Fiction logo

A New Beginning

This was not the first time.

By Larry NowickiPublished 2 years ago 42 min read
Like
Photo by HONG FENG on Unsplash

A NEW BEGINNING

This was not the first time

This is a series of short stories that at first were not related but have begun to look that way. Joe Nordic is someone who has been around for a while. These are some of his stories. There were more before this and will be more after. Some stories start and you learn the history from where they came as you go.

This part of the story starts in the middle. Joe goes for a normal weekend but ends up nowhere near.

The Fire

A light in the darkness

The darkness came quickly. The mist in the air seemed to hang like a curtain stealing the last bit of light. The chill went right to the bone.

Off in the distance, there was a dim light. Ii drew me like an insect to a flame. I had to get there.

For some reason, I dropped my day pack and started toward it. There was no path. I made my own. Up and down hills, around trees, over some small streams. When the light was obstructed it would reappear as I went forward.

The light became stronger as I neared. When I was close enough I could hear some chanting

As I stood there in the shadows of the fire I thought maybe I should not be here. I understood their chant.

Send us your offering.

Maybe I should leave.

Too late. I was captured by its intoxicating light. The lure of its warmth. The company of those there. Didn’t matter what they were doing. I had to be a part of it.

One of the group noticed me. They stopped chanting. The robed figure approached me with an outstretched hand. I could see her face.

I took her hand as she led me to the group. When inside their circle she turned to me.

She said you look cold. Join in our warmth. She opened her robe to reveal her naked body. She reached for my hands. The rest gathered and started to remove my clothes. I tried to resist but she gently squeezed and said It will be OK.

When I too was naked she let her robe drop to the ground.

The others spread it open as she embraced me. Her warmth felt wonderful.

It felt so rite.

Join us in our celebration.

We started to circle the fire. The chill in the air faded.

She turned to the fire with her arms raised to the sky and said:

Our offering has arrived. Accept this energy as a gift offered willingly.

They started chanting again. This time a little different.

The energy of life is shared.

We started to circle again and when we got back to her robe she stopped. She turned to me and took my hand again. She knelt on her robe she tugged me to join her. As I belt next to her she laid down. And pulled me with her. The others wrapped us in the robe. Her body was soft and warm. It felt good. We became one.

The others started chanting again.

The energies of life are shared.

The whole group gathered around and touched us as we moved. The natural feelings of the moment took over as we both came together as one. The energy was enormous. The gods of the universe along with the rest of the gathering joined our energy. A part of myself seemed to be taken. Consumed in the act. I felt drained and empowered at the same time. We unwrapped and stood. Another robe was brought and draped around me. She was wrapped in her robe again.

We circled the fire again holding hands. The chant this time: Energies shared.

They raised their arms to the night. I followed.

She said: Thanks for sharing in our energy. Go in peace. Hail and farewell.

We all repeated.

When we stopped she turned to me and said:

You are one of us now.

Stay or go as you please but you will always be connected to us.

They opened a small basket and gathered its contents to share with the group. Some wine and other goodies.

When we finished what was left was added to the fire. I became extremely tired and relaxed. Still wrapped in the robe I slumped on my side. My pile of clothes my pillow.

When I woke I was alone. The fire was out. The morning chill didn’t seem to affect me. I dressed in my own clothes.

I felt like I knew where I was. I no longer was lost. I went back to the spot where I left my gear. It was all there. I picked it up and as I prepared to go back home I could not help but feel something was missing. Some of my essence. I was now a part of something. I didn’t know what was. But it felt good.

What could go wrong!

My First Gathering

I was summoned

Another uneventful month has gone by. The only thing that seemed a little different was the urge to go on another hiking trip. Dreams keep slipping into my mind about that clearing and the fire. Those people who are they. I had to find out.

The seasons were starting to change. Fall was on the way. The dreams of that clearing are creeping more and more into my dreams.

The thoughts of that clearing are starting to invade my daydreams.

Unintentionally I have been gathering the things I want to take with me this time. I guess it will be another overnight trip since a sleeping bag is in the pile. Water and some dried foods make up more of the stash. A fire starter. Some rope and my trusty camp knife along with my walking staff round out the things for my day pack. Cannot forget a small pot and a cup for my morning coffee. Must have coffee.

Friday comes and the urge to go is unbearable. Quitting time gets me on the road. Will I be able to find that place again? Will anyone be there? I will find out soon.

