Fiction logo

A New Earth!

Restoring Eden

By Shelley WhighamPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
A New Earth!
Photo by Julia Caesar on Unsplash

The day started out like any other! It was 6 a.m., and I was fixing my morning cup of coffee and watching the sunrise over the Detroit River. The forecast for the day predicted 85 degrees, a perfect day for a jog along the Riverfront. Except no weather channel could forecast the sudden destruction that was soon to come and the aftermath that relatively few live to describe.

It was a destruction of Biblical proportions! Not even a Hollywood movie could portray the awe-inspiring events that unfolded in a matter of seconds right before my eyes! The day was just a normal day! I couldn't help but recall the words Jesus spoke foretelling of the destruction I had now witnessed first hand. Like the days of Noah, people had ignored the warning signs of the coming flood. They continued on eating, drinking, marrying, and celebrating, then suddenly there came a flood, killing all those who ignored the warnings and who had mocked Noah! This would be the fate of many that day.

Now there I stood, except there was no torrential downpour of rain flooding the earth and washing them all away! The global pandemic had come to an end. Yet there was more chaos than ever before. Crime was at an all time high, Wars were breaking out in lands across the globe, political unrest had ensued. Yet people were not overly concerned, at least not concerned enough to notice that the world was changing for the worst. They began to resume their "normal" way of life, back to work, going on vacations, celebrating their imagined freedom, they ignored the warning,

There was a dry scorching heat. Then the winds began to blow as if there were a category five hurricane that had suddenly appeared! An innumerable amount of celestial beings with large white wings wider than an eagels appeared in the sky and many people began falling to the ground as if being struck by lighting. People were running for shelter, but these celestial beings were swift! The river came up like the parting of the Red Sea and many were swept away. The Bible said there would be some survivors... could I be one? Was I watching the fulfillment of the destruction of evil? I stood frozen. Why had I not been destroyed when there were those within feet of me falling to the ground? Screams and cries of despair. Many calling out to God with no mercy being shown their blood spattered the grown. Loud booming sounds heard for miles, fire and smoke in the distance. Who would be standing? Am I one of "The Chosen? If so, Why? Then it was all over in a instant! Others emerged from nearby homes and buildings. They were few compared to the thousands of corpses that littered the streets. And later those found inside homes and businesses. There was no hiding place for them. A deafening silence filled the air! We watched as the river began to calm, the wind became a gentle breeze, and the celestial creatures we now came to be known as God's angels began to disappear as quicky as they had appeared, Then loud shouts of joy and praises rang out among the survivors. Hugs and tears of joy filled our faces. There was a new celebration. For we new true freedom had arrived.

I walked slowly toward my home clutching the heart shaped necklace that belong to my mother with a picture of her tucked securely inside. I silently thanked her for having studied the Bible with me. Because of her I was not afraid. Because of her I survived! Because of her, I had witnessed Bible prophecy fulfilled, and I knew I could look forward to yet another fulfillment, and that would be when she would soon be resurrected and I can share all the things she never got to see. But for now I knew it was time to began to fulfill God's promise... restoring Eden!

The year was 2041 and it had been twenty years since the destruction. There were no human governments, no evil debates over religion and politics, no unrest, no wars, no disease, no hunger, no homelessness, there were people who filled the earth from all different races, nationalities, and cultures. Complete peace and security had been achieved.

As I traveled the globe not bound by any border restrictions or time I witness first hand God's beautiful creation and the earth that had once been threaten by global warming and in danger of losing valuable resources was making its way back to the perfection of the Garden of Eden. Cities that were once eyesores littered with abandoned homes were beautifully landscaped and occupied. I would occasionally return to my old home in Detroit and it became more unrecognizable each time.

My biggest excitement was talking to all the people I met and hearing their stories of that fateful day. All had seen the power of God by means of his powerful angels. There was no military force, no government or human that could stand up to the destruction that was brought upon the earth that day. Yet it brought peace and joy to the earth. I could finally swim in the ocean along side a sharks without fear, walk through a jungle and pet a bear, sleep out doors and watch the vast universe in its splendid form. And like all survivors of that day my body had become young. The aging process had ceased, Many showed pictures of what they looked like post apocalypse and smile as their bodies are fresh as newborn babies, Families had been reunited with loved ones that had died before-hand. it was amazing to see.

Taking the scenic route home always brought me joy! There was always something to discover. Sometimes it would take a few months, even years, but I knew I now had eternity. I could sit beside the ocean and listen to the waves. As I reached my porch I could see a woman sitting on the back porch watching the waves. which wasn't unusual as there are no locks on the doors anymore. I must have a visitor.

As I called out to her, she stood and turned to me and said, "I've been waiting along time for you!" I stared at her, as she seemed familiar. and she spoke again, "I see you're still wearing my locket!?" She was thinner, with beautiful smooth caramel skin, long jet black hair, and white pearly teeth. As I grasped the locket and opened it to the photo inside of a white-haired older woman I could recognize that familiar smile. Running into her arms sobbing uncontrollably as I held her face!

I could finally hold my mother again. But wait... the restoration of Eden is not yet complete!

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Shelley Whigham

I have had a passion for writing since I was a child, I love fiction, non-fiction, poetry, travel, and health and fitness! I decided to pursue a new career as a published author!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.