Fiction logo

How I wish to fly Soundless

A dreamer wishing to fly silently like a Barn Owl

By Madison B. Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - January 2022
27

The darkness took hold of the walls, the ceilings, the motionless air lingering in front of my eyes. The blankets cuddled close to me, protecting me from whatever dangers lurked in the black room, whatever waits for my demise. The thought of a beast lashing out at my face any moment sent cold shivers down my spine. The feeling did not last long though, one moment my eyes were dashing across the empty space looking for any traces of a monster. Then in what felt like the blink of an eye, I was somewhere new.

There were cream cotton candy clouds circling around the blue pigmented sky, and toy sized birds flapping their wings and that sang their little songs to all who listened. Below me miles of lime green grass spread out far and wide, simple but dazzling trees grew up from the earths dirt, a forest close by, that provided shelter for the many animals bounding or striding across the lands. The most wonderful thing about this place though, was the silence. No noise was made besides the sound of the dancing trees in the wind, and the music that they danced to that was played by nature. The large screech from the impressive raptors, the singing from the small delicate birds, the mighty wolves howling in triumph, and the gallop of the majestic running free horses were all the musicians of nature. All this was the sound of harmony, no riots, no arguments, nothing that would put the world off balance was to be heard.

Then I noticed what exactly I was doing as a smile crept onto my face, "look at me," I thought! I was flying, soaring, taking to the skies! Nothing could stop me, I finally could be free, free from life, from worries, from people getting in my way or telling me what to do. Finally I could just rise up, glide away, and never look back at all the problems of life.

I jolt in my flight, nearly losing balance and plummeting to the ground. A commotion arose, all the birds along side me became clutched in fright. I look up to see the blue painting above me crack, black streaks of lighting shoved it's way all across the sky, it became pieces, became shattered, and fell. The flying critters lost their wings and turned into piles of dust that gently swayed down to earth. Then I lost hold of my wings as well, and as the floor was drawing ever near, and I closed my eyes to not look at my death. But I was shocked to not feel a thing. I courageously opened my forest green eyes to see my room. My room with all its decorations, and with a burning light shining through the windows from the rising sun.

It's like this every night, I have dreams of flying, where I'm free, no hectic noises to be heard, everything is clear, and it all makes sense. Every time I wake up in the real world things are always out of control. For me, it's the sounds of this world that frustrate and overwhelm me. Already the honking and the sounds of traffic blasting through my ear drums makes me feel sick. The sounds of a proud airplane, and a booming helicopter overtake my head as they pass by, obviously trying to show off that they have arrived. The distant calls of sirens from police cars, firetrucks, ambulances. Then the sounds of yelling, shouting, arguments of people make me feel uneasy.

Why can't we just be quiet? Why do people make so much noise? I understand at points we have to make things known and create sounds. But why do they have to be so loud and aggressive? Have you ever noticed how little a noise can be? That snap of a twig you hear when you're alone in the woods. That creak of the floor when you're trying to grab a secret midnight snack. Or the sound of a pencil gliding across a artists work of art. I love the art of sound, but sometimes it can be too much! Sometimes I just want the world to be silent for one minute. I want the world to slow down, take a breath, and just be quiet for once.

Sometimes, when I look up at the birds above, I think of how lucky they are. If they are tired of a sound, they can just take to the skies and fly away, all their problems behind them. I wish to be like that. But I wish even more to be like an owl, and not just any owl, but a little barn owl. They fly in the cover of night, they are beautiful in appearance, they have pretty, delicate little faces, but most importantly, they are silent. They make no sound, not so much as a whisper of a noise as they open and flap their stunning cream and buff colored wings. They sleep during the day, if I was to be like that, I would not have to hear all the commotion and trauma of the world when the burning yellow sun casts upon it. Instead, I would hear the voices of the earth that the moon brings at night. And if any noise that does not belong would dare to come near me, I could effortlessly glide away in silence and find somewhere else to be.

How lovely that all would be! My dream at last would come true, no frightening, unnecessary noises would reach my ears or cause me to worry. Everything would fall into place, I no longer would have the problems, the worries, the anxieties, or the sounds of hardened life get thrown at me. Finally I would be free from it all, free to fly away in peace and quiet, no sounds but of the hushed music of nature to hear. Oh how I wish to fly soundless.

Short Story
27

About the Creator

Madison B.

I love to write stories! I ❤ music (TOP, GD, MCR, SD, SWS, BVB, PTV, MIW, P!ATD, FAB, GS, B-182, FIR, ATL, MP, AY), the MCU, & animals. I hope u enjoy my stories and poems as much as I do! Have a great day! :)

Mystery

Thriller

Poems

Fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.