Fiction logo

A Love Story

Such an Adventure of love for Life.

By Jewel MedinaPublished 2 years ago 15 min read
2
Timing is everything.

Hello everyone I am so determined and happy I can present to you A Love story. Now they say When two souls are meant to connect: The location, Timing, and circumstances are irrelevant. They suddenly become a magnet for one another and despite their efforts to fight it, The universe somehow manipulates it all in their favor, and in and at that moment when they finally give in, A new love is born...

The first time I ever looked into his eyes it was love at first sight to me maybe a crush but I was only 13 years old then. We lived here in upstate New York. We are best friends. He was the nerd that always shied away and hid his face it gave that mysterious vibe in our middle school days. Yet I know I did not think much of it because I was young and so was he. Now coming to our senior year of high school he started to change and drastically. It gave me quite a scare though everyone changes in life not gonna lie but still. Wow, as soon as he joined the football team he was swarmed around by girls who fangirled over him. I just sat on the sidelines crushing on him even though it may be weird. I just always had a crush on him yet he never really realized. He was so obsessed with the fame of football and the attention that sometimes he would barely notice me. Blinded by everything he went through a bad relationship after another. I became a just friend or a brother to him it is what I always had thought. Now the only thing I did and everything in my power was to get him to be happy. Now readers you may think I was foolish but aren't we all sometimes at that young age. Anyway, as I was saying I did everything even if it hurt me in the end. I'm sure he never thought of me as a woman because of my baby face but who knows. He just picked on me for it. I honestly did not mind it because he seemed like he was flirting. His name is Nick Williams and Mine is Eve Milson of course. So as many nights passed of fun and just plain laughter. There was a time where he had asked me to go to his home party with him. Now letting you all know I had a very overprotective single mother. A mom who basically never allows anything in my life especially when it comes to love because she is just afraid of me making the same mistake in love as she did. Yet it was also because I am all she has left.

Me being so infatuated and wanting him to be happy I said yes I will go and I just was thinking to myself whilst saying in my head that I will have to sneak out though. So I did it was late at night at 10 pm. I climbed out my bottom window to the outside. I walked to Nick's home party which was practically down the street and I was so excited I dressed really pretty to see his reaction but all I got to see as soon as I walked in and got there was Jenna holmes tongue down his throat. I was furious and embarrassed yet I also walked away in disgust feeling sad. So I just thought to myself as I walked down the street to park why. Why does he get to me and why do I let it?" Yet as I thought to myself thinking really hard and a lot. I found myself crying and sitting on the swing. I started to realize where I was and started to walk back then I met Jack Barns who asked the most important question I guess. Are you okay Eve I scoffed at the idea of him asking that then replied does it look like it, Jack.

Jack is a friend of a friend we met at a school club in the first year of high school and have been friends ever since because of our shared interests. Anyway...

No, he said but you do need someone to help you get back at Nick. I looked confused and asked what do you even mean. He shook his head and told me all about my reality and how Nick is basically stringing me along and denying his feelings for me. Twenty minutes later I guess I agreed and tomorrow was the official day I started to date Jack.