The parking lot is empty when I arrive. I get my stuff and start down the path. No hesitation. I seem to know which way to go. After what felt like forever I stopped. The path went forward but I needed to veer off. Into the woods, I went. Shortly after topping a hill, I saw a clearing. Down in the small hollow not visible from the path was what I was looking for. How did I find it last time?

I set my stuff just inside the wood line.

I gathered some wood for a small fire. Dinner was light but the coffee was good. I don’t know why but coffee seems to relax me.

As darkness fell I began to get sleepy. I had planned to stay up all night but that didn’t happen. Sleep came quickly. My inner guardian didn’t make his presence known but I knew he was there.

Sometime after midnight, I woke up to the brightness of the moon. It was almost full. There was no one around. I could see as if it was daytime. The shadows were somewhat eerie but they were comforting. My inner guardian has not aroused so no threat around. I relaxed again and slept for the rest of the night.

Morning brought no surprises. I gathered my stuff and rebuilt the fire. Coffee this time got the cobwebs from my brain. A cereal bar was good enough for a little breakfast.

I gathered more wood. Probably more than I would need for the weekend. Stacked near where I slept and just out of the way. But out of the way of what?

Around noon I felt an awareness awaken. I knew something was up but this time nothing threatening.

Someone was approaching. A man stepped out of the woods.

I hoped you would be here.

He too had a small pack and set it close to where I was.

Like it or not you are now a part of our future now. Your offspring has been chosen. She will be the new leader of our clan. She will be named Destiny. The high priestess and our connection to the gods. Like her mother, she will lead our group down the path of our destiny.

In time we will discover who you are. Will you be our protector, enforcer, teacher, guide, or just add your powers to what we have?

I need to rest now. Tonight we start to get to know you.

Giving Myself to Hope

And the group

Time had slipped by and I was starting to get hungry. Dinner was approaching. The sun was getting low in the sky. Not quite dusk but late afternoon. I gathered some of the wood and restarted the fire. The flames died down to cooking embers. I put some water to boil. I put some of the dehydrated beef I had brought in with a little season packet. It doesn’t make the best soup but it is good for an outing like this. I added some dried noodles to round out the meal.

The aroma must have grabbed the attention of my guest. As he awoke from his nap he looked as if he expected someone.

The others should be here soon, he said.

Who else is coming? I asked.

The rest of our group.

There was that word again, our. As if I was supposed to know who he meant. I must have looked a little confused because he said. I’m sorry. I thought you knew we were gathering. Didn’t Hope contact you?

No, I told him. I just had a feeling I should be here.

Good. he said. The psychic connection is forming.

About an hour went by when another person showed up in the clearing. A woman dressed in jeans and a sweatshirt. She had a small bag over her shoulder. She set it on the ground and took a ground cloth out. Spread it out and transferred the bag to it. She set alongside the bag.

She looked around and said,

Early as usual aren’t you. Ready for tonight’s ritual?

Ritual, I thought. What have I gotten myself into?

She acted as if we knew each other. Was she one of the ones here last time? They all had hooded robes on so I didn’t see their faces.

Two more showed together shortly thereafter. Then a couple more entered the clearing. They too had bags and placed them next to ours.

The last to enter the clearing carried a basket. This basket had slots on each end that took pieces that acted as legs. She inserted them and set the basket as a table. When she finished setting the basket she set next to me.

She was a nice-looking woman. Medium build with short red hair.

Good. You are all here. We are here to welcome Joe into the group. Let’s get to know him a little. First, let me tell you who I am.

My name is Hope. I gave myself to you when we met. Tonight you will decide if you want to give yourself to me and our group.

We are a collection of powerful beings gathering together to make our world a better place. We are of diverse backgrounds. I have been chosen as the leader of our group. I will oversee and direct. We are not complete yet. Others destined to join will come at their time. Enough about us and who we are. This is about/and for Joe. He was chosen and sent by the gods to help in our goals.

Everyone here is a powerful being whether we know it or not. We have all been chosen by the gods for a purpose. We may never know what that purpose is. We have chosen to be here to become better beings.

To enhance our abilities.

To learn.

To help each other. To make our world a better place.

Sometimes what is good for some is not good for others. It is our choice to join or not. It will be your choice tonight Joe to join us or not.

All eyes went to me. My name is Joe Nordic. I’m nobody special. I work in farming. That means I do everything. I don’t know why but I was drawn to the gathering last time.

While they talked Hope and some of the others starting building a fire. They also scratched a circle around it with a stick. In the end, the stick was added to the fire.

