Fiction logo

A New Friend

For the Lost Challenge

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
16
A real lost teddy I saw on my way to work.

I hung against a wire fence, my beady eyes watching them miss time after time. How many? It's hard to know, in the Sleep. Everything sort of blurs together. We stay in a state of torpor, until awakened under the grasp of a human hand. Then the world comes alive, full of colour. In the Belonging.

I was vaguely aware of her, tottering towards me in her chunky trainers, looking up at me through stodgy spider-lashes. Batting them at the tall, pimply streak of wee she was dragging around with her like a sullen puppy. She pointed with a long pink talon, grinned a metal grin, her real blush hidden under layers of powder a shade too dark for her skin

The boy flexed his fists, gave himself a little shake. No pressure, son.

He did it! He won me, and won her, and the squishy thing he seemed so keen to try. I was discarded briefly in a corner of the messy room. I could wish for the Sleep again so I didn't have to listen to it. But no matter. At least it was just the once, and not for very long.

I lived a while, pride of place on her pillow. Her friends were very impressed with me. She tweaked me, smirking, telling the story of where I'd come from.

But it didn't last. When she found out what he'd done - or rather, who else he'd done - she grabbed me off the pink bedspread. Those rosy claws digging into my fur in hot anger. Boybands with expensive smiles and floppy fringes cartwheeled in front of my gaze for a moment and then she stuffed me under her arm and marched me out and down the road, to where Gangly Pimply stood.

There were tears, and some shrieking, and she threw me at the boy's head. The boy ducked, I bounced, the row raged. He picked me up and proffered me, she snatched me and threw me again, turning on that chunky heel and stomping away. The boy yelled something, but, abandoned, I was already slipping back into the Sleep.

Here I am. The world has gone grey. Colour almost stirred when a boot caught me and sent me spinning across the pavement, and again when a thoughtful woman righted me and set me against the Bangladeshi restaurant window.

At least it hasn't rained. I'm hardly dirty. Barely used, you might say. Used less, I think, than these humans seem to use each other.

Time drips by. It goes funny in the Sleep. We are never sure whether it's been minutes or hours, or even days.

What's this? A pair of shoes is stopping. If I had a heart inside my chest, and not just between my paws, maybe it would be swelling with hope and beating faster to the rhythm of choose me, please, choose me.

"Ted-deeeee!" comes the childish wail from a bobble hat in the push chair.

"Oh, honey, you don't want that tacky old thing," says the messy-bun-sensible-coat. "Anyway, it's been on the ground, it's dirty!"

"Ted-deeeee!"

"Tell you what, Teddy can ride in the bottom of the pushchair, OK? Maybe I can put him through the washing machine at home. What do you think? Or maybe Luna would like him. You've got lots of teddies, haven't you, sweetie, but Luna doesn't have any anymore does she? She must be very sad. Shall we let her have this one?"

"Luna Teddeee!" Bobble Hat agrees. Now time, sound and colour come back fully because I Belong again at last. I wonder what Luna is like. Will she cuddle me?

I watch the world zip by at ankle height and it doesn't take long at all for me to arrive at my new home. I can't wait to meet my new friend.

The keys jangle and Messy Bun wrestles the pushchair in through the door. Bobble Hat is babbling away excitedly. I think I can hear Luna waiting for us down the hallway in the kitchen. I can hear a noise like claws scrabbling on the floor.

Messy Bun is a busy sort of person. She lets my new friend out on to the grass, unclips the straps from Bobble Hat and lifts it down from the pushcair. Hurry! I can hardly contain my stuffing. She switches the kettle on, and reaches for me at last. My fur tingles delightedly at the warmth of her touch. She whistles.

"Luna! Luuuunaaaaaaaa! What's this? Watsis? Whosagoodgirl, watsis? D'you want it? Here!"

I sail through the air, the blue sky twirling above me, and my new very best friend bears (sorry) down on me at last, mouth open.

Her mouth is pink and white and wet and sharp, and the last thing I know is the laughter of Messy Bun and Bobble Hat as I discover why poor, sad little Luna doesn't have any teddies.

By Kseniia Ilinykh on Unsplash

++++++++++++

Quick Author's Note:

I wrote this for the Misplaced Challenge, which you can read about here:

I promised no more dog stories until February, but that would leave me too close to the deadline and I didn't want to miss it! SORRY NOT SORRY.

Thank you for reading!

Short Story
16

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Poor Teddy Very Toy Story-esque with this one, LC! Loved it, and you perfectly brought out my sympathy for every toy I gave my dog during his life lol

  • Test4 months ago

    Made me cry :/ Poor ted 🤍

  • Laura Lann4 months ago

    Quite a vivid and enjoyable read, but I was so sad for Teddy.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Captivating story!!! Loved it!!!

  • Something told me, as soon as I read her name. Our son's last remaining pet was a calico long hair cat he named Luna (after Luna Lovegood, of course). She passed this last Halloween, but in her younger years she would have had a lot of fun with Te-dee!

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    This is fab - although Teddy may disagree with me! My dog Seamus is like Luna. He rips the faces off all his toys Hannibal Lecter style. It's quite disturbing to watch! Have a great night.

  • B.R. Shenoy4 months ago

    Well-written!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji4 months ago

    Crime to hurt a teddy!

  • I saw it coming and was thinking, "Oh no!" the whole time!!!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Oh such dashed hopes.

  • Test4 months ago

    Fascinating story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.