Though it did not last long because on that day I was in the hall and I was with Jack we were basically playfighting each other over a stupid topic about how my hair could be better. When all of a sudden Nick passed by and was in a hurry it looked like He started to ask a question turning around the corner in the hall Ev-?" Then he looked confused while looking at me then Jack as we froze acting kinda like little kids freezing at the feeling of getting caught in the moment grabbing cookies out of a cookie jar late at night. Nick looked at me and he crossed his arms and with one eyebrow up he asked am I missing something when did you two become chummy with each other?" We let go of our fingers at each other's shirts. We straightened up and smiled awkwardly at Nick. He had a frustrated look on his face as he grits his teeth Nick instantly grabbed my hand hard without hesitation and pulled me towards him placing me at his side. Jack said sarcastically to him with a smirk as he crossed his arms. Now Nick that's no way to treat a lady, is it." Nick got angry and replied while pointing at me and saying Eve is off-limits to your bad play boy games. I looked confused and then instantly was reminded of how Nick is doing the same to me practically. So angry I shook off my hand holding Nick's. As I did I yelled and pushed him back and said well Nick your not so different either!" Everyone stared by this time at us but I kept saying Nick you are a playboy to me and I can't keep on with this game this lie so you can have your girls but Nick you can not have me, I grabbed Jack by the collar as Nick looks so dumbfounded and confused and said to Jack I do not need you to help me fight for him anymore because he is not worth fighting for. I let go and I walked away and I remember Nick looking at me with such a sad expression on his face as I turned my back towards him. Almost as if he realized something too late while knowing what he realized is that his best friend and potential everything was now gone. Years had passed since then and I have become a stronger woman now 25 years old and living the city life in New York City in Queens. I had to go to work today and for my first big job, which I landed a few weeks ago as an assistant for the CEO of a corporate office there. I got ready and left when I got there to my new office. I was called in to talk to the CEO about my plans for a new project. I was surprised because this is the first time in my weeks of being here I am going to meet my boss. Now what I've heard about the CEO of this place is that no one sees him unless they are privileged meaning higher up or if you are an assistant to him plus He is known to be cold and distant. Shaking all those thoughts and rumors off I gathered my confidence and walked into his office and when I walked in I could not believe my eyes Nick Williams was sitting right in front of me looking really sexy actually in his suit and clean-shaved beard with his hair slicked back. Coming back to reality I gulped and started to talk but he interrupted by saying close the door while shaking his head and as he sighed and looked through his paperwork never looking up. I was frozen in place now scared to talk I thought to myself dang how could someone change a whole lot yet who am I kidding its been years anyway so Eve focus.

So I cleared my throat and started to talk yet an hour had passed and I had finished but he still did not look up at me. I was curious and called him by his name accidentally though out of frustration instead of Mr.CEO. I had asked Nick was that a good presentation. He suddenly had looked up real quick and looked at me as if he is seeing a ghost. I was stunned because of the looks of it he did not recognize me at first hand and even though my name was on the job application. I guess he had someone doing it for him anyway typical Nick in that way. He was so stunned yet he started to speak and said, Eve? I looked confused and replied with yes?" He had gotten up from his chair and come up to me. He looked into my eyes and without hesitation hugged me and at that moment I was in shock. He let go and said I have a job that I need your help on. I was confused and asked and that is?" He replied I want you to take a trip with me. I was too confused at this point and said what about work?" Nick then sat me down to tell me that He made plans to go with his assistant days ago because he has friends in Scotland that will help him with a product he needed to be brought into NYC. That coming towards the end of this day I will meet him at the airport and so there it was I guess after our conversation about the product meaning the Scotland jugs of milk called first milk. So after work, I packed my bags and headed towards the airport as I met up with Nick we took an airplane to fly to Inverness Airport. When we got there it was like a whole other different experience everywhere was so quiet yet peaceful. We managed to take a ride to Nick's friend's barn home in the highlands. It took a while but we finally got to the barn house which basically from what I heard was Nick's cousin's home. Seeing all this made me have a different perspective from the city life and into nature. Anyway, we got comfortable and nightfall had come soon after and we all were at the dinner table. Nick's friend had asked me if I was Nick's girlfriend that he had not talked about any other girl ever since I had left. I almost choked on my food. I was like eh hem really?" As I asked I looked at Nick wanting an answer and then Nick's cousin said my oh my he started working more than ever too then Nick's friend had introduced himself.

By the way, my name is River Donnson it really is a pleasure to meet you. Still in shock of what was just said I cleared my throat and told him thank you its a pleasure to meet you too. I then excused myself to clear my head I walked out and went halfway out but not far in the highlands of Scotland. I wanted to cry in a way because I felt responsible even though I shouldn't.