From the basket, they took a knife and candles along with some incense and a small dish. They set it up as an alter.

By now darkness set in. The full moon rose early. As it topped the trees the group gathered around the circle. Hope entered the circle. She held an athame(the knife) in one hand. She traced the circle and said a conjuring and cleansed it. She motioned as to open a door and invited us all to come in. As she closed the door she said. Let none stay inside that would cause harm to any of us now or ever. So mote it be. She called the guardians to watch over and protect us.

When finished she did a short charging ritual calling the positive and healing energies of the universe to flow through us. She lit some incense and offered it to the gods. I could feel the power enter my body. It flowed like a river with a great current.

When we call the powers they are strong but as a group, they are stronger. Joe have you decided to join us?

I felt as if I had been given a great gift that I could not refuse. YES, I said.

Then take my side as you offer yourself to me and the group.

I stood by Hope and raised my hands to offer myself. The others gathered around us. Hope presented me with a robe. I put it on. The others placed their hands on me and said together. We are one. Welcome to the rest of your life.

I wasn’t sure what that meant but I guess I’ll find out.

Hope banished the guardians with thanks and farewell then took down the circle.

We all sat around the fire and talked for a bit. We celebrated with a little wine and bread. It too was in the basket. After a while, most left. I planned to stay the night again. Hope came to set with me a while. So what do you think?

I’m not sure. I was called. I answered.

I was told you are with child.

Your child!

I’m not sure I’m ready to be a father.

The gods think you are.

I don’t know you. Are we supposed to raise her together?

We will. The group will help raise her too.

Are we supposed to get married? I don’t know if I’m ready to be married.

You don’t have to. We will get to know each other and if it is meant to be it can happen. We will grow together. Time will tell. For now, we can just be friends.

She said Are you staying here tonight?

I said I planned to.

Can I stay with you?

Why not. You are like family now.

It was getting chilly. The fire had dwindled to only a few embers. She laid next to me and wrapped my sleeping bag around both of us.

I could feel my inner guardian grow to protect the three of us. I don’t know where this path is going but I know I have chosen to follow it.

Only the gods know where it will lead.

I Got A Roommate

How did this happen

A couple of weeks had gone by and Joe hadn’t really paid attention to whether or not he had any more of those dreams. When it was coming towards the end of the month again, that time when the gathering happened. There were no clairvoyant messages. No dreams of the upcoming gathering. The anticipation of something coming was starting to get to him. There seems to be a pattern. The full moon. The next one was coming soon. New paragraph

Joe just figured you would show up at the place. He gathered his stuff for the outing and figured he would just spend the night.

After getting there and setting up his camp he prepared for the night. He started a fire and set back for a relaxing wait.

As darkness dropped there were still no visitors. No one came. No one showed up. He had already planned to spend the night so that’s what he decided to do.

In the darkness next to the fire he prepared a simple meal. After finishing he cleaned his mess and settled in. He figured he’d sleep early.

He always prepared for his night sleep with a ritual where he would ask questions in his mind for what he was trying to figure out. He said in his mind that he was wondering why no one showed. Was there supposed to be a gathering and he just didn’t or wasn’t informed.

He tried to send out a message is anyone coming. Then relaxed and went to sleep.

He woke just before Dawn and noticed someone sitting by the fire. The fire was almost out. Silently he got up, gathered some kindling, and added it to the fire.

As the flames caught and brightened the area he realized the figure was Hope.

He turned to her and said Was there not a gathering this full moon?

She replied We don’t do one every full moon. Usually every change of season. And sometimes when we need to get together. Sometimes if someone has a problem we need to fix it.

I didn’t get any messages or dreams so I figured I just show up just in case. How are you doing?

Not so good. Haven’t really been getting along with my parents or siblings. They have no idea what’s going on. I’m just trying to figure out a way out.

Out of their house or out of the situation you’re in.

I asked for this situation. I’m trying to get out of my house without any hard feelings.

Where are you going to go?

I don’t know. I have no plans. I have no place of my own.

Joe thought for a moment. I live alone and there’s plenty of room in my place if you’re interested.

That would be great but what do I tell my parents?

How do I get out? What should I say? I don’t want them to think I’m ungrateful for all they have done for me.

Tell him you found a new job and you’re moving to another town.

I wasn’t working so how could it be a new job.

Tell them you found a job you would like and there’s a place to stay there.

