Fiction logo

A Day in the Life

Part 6 of Seven

By Terri AllenPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

“Now I know you want to take me alive but I want to know why” I turn slowly to look at each individual person before I face the one I assume is in charge. He is wearing a badge on his uniform unlike the others and his face seems to be more cruel. When he doesn’t open his mouth to speak I push down on the trigger slightly and that seems to startle the group. Even the leader falters a little. “Someone better speak up.”

“Matthew wants you.” His voice didn’t match the face as it sounded much sweeter than the rough, scarred face would suggest.

“Well obviously but why does he want me?” The circle of men exchange looks of confusion. “Look I don’t have time for this, just tell me what he wants or I’ll figure it out myself.”

“Why don’t you come with me and you can ask him in person?” His mouth curls into a grin and he takes a step forward with his hand outstretched.

I start laughing which makes the leader stop smiling and drop his hand to his side.

“What’s so funny?” He shouts in a rage.

“Nothing. Just that you think I’m coming with you.” I pull the trigger and my world goes black. The last thing I remember before I see the neon green clock showing the time as 5:58PM was a man screaming.

I wake up once again in my bed but I sit up immediately, ignoring the new, sharp pain in my head. I get changed and I leave the flat in under five minutes. I start the engine of my car and I make a beeline for Matthew’s house. If I can get to him before he sends people after me maybe I can solve this before it even starts.

He lives a good solid fifteen minute drive to me but I make it in around seven due to the fact I’m speeding down the motorway. I pull my car around in the cul de sac so that I can make an easier escape if I get into trouble and I get out of my car.

I close the door and without locking it I run up the driveway and burst through the front door. I already know he’s not here but it looks like he hasn’t cleaned it since the last time I was in this house three years ago. He never was one for cleaning up his own mess, which is why I’m particularly shocked that he’s coming after me.

I hear the front door move so I run from the bedroom to the kitchen and grab a knife from the drawer.

His next door neighbours saw my car and came in to see what was going on. The husband doesn’t immediately see the knife in my hand before he speaks.

“It’s been so long since we last saw you, are you and Matthew back together?” His wife sees the knife now and grabs her husband's arm.

“Why do you have a knife?” I must look insane, holding a knife covered in bruises and cuts. Haven’t brushed my hair and my eyes must be wide in fear.

“Where is Matthew?”

“Honey, are you okay?” The wife puts a hand out towards me.

“What’s going on with you and Matthew?” The husband tries to block his wife from sight.

“He’s trying to kill me.” They both look at each other in shock before turning their gaze back to me. “I’m just going to get to him first. WHERE IS HE?!” They both take a step backwards at my shout.

“We should phone the police…” I run forward and grab the husband by the collar of his shirt.

“No. You should be telling me where he is before I put this knife through your neck.” My voice is a deadly calm as I look him directly in his eyes, his wife has started to scream and cry now but I’m only focused on the shaking man in front of me.

“He’s in Glasgow somewhere, he was meant to be going to a show with his dad.”

“Don’t tell them I was here or I’ll come back.” I release my hold on the husband’s shirt and barge out of the house. I run down the driveway and get into my car. I head down the road in the direction of the motorway heading towards Glasgow.

There seems to be no form of traffic whatsoever as I am driving into Glasgow which seems unlike any other experience I have had making the journey before. The usual 35 minute drive only takes me about 15 minutes with my foot basically to the floor at any point.

I pull over into a space at Blythswood Square and pull my phone out of my pocket. Quickly, I log onto my facebook page and type in the name of Matthew's father. I click on his profile and the first post that is on his page says that they are going to see a band perform at the Garage at two o’clock.

I look at the clock on the top of my phone and it reads that the time is 12:49PM.

I sit in my car and wait till around 1:55PM before I get ready to leave the car. I put the knife in my jacket pocket where it was fully concealed. I grab my car keys from the ignition and leave the car, locking it as I start running down to Sauchiehall street.

I ignore all the looks I get from people as I run past and it takes me five minutes at full pelt to get down the hill onto the street.

As I peek around the corner I can see the line outside of the garage and they are slowly filing people into the venue. Then I see him as he and his father show their tickets before walking past the guards into the building.

I walk over in the direction of the Garage with a new surge of rage in my chest.

Mystery
2

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.