Fiction logo

A Short Story of the Lens Through Which We See the World

The Lens is called an individual's perception. Below is an interesting story which is being narrated in its own words.

By Moshiur RahmanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
5
Every human being has his/her own lens through which s/he sees the world and decides everything

I am the lens or glasses through which the greatest creature on earth, human being, sees the world. My abode is in each human being. I am the virtue only humans are endowed with. Humans are my masters. Humans define what I see. It is not my will.

Often humans try to see something without adjusting me and they see wrongly. They take their all decisions and actions based on that, which also become incorrect.

It is only the intelligent individuals who can perfectly adjust and choose the exact lens for them. They also do the right thing most of the time. However, I will describe my life history briefly here.

Actually I start to operate after a baby is born. I also need many years to get matured and shaped properly. For example, in the childhood, babies learn everything from their parents. Their likes, dislikes, responses, languages, emotions and behavior are greatly influenced by their parents. Accordingly, I respond. I have nothing to see differently. If a baby’s mom or dad defines something as correct, I also get the command to declare it as correct. I have nothing more to do. I almost spend a lazy time during first three or five years of a child’s life.

Then parents send their kids to school. Here, children mix with their peers and teachers. They play, make fun and learn. Kids learn to like what their friends like and their enemies dislike or vise versa. They also develop their sense of right and wrong from their teachers.

I suffer a lot inside because of conditioning. Because of these conditionings, my master never uses his/her own head and blindly live some others life. Every human being is unique because everyone perceives differently. I do not understand that why they ignore me, ignore their uniqueness and see through a wrong lens. The parents and teachers also do not understand me. They do not think that I silently grow inside a baby. I also mature as it grows and matures.

However, as humans get matured with their age, their sensory systems also develop, which help to perceive in a better way. I am perception. Humans are my masters. Humans have these sensory tools so that they can use me properly. I have nothing to do if my master does not use these and decide wrongly. Because, that time, I also become blind and cannot see clearly.

Let me tell you one thing why I am so important. I have already mentioned that I am the lens through which humans see. If the lens are not perfectly adjusted, they cannot certainly see clearly. For example, for last few days, Jhon was having problem in his eyes and approaches to a doctor for check up. The doctor recommends for a pair of glasses. This pair of glasses is fitting only for Jhon. If others try to use that, just think what will happen. An individual cannot see through the lens of other persons. If s/he tries, it means an oppression on me and wrong result. I have nothing to do.

One day, I was telling my master that I am like your map. Do not choose a wrong map. If you do, I will take you to a wrong destination. Until or unless you choose the correct one, the same thing will happen again and again, I have nothing to do.

My master, humans, ignore me most although I am responsible for making them unique. I should have been mostly respected by humans because I build their personality. I define their responses to problems. I determine their actions, reactions and behavior. But I am really neglected by my master. As a result, they get neglected as well. I absolutely feel pity for them but I have nothing to do. Because, only humans are endowed with choosing their responses independently. If they choose a wrong one, I also respond wrongly or vice versa.

Superstitions obstacle the way to see something clearly

I have to fight against superstitions a lot. Superstitions force humans to decide wrongly. Humans suffer a lot for their superstitions. Once, humans were the most vulnerable being of the nature. With the course of time, they have developed great knowledge and have been able to use their sensory systems successfully. They developed perfect perceptions about almost everything and conquer the whole world. I really feel proud and honored. But universe is much bigger than the realm of human beings. There is no reason to think that whatever they think at present will remain fixed forever. Although it is good for me in one sense because I will have no work. I do not have to produce new ways of seeing. But the tragedy is that my master will fail. My master becomes the most intelligent when s/he thinks that they have very little knowledge and they always have to keep searching for new ones, using me.

If I can not see clearly, all other things become unclear and wrong.

Great humans think intelligently and help the civilizations go ahead. They have been doing it for hundreds of years. I am a great friend of them. I really love them for utilizing me perfectly. They also respect me a lot because they are unique human beings. Their great endeavors have shown humans path to prosperity for centuries and I was their new discoveries all the time. I like to renew myself always. I become lively and energetic to help humans show the new paths again. I really enjoy their success. I always want to be an ally to them.

Thanks a lot for your patient reading. If you like this story, please give me a heart. A tip means a real encouragement for more creation.

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Moshiur Rahman

My mother tongue is not English. But I like to imagine, think and write in English just because it is my passion and I love to do that.

Facebook Author Page, Profile

Readers' and Writers' Page

Vocal Creators page

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.