That might work. They know I’m not happy with their religion and that I’m searching for one that fits me. I will tell them that I found an occult gift shop online. In one of their posts, they are asking to hire someone. Someone who is interested in many religions and will not have a problem promoting any of them. They might think I would fit in there.

I’ll have to think about it but staying at your place does sound interesting.

It’s settled. We’ll figure it out. I’m starting to get hungry. I bought some stuff for breakfast. Would you like some?

Sure.

How did you know I would be here?

I felt that something was troubling you and that we needed to talk. I hoped you would be here. It’s a two-day bus drive to get here and I didn’t want to come for nothing. I’m glad you’re here.

What about the others. Are they coming?

No! I did not intend for them to be here so I did not summon them. This is something we should talk about alone. It might have to do with them in the end but for now, it’s just us.

They sat in silence while they finished eating. Joe started to clean up.

Hope said. I’ll do that. You gather the things so we can get out of here.

Joe asked What is your hurry? Is there somewhere you have to be?

The bus station. My parents will start to worry if I’m gone too long.

We don’t have to hurry. I can take you.

I’m not sure I’m ready for them to meet you.

That is OK. I’ll drop you at the bus stop in your town.

What about your job? It will take time to get there and back.

I got some personal time coming. This is getting personal. I’m liking hanging around with you. I could get used to it.

They finished packing up and headed to Joe’s car. Hope lived two states away. The drive didn’t seem that long. They talked and sang songs on the radio. It was strange how great they got along. Almost as if they had been friends for a long time. As if they had known each other before.

When Joe dropped her off at the bus stop he said Stay in touch. She nodded yes. I’ll see you soon and with that, she turned and went on her way.

On the drive home, the only thing he could think about was how this was going to change his life. When he parked in front of his house a thought came into his head.

This is a nice house. We will do good here.

It had to be Hope. She was letting me know we were going to be OK.

As he went in he thought, This will work.

She Got A Job.

Funny how things somehow just work out

Joe went to the door. There was no knock. He just knew.

Hi Hope.

She had a suitcase with her.

Come on in.

The door opened to the living room. She set her case down and looked around. Nice place you got here.

He said, Thanks. It is modest but it gets me by. Sit down and make yourself comfortable. I was just about to make coffee. Do you want some?

I’d love some.

Joe went to the kitchen. He started the coffee. I’m making some eggs too. You in.

Sure

Scrambled?

My favorite.

Scrambled it is.

He set the kitchen table, made some toast, and brought some blackberry jam.

He motioned for Hope to join him.

She sat across from him. Cream or sugar for your coffee.

I like it black. She said. How did you know I like blackberry jam. It’s my favorite. We don’t get it at my house.

Did you tell them?

Yes.

How did they take it?

They said they hoped it would work out and that if it didn’t I was always welcome back home.

Great! So you are ready to move in.

I hoped you were still open to that.

Open to it? I’ve been waiting for it. I don’t think I have ever wanted anything more.

I guess I’ll be calling this home now.

I think it has always been. I’ve been waiting for you to show up and now here you are. Someone to share my coffee and blackberry jam.

I think we will be sharing much more than that.

They finished breakfast. Hope started gathering the dishes for the sink. Do you mind if I take a little nap? It was a long bus ride and I’m exhausted.

Joe said. I’ll get the dishes. You rest up. I got something to show you later in town.

Hope nodded and went to lay down on the couch. She set down and removed her shoes. Before she could lay down Joe took her by the hand. He walked her to the bedroom. Pulled down the sheets and let her lay down. He covered her up, closed the curtains, and as he went out the door he said Rest well.

She thought how lucky she was to have found such a good man. Then she remembered he had been sent. Thanks, universe I needed this.

She turned over and relaxed. She was home.

It was mid-afternoon when Joe went to check on her. She stirred as the door opened.

Sleep well he said.

Better than I have in a long time. You said you had something to show me?

I’ll be ready to go in a minute. Get your shoes on.

They got in the car and headed to town. It wasn’t that far, they could have walked but Joe wanted to go somewhere afterward.

They pulled up to a storefront. The sign said coming soon. No other info. He took her to the door. It was unlocked and they went in. He walked her to the back room.

Glad you are here. Is this the girl?

Yes.

High I’m Roger. I hear you are searching for something.

Hope replied I found what I was looking for.

I know but you are looking for a little more. Something to make your life more meaningful. Somewhere you can learn some of the things you have been looking for.

Hope looked a little puzzled. How do you know this?

