Fiction logo

A Storm Blows In

A microfiction piece for my "Writing Prompts of October" Challenge

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 7 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - October 2023
16
A Storm Blows In
Photo by Randy Milanovic on Unsplash

This was written in inspiration of my child's newfound fear of tornados. I hope you enjoy reading this.

____________________________________________________

As a storm began to blow in, the young family began preparations. A tornado warning was in effect for their small town.

Windows shut. Check.

Hiding place secured. Check.

Snacks acquired. Check.

The wind began howling such a mournful sound. A flash of lightning shocked me straight to the core. We rushed the kids into the basement with some books for company, just in case the power suddenly went out. Breaking into a bag of chips, my five-year old began asking a bunch of questions.

"When is this going to be over Mom?"

I replied slowly, "I don't know buddy, we just have to ride the storm out."

My husband grabbed my hand and gently said the words, "It's just a few rainclouds." Oh was he wrong.

The wind began to howl louder and louder. The house shook from the storm's rage. The kids were terrified as we could hear the picture frames on the walls start falling. Smash.

Smiling wearily, "It will be over soon guys. Don't worry."

The howling noises grew. We were safe in the basement. I was just as terrified as they were but at least we all had each other.

All of a sudden, the wind stopped. My son looked at me bright eyed, "Is it over?"

My husband replied to him while giving me a firm look, "Not until the storm warning shuts off."

He frowned. "But the noise is gone!"

I handed him another juice box. "Here buddy, why don't you colour me another picture."

With a bang, it sounded like the lightning struck something near our house. We were in the eye of the storm and my husband knew it too. My kids covered their ears as another round of thunder began rumbling.

"It's okay kids, it will all be over soon."

Chloe Rose Violet🌹

I wrote this as a part of my "Writing Prompts for October Challenge" which you can view down below.

I have read a few people's posts in regards to this writing prompt challenge and I'd love to see some more!

Please feel free to comment on the original post or this one to make sure I see it as I will be picking my favourites from the month of October. I was hoping to find one for every prompt. Do one or do them all! Thanks for reading everyone.

30/31

Microfiction
16

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    Well done. It must be scary as hell for a kid to go through this. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    Tornadoes are terrifying!

  • Salman siddique7 months ago

    Cant see middle part

  • Kenny Penn7 months ago

    Intense and creepy, but with some heartwarming words sprinkled in. Deserving of top story, congrats!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    This was a wonderful and intense story! I love the way you built the plot/ scenery and how you pulled us into the setting with you! Great work and congratulations on Top Story!

  • Margaret Brennan7 months ago

    Congratulations on TS status. GREAT story and very, very real. I was never in a tornado but I lived through (by hunkering in my closet) hurricane Charley - one mph lower than a Cat 5 storm. The house shook, pictures fell off walls, our pool screening broke loose from their bolts and blew off the back concrete porch. Our boat landed capsized in the canal, even though we had it strapped down. I could go on and on but your story definitely hits home with its accuracy. BRAVO

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Congratulations, straight from Tornado Alley! Great job, Chloe!

  • Kageno Hoshino7 months ago

    Nicely written

  • Abdullah7 months ago

    Very good dear

  • This is just so terrifying! I've never experienced this before and would never want to!

  • Test7 months ago

    Well Written My Dear

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.