Fiction logo

Poison Shrine

A Poison Penny Tale

By Mother CombsPublished 11 days ago Updated 11 days ago 1 min read
6

Poison Penny resides inside the ruins of an old sanctuary in the deep woods, where the sun seldom reaches. Those who have traversed there have never returned to tell the tale. Those whom she had taken there, their hearts now adorn her walls.

Poison Penny’s love is a fickle one. It is here today and gone tomorrow, if it is ever there at all. Once she has finished with her prey, she delicately removes his heart to be displayed, such as a trophy would be displayed.

Her sanctuary has been rumored to be so evil and rotten that even animals tend to avoid it. Birds fly around it, and deer, coyotes, and bears walk around its boundaries. Even moles and earthworms dare not dig under her domain; it is that evil.

You’ll know you've reached her sanctuary when you come to a massive ring of dead trees covered in poison ivy and oak. Nothing of purity and life will grow there—only poison and rot. The most vile-looking toadstools line the path leading to her home.

Around her sanctuary, scattered about, are mounds of dirt where she has her victims buried. Some are buried in a mass grave, and some in a single grave. It just depends on how many she was able to take each Spring.

You asked me how I knew all this. My heart decorates Poison Penny’s wall. I’m one of the unlucky ones to share a mass grave.

HorrorShort StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
6

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin for the FB Group ViM

Mike Judey Dharr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson2 days ago

    So sad. "My heart decorates Poison Penny’s wall. I’m one of the unlucky ones to share a mass grave." Didn't see that coming.

  • Oh no, that little MF spilled the beans on my sanctuary! How dare he?! He shall suffer the consequences! Hehehehehehehehe. Loved this installment!

  • Rene Peters11 days ago

    With how I'm feeling, it's like I reached her sanctuary. Somehow, this made me feel something. I don't know what it is but it's the first time all day so thank you.

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Ewwwww no!! Wonder Woman needs to visit! ❣️😄

  • Mariann Carroll11 days ago

    It would be great to have a deep dive story on this. How someone ended on the wall by her poison. What was the person doing to end in her web of poison

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.