I asked The gods to send me someone who would help me get this store going. Someone who would benefit from being here. Someone who would learn and grow with their time here. Are you that person?

She replied I don’t know but I think I would like to try. What are we selling?

All kinds of stuff. Mostly related to meditation, religion, and Things to expand your mind. Eventually, classes in stuff related.

I think I could fit in here.

Great when can you start?

She looked at Joe. He said how about next Monday. That will give you some time to settle in.

Roger said It’s settled then. Monday it is. I got stuff coming then anyway. We open next Friday.

Hope was almost speechless. She looked at both of them and smiled. Do I get a say in this?

You have the final say. Joe continued. When I heard this place was coming I checked out what it was going to be. It seemed like universe was listening to us and put this in front of us. It is your choice to follow it. I’d like to go with you if you want.

What will you do?

I can learn what I’m supposed to be doing in this life.

Hope looked at Roger. If you are willing to give me a shot I would like to give it a try.

See you Monday.

They went back to the car. They got in.

Now what? Hope asked? as if Joe had planned this.

I don’t know but I thought you might want to do something. Something that would give meaning to all this. I don’t know what it could be but whatever it is we can do it.

I am a little overwhelmed she said.

Don’t be. I link it is our destiny. Speaking of Destiny, How is she doing?

I’m fine. We are fine. I want to go home and relax and let this settle in. It seems to be a little fast.

Home. It just hit her. She now has a home.

They headed back to Joe’s house. As they pulled up out front Joe said We are home.

They went in. Hope turned and looked at Joe.

I got a job.

A Guest

With a message.

It was already dark when Joe got home. Hope was standing in the doorway.

"You’re late."

"I didn’t know I was on a timeline."

"Did you forget what day it is?"

He turned towards the door and saw the moon had already risen. He forgot it gets dark earlier in the winter. It is full too.

"A gathering." He said.

"Yes."

"Anything special this time?"

"Not really, Just a charging, reinforce the protectors and ask for guidance for our daughter. She is developing fast now. We are going to ask for her to be granted power and wisdom."

"Is everybody coming?"

Yes and a guest.

"Who?"

"I don’t know, but I feel their presence."

Joe started towards the bedroom to get ready.

"I already have everything we need."

Joe felt rushed as Hope got in the car. He followed close behind and they headed towards the park. Not much conversation and when they arrived Hope got out, grabbed the stuff, and headed into the woods. The moonlit the path. As they entered the opening she noticed there was no fire yet. Everything was set but nothing was lit.

She put her stuff down and started to set up the circle. The little basket she turned into the altar again. She took out the instruments incense and offerings. The candles were set.

The rest of the group gathered in silence until one of them asked? "Same usual stuff or something special this time?"

"We have a guest coming. I don’t know who it is, but I know they’re coming."

"Should we wait for them or get started"

"We should get started it’s getting late said an unfamiliar voice."

No one but Joe turned to see who it was. A tall skinny man dressed in black stood just inside the clearing. "I’ll follow along and add when appropriate."

Hope stood in front of the altar with the unlit fire behind it.

The others gathered around in a circle.

First, she raised a glass of salt to the heavens. "Blessings upon this creature of salt."

Then she took the blade and scooped some of the salt on the tip, and put it in the cup of water. "Cleanse and purify."

She turned and walked to the outside of the circle with the blade raised to the heavens and said "I call upon the circle." She then pointed it to the ground and traced the circle around the group saying as she went "I call the power in the protection of the circle."

There was more, but Joe didn’t hear it. When she was back at the altar she lit the two candles and the incense. She traced her steps again with the incense and then with the candle. When she got back to the altar she stepped in front and bent to light the fire. It started slow then quickly grew. She put the candle back on the altar and turned to face the center.

"We gather for our usual charging. Does anyone have any requests?"

No one spoke up. She raised her arms again. They all raised their arms. "So may it be."

The fire seemed to grow, reaching towards the sky. The group seemed to glow with the added energies.

After a time Hope said. "We give thanks to the energies."

She turned to the group again and repeated. "Does anyone have any requests?" One of the ladies chimed in, "Can we send some of this positive energy to my friend who is ailing."

The guest interrupted. "May I say something?"

"I come from a group of elders who have been waiting for a leader to come to show us the way. This sole has been waiting for the right time. We have noticed she has chosen this time to come into existence. She has chosen her parents and they have chosen her too. I have come to inform you that she has also chosen this group. Why we don’t know or question. She will have choices to make when she gets older. You can not make them for her, but you can influence them. You must raise her with your morels and ethics. Show her what is right or wrong by example. Teach her what power is, How to grow it, and when to use it. She must learn using these powers have consequences. She will learn to control these powers and look to them as gifts to make life better."

