Fiction logo

A Tale of Hope and Perseverance

Surviving the Outbreak: A Tale of Hope and Perseverance

By sri kanthPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The world had always been a place of chaos and disorder, but it wasn't until the outbreak that things truly fell apart. It started small, as most things do. A few cases of an unknown illness, some strange symptoms. But before long, it had spread like wildfire, consuming entire cities and leaving nothing but destruction in its wake.

People began to call them zombies, although they were not the flesh-eating creatures of popular media. They were simply sick, with a disease that turned them into mindless, violent shells of their former selves. No one knew how it had started or what caused it, but it didn't matter. All that mattered was survival.

I was one of the lucky ones, I suppose. I managed to make it out of the city before things got too bad, before the military barricades went up and the roads were closed off. I had a few supplies, a gun for protection, and a destination in mind. My brother lived in a small town out in the countryside, and I hoped to find safety and shelter with him.

It wasn't easy, of course. The roads were deserted, and the few cars that still ran were driven by desperate people trying to escape. I had to be careful not to draw attention to myself, to avoid any potential threats. But eventually, after several days of walking, I made it to the town.

At first glance, it seemed like nothing had changed. The houses were still standing, the streets were still paved. But the silence was eerie, and the lack of people was unsettling. I made my way to my brother's house, hoping to find him there.

But when I arrived, I knew something was wrong. The door was unlocked, and there were signs of a struggle inside. Furniture was overturned, glass was shattered. And then I heard a noise, a low growling sound coming from the back of the house.

I didn't have much choice. I had to investigate. I crept through the house, my heart pounding in my chest, my gun at the ready. And then I saw them - two of the infected, snarling and drooling, their eyes glazed over.

I had never been a violent person, but I had no choice. I aimed my gun and fired, once, twice. The first one went down, but the second kept coming, lunging at me with terrifying speed. I fired again, and this time it went down for good.

I felt sick to my stomach, but I knew I had to keep moving. I searched the house, looking for any clues as to where my brother might have gone. I found a note, scribbled in haste.

"Out of town. Headed north. Stay safe."

I felt a glimmer of hope. My brother was still alive, still fighting. I grabbed a few supplies and set out, following the road north.

The journey was long and arduous, filled with danger at every turn. I encountered more of the infected, as well as other survivors, some of whom were more dangerous than the disease itself. But I kept going, driven by the hope of finding my brother and some semblance of safety.

Finally, after weeks of travel, I arrived at a makeshift camp. It was a group of survivors, banding together for protection. My brother was there, and I felt a surge of relief at the sight of him.

We embraced, and I could feel tears streaming down my face. We were both alive, both still fighting. And we had each other.

But the fight wasn't over. We had to keep moving, keep surviving. We didn't know how long the outbreak would last, or how much worse it could get. But we had each other, and that was enough.

MysterySci Fi
Like

About the Creator

sri kanth

Blogging is not rocket science, it's about being yourself and putting what you have into it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.