At that moment I heard footsteps and to my surprise, it was Nick he started to sit next to me telling me he was sorry for bringing me here. I told him no it's alright plus it feels so peaceful here Nick smiled at me and said I know a place that I want to show you. Curiosity got the best of me as I said okay what? He took my hand and we walked far then we came to this willow tree. I asked what's going on? He suddenly put one finger on my lips and only to shush me and confused and obedient I was quiet. When he pointed to the willow tree as I looked I could not believe my eyes it was baby barn owls. It's so cute I whispered to Nick also saying How did you know about this? He told me when he was a teenager and he was on that vacation for summer. One day he visited his friend named River there was a Baby bird which we found on a walk who was lost because her wings had little cuts on them making her very vulnerable. So we took her in and nursed her back to health. Ever since then he told me that she grew and so did her family right here in this tree. I was so amazed by his story that I said wow you can be a sentimental type huh. He chuckled and said do not push it. The next day it was time for business and I got ready and I went down and we were taken to Glasgow. Where Nick was talking about a lot in the meeting as I waited. He finally nailed the deal and came out the doors to me so happy and yet so giddy and that he told everyone there that drinks were on him. So here I was sitting in the corner at Gin71 a bar in Glasgow I sighed with a drink in my hand and as I did I looked out the window near me. That was when Nick came to sit next to me asking I hope it is not too much. I told him with a smile no it's a lot but it isn't bad either. Nick then leaned in towards me and we looked into each other's eyes and I can tell he was going to kiss me and my heart was pounding so much that it just happened the kiss we shared was very passionate and it felt good. The next day I was packing and outside my window, I saw a barn owl and it looked like the baby's but it was older than the ones I had seen before in the willow tree. Curious I walked towards the window and it flew away and as it did I saw Nick on the floor outside and a lot of blood shown. I gasped and ran out there to him I called out to him many times. Scared as crap I looked for his friend yet his friend was nowhere in sight. Then I came to a conclusion I did not like and as I checked for Nick's pockets and bingo there was no money in his pockets. I was so afraid because I did not want to lose him. Good thing I know a few things about taking a bullet out of someone because of a little traumatic situation I went through with my mother's friend. First I cleaned the wound and sanitized it with alcohol and using my tweezers from my makeup bag and kept at the bullet and when I finally took it out I bandaged it. So afterward I took him to the barn nearby and just laid him down along with a blanket there I stood awake for the most part and that was when I woke up the next day. I instantly jumped up when I saw Nick watching me with a smile I said you're a creep? maybe to you but I just wanna say thank you he replied I softened up and with a smile, I told him yeah your welcome." He said to me with such seriousness I want you by my side forever." I instantly told him what do you mean." He said marry me. I know I treated you wrong in the past but I was also young but I also never really got you off your mind. I feel that you should let me have a better chance to be a man because I told myself back then how could I let you walk away now I know this Eve I will do anything for you. After hearing all that I told him this is a lot but I will think about it. He smiled and a couple of days later we went and traveled back to NYC where I agreed to marry him and if he was to in any way break our trust then it'll be the end. Yet it was a beautiful ceremony his vows went just like this you are my universe we were meant to meet again and the timing could not be so perfect we have grown a lot and now since you've been my everything Eve Williams I will give everything I have to make you happy. I teared up then said my vows. 10 years later Nick and I are living in North Carolina now. Where we are gonna raise our newest members of the family Emma Williams and Ethan Williams and I think to myself as I hold these two kids of my own While Nick was working outside. I will do everything for you both and gosh what adventure I had with your Dad and indeed it will be a story for when you are older a love story. Such an adventure of love for life.

Love
2

About the Creator

Jewel Medina

I believe that writing has always flowed through as a kid and I loved it ever since.

But one piece of advice never give up on whatever your dreams are because whatever it is I just know you are special enough to tell yourself you got this!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.