Fiction logo

A Dream Is a Wish Your Heart Makes

Blow Out the Candles and Make a Wish

By Jazmine AmbrosiaPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
Like
A Dream Is a Wish Your Heart Makes
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Eyes slowly opening I awaken to the god-awful sound of my six o'clock alarm. Morning already what a wonderful dream. The sun peeks through my blinds radiating brightness, its warmth tickling my skin in an effort to remind me it is indeed morning. Another dawn, another year around the Sun, another Monday and the start of another exhilarating work week. Feeling dreadfully parched unsure how I'll manage to nurse this hangover and survive another day at the office. My thoughts shift to last night's festivities but are suddenly interrupted by a voice.

"Happy belated birthday dear." A soft voice whispers in both my ears simultaneously. Frightened I attempt to sit up to no avail, my body lies still glued to my mattress unresponsive to my urge to move. "Who's there?" I try to say though my lips remain motionless, my tongue lay flat and dry no sound escapes. Perturbation and terror immediately consume me. Oh god what happened last night I don't remember going to bed I don't remember taking anything what's happening? A single salty teardrop escapes my eye as I realize I'm unable to scan the room in search of the source of the voice.

"No need for an alarm today my dear or ever again for that matter." The tears flow heavily now, I spiral into full a blown panic attack as I lay completely and utterly helpless, powerless and unable to defend myself in the slightest. My senses on fire, fight or flight activated only in my mind for I can do neither. Paralyzed and petrified various worst-case scenarios run through my mind. Surly this won't end well for me, am I going to... I don't want to die! Someone, anyone please help! "Quite the opposite my dear." the voice says in a silky whisper. "This isn't some horrific nightmare but a dream, a dream come true your dream to be exact. Don't you remember, your wish?"

My wish, my birthday wish I didn't wish for this! I wished for all my dreams to come true I don't understand. "Exactly my dear and come true they shall for your dreams will be all you know. Your only true reality." WHAT? This can't be happening I must be dreaming right now. My tears come to a halt as a wave of calmness and rationality course through me. Yes of course, that is after all the only logical explanation. Any second now I'll wake up. "Correct my dear this is in fact a dream. But alas you won't wake from this one as I said your wish has been granted. The dream world is your new reality. Your new home."

That, that's impossible! Birthday wishes don't come true. "Not often, only one in a million are granted you're a lucky girl my dear." Lucky I'm a practically a vegetable. It's not real Anais, I shout in my own head. You're hallucinating you'll come to. "You'll see." the last thing the voice says before disappearing. Is this truly how I am meant to spend the rest of my days? Imprisoned in my own body, in my own mind. How long before I go insane? How long before my body starts to decompose? Will I even feel my flesh rotting away? How long before anyone finds me? I stare at the clock mounted on my wall 6:01. Tears formulating in my eyes again. My eyelids become heavy I shut them hoping they won't remain shut permanently and drift off into another dream. Hopefully it will be a more pleasant experience. I tell myself it isn't real but only time will tell.

HorrorShort StoryPsychological
Like

About the Creator

Jazmine Ambrosia

An aspiring author allowing her

🌈imagination🌈to run amok 📖✨

Instagram Jazzybooo_o

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.