Fiction logo

A Heist to Pay for Revenge

A microfiction

By Ellie BeauchampPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
2
A Heist to Pay for Revenge
Photo by Alonso Reyes on Unsplash

My fingers delicately began lifting the glass pane on the darkened house. Being in the Wave District, I was surrounded by gaudy mansions made of red brick. I winced when the window made a terrible squeak from inching its frame up. I wasn't worried about getting caught, but nevertheless the sound unnerved me. Silently I slipped inside and crouched low on the extravagant rug in the study. The office was lavishly decorated to show off the wealth of Wilson Bordeaux; my mark, and the man responsible for the assassination of my husband. Creeping around his desk, I located the safe, tucked neatly where Baron said it would be: under the drawers on the right side. I opened the safe with the combination; thanks again, Baron. Inside was exactly what I came for - a small linen pouch full of colorful gems. Pocketing the pouch, I slipped back into the salty night air. I heard the cries for boarding coming from the docks up ahead, and quickened my pace. I grasped a small vial resting at the base of my throat. "Soon, my love, soon I will find a way to bring you back and then… We will have our revenge."

Adventure
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anthony Beauchamp12 months ago

    Very well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.