Fiction logo

A Journey of Dislike

Dhaunlua's Emergence

By Sai Marie JohnsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Journey of Dislike
Photo by Aimie-Lee Bliem on Unsplash

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: Many people who have read me and watched my growth as a writer into an author have reminded me that my concept and series story for The Tales of Valisa is likely the most promising of all my creations.

I do not disagree with this and really love the world I have crafted through the Tamira storyline – which is the family surname of the royal family in this Elven tale. I have always been a lover of elves, faeries, dragons, and overall fantasy but this story is one I’ve working on the longest.

In fact, being from Oregon, I began shaping the tale of Tamira and the world of Valisa long before I ever realized I would write a book.

Here’s a short piece highlighting one of the memorable character scenes I’ve written.

Enjoy!

Dhaunlua was born a drow female, child of the under dark, her birth mother a High Priestess of Eilistraee, making her the daughter of the Matron Goddess of Drow who wished to return to the surface. This made Dhaunlua, the granddaughter of The Dark Queen, Our Lady Lolth. She made her life in simply learning the works, and study of the Priesthood of the Dark Queen. She unfortunately, and much to her distaste had recently discovered that she had a direct line to the familial name of 'Tamira'. Upon the return of her great Aunt, Tri'Shena to the elven city of Valisa.

Tri'Shena's re-emergence within Valisa, sent a bit of a shockwave through much of their society. Dhaunlua, having been studious in the arts of Dark Magick, and earth elementals, as well as her ability in weapon making, caused her to be the first summoned to the Hall of Elders, deep within the city. Upon her meeting of Lady Tri'Shena, Dhaunlua grew disinterested.

"Why am I called to her aide? Can this woman not fend for herself?" Dhaunlua, was as most drow elves, not at all intrigued by the helping of others. If not for her own gain, she would be less than willing to budge.

"Dhaunlua, I chose you. Specifically, because you have the ability to do things, I know I have not the heart. I am the yin to your yang, we are halves of one whole. Tis for the betterment of our mutual peoples that I have called you forth from your shadowy existence.", Tri'Shena spoke with a low, yet respectable voice. Each word of hers annunciated in such a way that was clear she meant neither harm nor foul to any.

"And so, I must go to the surface of this unknown realm to help you? What do I receive?" Her silvery eyes flashed due to the bright light coming over them, causing her greyed skin to flicker like star shine in the evening light.

"You receive the honor, the respect, of being one of few to leave the under dark. Just as your Mother revered Eilistraee, always giving the brief hope that the Drow may once again walk amongst us." Tri'Shena holding her hands firmly folded in place before her stomach, once more spoke in a neutral tone, but clearly making it evident she needed this female's aid more than she dared to say.

"I see, and the Council expects me to follow through, I take it." Those optics of pure onyx and silver rolled within her cranium directing themselves towards the other gathered Elders, in each of their respective chairs. Each one simply nodded, no need to speak further than had already been done. Dhaunlua, in return, nodded as well.

"So, mote it be." She replied, taking to turn away and retreat back to her precious caves, and the last sweet earthen breath of their safety.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Sai Marie Johnson

A multi-genre author, poet, creative&creator. Resident of Oregon; where the flora, fauna, action & adventure that bred the Pioneer Spirit inspire, "Tantalizing, titillating and temptingly twisted" tales.

Pronouns: she/her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.