One of the group asked. "Why us?"

"Don’t know, It just IS."

Hope looked around then asked the guest, "Would you care to join us in calling the energies to help heal?"

"I would."

They raised their arms in silence and concentrated on the sky. "Positive energies flow through us and to those in need."

The fire again flared but this time more intense. Was it the addition of the stranger’s energy? Who knows but they all felt it. Even the guest noticed the unusual energy.

When they finished Hope thanked the energies and bade them farewell. She banished the circle.

"It’s time to celebrate. Would you care to join us?" Hope asked as she looked at the guest.

"I have other urgent business to attend to but thanks." He turned to leave.

Joe asked, "We don’t even know your name?"

"It’s not important now. You probably won’t ever see me again. If you do it is because you need something. If you do I will come again."

"What kind of help will we need? Will you need to protect us?"

"Joe. You are the protector here. More powerful than you know. Before all is done you will protect us all. Destiny will save us." He turned to leave and as he went said "If She chooses. Teach your children well."

The Teacher

He just knows

They were sitting in the living room watching TV. Nothing special was on. Joe looked at Hope.

“How do we get in contact with the group?

Do we meet outside of the gathering?

I don’t even know who they are or what they do.“

“Why do you ask?” She responded

“I thought that if I’m a part of this group, I should know more about it.

What is it that we do?

Why we do what we do?

Why was I chosen?

I want to know so I can figure out what I need to do.”

Hope said, “Next week we have a class at the store. You should be in on it.”

“What is it about?”

“Things you should know.”

Will any of our group be there?”

“Don’t know, but if you want to know, you should be there.”

“Sign me up. When is it?”

“Tuesday at 6. No signup, just show up.”

“When were you going to let me know.”

“I knew you would ask when you were ready to know.”

They sat for a while in silence. Without a word, Hope got up and went to the bedroom. As she entered, she said, “Are you coming?”

Joe said, “Not yet.” He sat there for a while, wondering what the class would be. What was it that he was supposed to know? By the time he went to bed, Hope was asleep. He crawled into bed as quietly as he could and snuggled close. He put his arm around her. And fell asleep.

It was a dreamless sleep, and when he woke, Hope was not there. He went to the kitchen. “Why didn’t you wake me.”

“You needed sleep. I fixed breakfast so you could eat and get ready for work.”

The coffee smelled wonderful. He sat and ate.

“Did you figure anything out in your dreams?”

“I didn’t dream anything.”

“That you remember.”

“How would you know?

She just looked at him.

He went to the bedroom, got ready for work. As he went out the door, he said. “See you at dinner.”

She said, “We are going to lunch. See you at 12:30.

I’ll find you.”

Joe left. Lunch was at noon. He had an hour. He didn’t want his usual, so he went to the diner. They had good soup. He sat in the back so he could see who came in.

He thought he was watching closely, but when Hope sat down, she startled him.

“Where did you come from?” He said.

“Doesn’t matter. Why did you get a table for 3?”

“Didn’t realize I did.”

Just then, a man walked up and sat in the other seat.

“My name is Ray. Are you, Joe?”

“How did you know.”

“I was told.”

“By who”

“ I don’t know.”

Joe looked puzzled.

Hope said, “He is a dowser.”

“What does that mean.”

“When dowsing sometimes he is given information that he doesn’t understand. He can find things, and places. Answer questions. He can also send energies. Healing energies. Cleansing energies. Even harming energies, but we don’t do that.”

Ray added. “When I get information like this from Universe, I have learned I should follow up on it. What do you want to know?”

Joe still looked puzzled. “I don’t know what I want to know.”

Hope chimed in. “He was chosen to join our group. He chose to join with me. He is the father of our child.”

“Did you know each other before this meeting?”

Together they said “No.”

“Why did you agree.”

Joe said, “It felt right. It felt good. It felt like it was meant to be.”

“How are things going?”

“Good, I think. She has moved in with me. We are getting to know each other, and the bond is growing.”

Ray took a thing on a string from around his neck.

He held it in front of him and began to swing it.

It stopped on its own. “What does that mean?” Joe asked.

“It wants me to ask later.”

The waitress came up. “What can I get for you today.”

Hope and Joe both took menus.

