Fiction logo

A Girl Named Ashley

A story between a girl and a boy

By Madison B. Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

The white crescent moon in the unreachable distance fell over the mountains, inches at a time, as if scared to touch them. The blackness that hugged the planet, and the stars that flashed golden ever so slightly, faded as the night said it's goodbyes. The darkness lifted a bit, a faint ray of the shy sun peaked it's way through the scattered clouds in the east. All the nocturnal critters were heading to their beds to get cozy, readying for tomorrow. The noise that cloaked the darkness seemed to cautiously quiet down, until there was nearly silence that was entrapped in the earth.

In the shadows of the trees was where one young mans destination was. He walked on the white sidewalk overflowing with little shimmering specks of silver and black. No cars rushed by, no talk of people stirred the air around him. Only a slight whistle of the wind moved the trees, causing them to dance and play. The boy made his way to the spot so special to him. He sat down in the soft, fur like, bright green grass, that seemed to glow in the darkness of the mid-rising. Flowers bloomed, many dazzling colors displaying under the towering pristine trees. The suns light still was not taking hold of the scene, the mountains blocking it's view.

The tall slim boy sat down right in the middle of the area, sitting in between the immense trees, the sun to his back. The slight gust of wind also messing with his raven hair, brushing on his face with a slight furrowed brow. His dim, hurt blue eyes looking a few feet ahead of him. His chest rising and falling at a timid dragging rate. In his hands, he delicately held a smooth oak brown ukulele, that laid there in his arms perfectly.

A little barn owl tilted his beautiful cream colored head, and attentively watched the boy. He hid in the trees surrounding the boy, his black eyes not shifting. His talons gripping the hard, crumbled bark of the old aged tree. His magnificent wings hiding close to his warm snug feathers. He watched as the boy looked down at his ukulele. He tuned it just slightly, hands shaking at the touch. After a minute of just staring longingly at what laid in his hands, he began to strum the instrument. A soft, welcoming tune was made, calming to the ears. But the notes strummed were gloomy, mournful, the whole earth seemed to become somber.

The boy took a deep breath in, and closed his depressed eyes, as he sang his song.

"When did I leave? It's all my fault.

I keep thinking, if I just stayed.

How long will it be, until it becomes true.

Is it now just a dream, for me to marry you.

"Soon end will come, but never like this before.

What have I done? I've never felt so sore,

in my life.

"I swear it wasn't me, a lie that I lived.

Could it have been free? If I had forgiven.

And just forgot.

"Soon end will come, but never left like this before.

What have I done? I've never felt so sore,

In my life."

His strumming shifted and created a new tune, it was different but it was just as soft as the one before. He breathed heavily as the bridge he played finished. The barn owl leaning in, listening carefully. The whole forest sat in silence as they waited for the rest of what the boy had to say.

"Soon end will come, but never like this before.

What have I done? I've never felt so sore,

In my life.

"Was it what I said? When I handed that ring to you.

What have I done? We never got the chance,

to say "I do.""

He finished the last note, as he looked directly in front of him, and let a tear go down his pale cheek. He gently rose from sitting on the grass, his eyes never leaving sight of what was feet from where he sat. He turned, and walked back to the sidewalk, down the road, and back to his home.

The sun was finally making it's way up over the hills, and it shone down on where the boy used to be. The owl had silently disappeared for the day, and the shadows of the night were lost. The rays of the sun cast down on the towering trees, the fresh soft grass, the small vibrant flowers, and the stone in the middle of it all. And on the smoky gray stone, was the name "Ashley."

Love
Like

About the Creator

Madison B.

I love to write stories! I ❤ music (TOP, GD, MCR, SD, SWS, BVB, PTV, MIW, P!ATD, FAB, GS, B-182, FIR, ATL, MP, AY), the MCU, & animals. I hope u enjoy my stories and poems as much as I do! Have a great day! :)

Mystery

Thriller

Poems

Fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.