Fiction logo

A Frozen Run for Freedom!

Woman Leaves Degrading Family; Coming To The Realization That Change Is Hard And Cold; But Necessary, Normal and Completely Okay; ...Mother Nature Does It All The Time, She Said to Herself.

By Brittany BrinPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
A Frozen Run for Freedom!
Photo by Adrian Infernus on Unsplash

I put my snow shoes on, and I ran. Far away from home; to never see my family again.

Dad screamed at the family dinner. He said I had what my grandma had.

"You're happy, and then you're sad! You have bi-polar disorder".

I packed my bag with water, 2 apples, and a book by Harriet Tubman.

It was -10 degrees out and there was a blizzard, so my tears were frozen.

The shoes I wore crunched the snow behind me, leaving my marks that I would leave behind forever, too.

I came to an isolated park where it was after hours; I knew I'd have time to myself here for awhile.

"Why is life so sad?" I asked Mother Earth.

I wrapped myself with my scarf and tucked myself under a rock and built myself a fire for warmth; soon falling asleep with Mother Earth as quiet as I was now; she let out her frozen tears, and so did I.

I knew this wasn't the end, but rather it was the beginning, of me living for myself, and my freedom, which most people were actually afraid of; freedom...

"It's not you. Society is afraid of emotions and freedom, darling. That's the problem." I remembered my grandmother saying to me when I was younger.

Having that one person believe in me was enough for me to believe that I was okay, and Mother Nature loved me so much tonight, I believed myself even more.

Change is okay. I whispered.

Short StoryMicrofiction

About the Creator

Brittany Brin

An extreme creative writing enthusiast who loves to write spooky supernatural stories.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Loved it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Toby Heward5 months ago

    Very well done

Brittany BrinWritten by Brittany Brin

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.