Ray said. “I’ll just have sweet tea.”

“Do you want it now or with your food?”

“Now, it would be great.”

“Do you two want a drink now?”

Hope said, “We will have it with our food.”

The waitress brought the sweet tea. Joe and Hope ordered. When the waitress left, Ray continued. “This is a pendulum. It helps me communicate with the universe. My guides and the angels send me messages. They told me I was to be here.”

Joe looked puzzled again.“You don’t know why, but you know who we are.”

“Sort of. I know your name, Joe. I know I am supposed to be here. Now that I am here, we will find out why.”

Hope added again. “The gods have sent him as a teacher to show you what you need to know.”

Ray got up before their food came. Left some money for his drink. As he left, he said, “I’ll be in touch and was gone.”

Hope did not say anything as she ate. Joe kept trying to figure what was happening. They paid the bill, and Hope said as they left. “We can talk more tonight.”

When Joe got home, Hope was waiting. Dinner was ready. There was even a glass of wine set at Joe’s place. Hope lit some candles. As Joe sat down, he said, “What’s the occasion.”

Hope replied, “Just enjoying our time together.”

Joe said, “I have been enjoying our time together for a while now.”

She said, “When you said our bond was growing, it made me feel happy. I felt at home. I felt loved. It is what I want for our child.”

“You didn’t pour yourself any wine.”

“I have not had alcohol since I conceived.”

“How will you celebrate?”

“I will enjoy the meal, and then I will consume your love. The energy will feed the development of Destiny. We will grow together.”

Joe enjoyed his meal. He watched as Hope finished hers. His only thought was how good it would be to be consumed by Hope and that he would do all in his power to make her feel wonderful as they shared in the energy they create.

Who are you

Never fear. Nanny is here. It's the way!

There was a knock at the door. Hope answered it.

Hello. Can I help you?

I’m here to help you.

Who are you?

Nanny.

I don’t need a nanny.

I’m not a nanny. I’m Nanny.

The guardians have sent me to help.

Help at what?

Guiding you in the ways.

What ways.

You will learn. I’ll teach all of you in time. It’s the way.

Can I come in?

Hope opened the door wider and the lady entered. She leads her into the living room.

Would you like something to drink?

Just water please, as she sat on the sofa.

Joe called from the kitchen, Who was that?

Hope answered Nanny.

He started towards the living room. Nanny who?

Just Nanny. Nanny said.

Hope went to the kitchen to get some water. She shrugged her shoulders unknowingly as she passed Joe.

Jow sat on the arm of the loveseat across from Nanny. How can we help you?

Nanny repeated as at the door. I’m here to help you.

Help how.

To show you the way

Joe had gotten used to strangers showing up to do something. He thought Here we go again. What this time?

Hope set the glass of water on the table next to Nanny. Nanny took the small pouch from her neck, took a pinch of something from it, and added it to the water. This helps me focus.

What’s that Joe asked?

Whatever I need at the time, she replied, as she sipped from the glass.

She looked at them both and said. I must ask for your permission. I want to show you the way.

You and your children will have a great influence on this world.

Joe said, We have no children!

Nanny answered. Hope is with child and JJ will come next.

After a short silence Nanny continued. With your permission, I can show you the way. I can help you raise your children and help around the house.

Joe’s mind wondered. Not one but 2 children. How his life had changed.

Nanny again asked Do I have your permission?

Hope answered first. Yes. They looked at Joe. Yes. I seem to have been chosen so I will continue.

With that Nanny got up and went to the door. I’ll let myself out. I’ll be back when the time is right.

Hope and Joe sat in silence for a while after the door closed. As Joe went back to the kitchen he said. I guess we got a nanny.

As the weeks went by and Hope got closer to having her first child

A sign went up next door. For sale. Joe was talking to his neighbor. Harry, When did you decide to sell. Lauren got a big promotion. It's in another state so we are moving to be closer to her new job. We’ll stay in touch. Joe knew that would not happen. They weren't really that close.

Good luck, he said as he went back to his house.

The sign came down the next day. When Joe saw Harry he said. That was quick. Did something fall through?

No, we found a place and signed a deal. When we got home the realtor called and someone had put in an offer. We accepted. We move this weekend. The place we found is furnished so we are only taking our clothes and personal things. The rest of the stuff stay’s with the house Things move quickly sometimes. It's the way.

Joe said If I don’t see you before you go good luck at whatever you do. Stay in touch.

He knew that would not happen. They weren't that close.

