have a word with you,” said Salina’s voice loudly as it echoed throughout the hall. Oh shoot. I had nowhere to go, I panicked around me looking for somewhere to hide, I had no other choice, but out the window. I clicked open the window and I looked down, it made me feel a little dizzy. The distance from the window to the ground was a bit of a drop. I could do this, for that coach purse I could totally do this, I pulled myself up to the ledge I turned around and with both hands hanging onto the window frame, I let the rest of my body drop, I closed my eyes and let go of the window sill. I fell with a thud and into the bushes, a bush scratched my cheek. I got up and I did not have any broken bones. I survived the fall. I dusted myself off and I started walking back into the school hall, I disappeared into the bathroom. I looked in the mirror and pulled out leaves from my hair and tossed them into the garbage. Salina then joined me in the washroom.

“Well?” she asked me.

“It was a complete fail,” I replied.

“At least you tried,” she said.

“Nope, I am not giving up yet,” I said to her.

“You just jumped out a window for this purse,” Salina said. Salina did not get it, she did not like material things such as purses, then again her mom could not really afford it. Her mom drove a toyota.

“No, I have another plan we will break into Mrs.Birchworth’s desk,” I said to her and before Salina could argue with me, I was out the door. I stomped my way to her classroom, no one was there. I opened the door and crept in, her desktop computer was sitting there waiting for me. And the words on the screen said “Reset password” this could not be more perfect. I looked at her desk trying to come up with something easy. Her cat Herbal was perfect, so I typed in Herbal123. And now I had access, I found where she kept the grades and I changed mine to an A, I looked at everyone else’s grades as well and I was so far doing better than most students thanks to my A. I could change Talia’s grade too. Talia Richards was a super mean girl in our grade, she had once hung up my gym strip onto a pole. This revenge would be perfect. Well, Talia, your grade is now a D-. I closed out of the program and clicked reset password once more. Here comes my perfect Coach purse. I skipped out of Mrs. B’s classroom. Coach purse- it was all mine. A week later the report cards came and there it was the perfect A to make my straight A’s complete. I pranced into my daddy’s office and proudly showed it off.

“Alright, coach purse it is,” he said looking at my grades. “Straight A’s! That’s my girl,” he said with a hug. The next day, I went out with Francine, we went to the coach store and they had the last one waiting for me. Sometimes, it pays off to bend the rules.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.