Fiction logo

A Day in the Life

Part 3 of seven

By Terri AllenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

Once again I wake up in agony, I fly up and I look at my phone to see the date is the exact same as the last two times. I run out of the room ignoring the burning pain in my chest and I lock the front door of my flat.

I only have an hour until they are coming. I know the drill now. I need to fight.

I start by changing out of my pajamas, if they are going to take me I want to be wearing something more dignifying then a vest top and tiny shorts. I opt for a pair of comfortable workout leggings, running trainers and a cropped purple jumper. Then I make my way to the kitchen.

Once again I walk in and the dishes aren’t clean or put away but that’s fine they don’t need to be clean for what I am planning. I grab as many of the glasses as I can carry in my arms and walk to my front door. My hand hoovers over the door handle and I check through the peephole before opening the door.

There is no one there so I open the door and step out into the lift lobby area. I walk down the hallway to the lift entrance and I leave a trail of shattered glass all the way from the lift to my front door. There will be no way they could avoid the shattered glass so I will hear them coming.

Then I walk back to the kitchen and open up the drawer nearest the sink. I pull out two knives, the largest one I can find and a smaller serrated one. I carefully put the smaller knife under my bra strap beneath my arm so that it won’t stick me if I get lifted up and shoved in a van. The bigger one I just keep in my hand, ready to use.

It’s almost time, I’m sitting at the front door now waiting to hear the shattered glass crunch under their feet. I’m sipping on an incredibly strong coffee to try and spur me some energy to fight these strange men.

Like clockwork they come and the first sign of them is the sound of glass under foot. I check my phone clock and it is 1:02PM when they step out of the elevator. By 1:03PM Samson has knocked on the door. I am now standing looking through the peephole. I wonder if I don’t answer if they will kick the door down.

I stand there looking for a whole minute before Samson speaks.

“She should be here.” Someone else steps into sight and pushes Samson away before taking a step back as if to kick the door down. Quickly, I move to the side and with one powerful kick the door collapses inwards. No one enters immediately so I stand there quietly and wait. The second I see someone step over that doorway the knife in my hand will be going directly into their flesh.

They whisper quietly to each other so that I cannot hear what they are saying and then I hear glass crackle as someone takes a step forwards. I see the tip of a steel toe capped boot and I fly around the corner and dig my knife into the first body it reaches.

Samson looks at me with shock in his eyes as he chokes on the knife which is lodged in his throat. I freeze momentarily before I pull the knife out.

He tried to give you away to kidnappers, you can’t feel bad he tried to get you killed.

A hand grabs me and I swing the knife around to cut at the skin but before I can do more damage than a scratch my arms are pinned by the other man.

“The glass was a dead give away that you expected guests Princess. You’ll do better next time.” The hazel eyed man laughs as my eyes meet his.

“Yes I am sure I will.” I fight my arm free and pull the knife up and I plunge it through the arm that’s holding me. He yanks his arm away with a scream and takes the knife with it. In the confusion I lift my leg up and kick the other guy in between the legs which causes him to fold onto the ground.

I make a run for it and reach the lift but before the doors shut a huge bloody arm gets through the gap and causes it to open back up again. My heart races as I try to free the other knife from my bra strap before the door is open.

“What are you going to do with that little girl?” He laughs as he starts to squeeze through the door.

“Fighting doesn’t work, I know that now.” I raise the knife up to my throat and slice it from ear to ear.

“NO STOP!” My legs give away and my world goes dark before I hit the floor. The neon green clock reads 1:13PM before I wake up again with a sore throat.

Mystery
3

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.