When Joe got home Saturday afternoon Harry and Lauren were leaving in a rental van. They had all they were taking in it. They waved as they passed. Joe knew he would never see them again. As he went into the house a taxi pulled up. Nanny got out, took her suitcase and went next door. She had a key and went in.

Wait

It is all in the hands of destiny

The years had gone by quickly. They hadn't treated Joe and Hope badly. Destiny had grown into a respectable young lady. JJ on the other hand had been fascinated with the darker side. He eventually went his own way. The world, on the other hand, was not well. Bad things were happening all around. Sickness, failure, destruction, death. Lives falling to the dark side. Even J.J.( Joe Jr.) had fallen to the dark side.

As they sat at the dinner table Hope and Destiny were trying to decide what to do. Nanny walked in and said. We must call out the evil and deal with it.

How do we do that?

We must wait for the next full moon and do the ritual.

What ritual?

Nekyia.

We must descend into the underworld and summon Loki to appear before us.

He has somehow gained access to our world. He resides in the underworld where he feels safe but enters our world to cause havoc among us.

We must be careful for if he gains control of us we are doomed.

How do we protect ourselves?

We surround ourselves with positive energies and invoke the protection of our creator. We use the circle to contain all the energies and use candles, pendants, herbs, and other tools to keep our intentions pure.

When Loki is present we will perform another ritual. A controlling one.

One where we put that evil in its place.

Over the next few weeks, they studied and practiced. The full moon approached and they felt confident they were ready.

They went to the place in the woods where they always met. It was too dangerous for the whole group so they decided to go it alone. The alter was set. The circle was cast. This time there were 3 circles. Nanna stayed in the outer circle. The next was of salt to cleanse and purify. The inner cast with holy water. They called the Guardians to watch over and witness the ritual. The Creator called to protect.

A small circle was cast next to the alter. They summoned Loki and he show up. As evil stood there Destiny, who was standing in front of the altar turned her gaze to it.

JJ was with him. He had come as the sacrifice. He was going to give his essence to free Loki to spread his evil throughout our universe.

Loki had a large sword with him He raised it to the heavens and said. Accept this life force given freely to unbind me. He struck down JJ and as his life faded Loki grew larger. He turned his attention to Destiny.

Hope stepped between them and said, “Stop. you will do no harm.”

A beam of energy emanated from Loki as he said, I am more powerful than you. I will destroy you. Then destiny can be under my power. We will turn this world into the dark world I want it to be.

With that, energy shot into Hope. She fell lifeless to the ground. It happened before Joe could do anything but the protector in him came out and shielded Destiny before the evil energy could get to her. It deflected and with Joe's influence returned back to Loki and knocked him helpless in front of the altar.

Joe stepped up as he pulled the short Dagger from beneath his vest. He was about to dispatch Loki. Remove this evil from our world.

Destiny at the last possible second said WAIT. It may be evil but it is a necessary evil. Nothing can exist without its opposites. We can control and confine this evil but we must never destroy it or we will destroy ourselves.

At that moment a whirlwind of energy entered the room.

Hope and Joe junior sat up. Joe looked startled and turned to the entity in the center of the room.

I am the Creator of this universe. I gave free will to humans so that they could control their own destiny. I gave guidelines for you to follow. But your existence is ultimately dependent upon you. Destiny has been influenced by you and she has decided for me the path you are to continue following. By choosing not to destroy evil she has kept the door open for your universe to exist. Follow her lead and guide the rest of your people down the road to enlightenment so that you too may eventually become creators of other universes. So far you have followed in my image and I hope you continue to. I have restored your world back to the way it was right before evil almost triumphed. While it still exists you must keep it in check.

Good luck with your world and your universe and if you need me I'm always here. Call upon me and I will come.

In your time of need call upon me and I will come.

With that, the creator of our universe faded into darkness but never really disappeared. The background came back into focus and the small circle and campfire faded back into view.

Destiny, Hope, Joe, and Joe Jr were standing around the fire staring at each other.

From the background Nanny had witnessed the whole scene. She stepped into the light and said well done. You have made me proud and we now have a chance to continue to our own destiny.

She took a small bag with a bottle of wine and set it on a cloth set on the altar pouring some of the wine from the bottle into a glass. Passing it to all those present.

Sharing this drink we celebrate the future. May it be positive and long!

As she handed the glass to them they all took a ship. She finished it, raise the empty glass to the fire, and said “To the Future”

They all repeated So Mote It Be.

.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.