Fiction logo

A Beginner's Guide to Fairy Gardens

A whimsical children's tale

By Dani BananiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
A Beginner's Guide to Fairy Gardens
Photo by Molly Triplett on Unsplash

Have you ever sat and wondered where a fairy garden would be?

Have you ever gazed into the woods or imagined them in trees?

Have you wondered what it is that gives the fairies magic powers?

Have you thought about the beauty and the magic made from flowers?

*

Maya did! She told her Mom, "I want to be like them!

I want the wings and magic dust and flying 'cross the land!"

She ran in circles, arms outstretched as she imagined fairy wings.

She knew she'd see such wondrous things, just floating through the breeze.

She'd be a tiny, little thing seeing life be way too large!

Maya's fairy form would be no bigger than a tart!

The more she thought, the more her heart did jump a little skip.

She needed to explore for fun, she had to have this trip.

"I have to find my wings, please Mom. It's the most important quest!

I'll find a garden oh so nice and be my FAIRY best!"

*

"Before you go," dear Momma said, "I have advice to give.

It's nice to want to change yourself and change the way you live.

But don't forget who Maya is, her heart contains a treasure.

A magic's waiting to be born, and its power's without measure."

"Now as for gardens," Momma said, "locations can be tricky.

But one thing that I know for sure,

they like their gardens pretty.

With flowers, fountains, birds, and songs,

you'll find where fairies dance.

Approach with caution, little one, don't scare them off to France!"

*

A tickle on her little nose from Momma made her laugh.

Maya hugged her Momma tight and shouted, "I'll be back!"

She skipped with glee through Momma's flowers, searching for a sign

when she heard a special song that sounded like a lullaby.

Maya used the melodies to paint her perfect path

until she reached the little spot where Momma kept her bird bath.

The singing stopped and Maya touched the cool and clear bird water

and magically, WOW, just like that! She had wings that looked like flowers!

*

Her body shrunk down fairy sized and she was greeted with wee cheers.

The fairies near the bird bath shouted, "We're so glad you're here!"

They all held hands and sang their welcomes, making Maya's face turn pink.

"Let's explore, my fairy friends, and show me everything!"

*

Maya squealed with such delight as the fairy crew did fly.

They took her to their village where they shared their magic life.

"You see these houses? They were made because you always keep things clean.

We need clean Earth and water so we can have these things.

You see our fairy doctor there? She can work because of you.

Because you don't put mean or bad, you only put out good.

Our magic, Maya, comes from dirt and grass and trees and sky.

Without it, our wings would fall apart and we couldn't even fly!

We're powerful and at our best when love is felt in life.

So thanks for all your magic, Maya, you're our reason why."

*

The Fairy Queen flew up to Maya, smiling so brightly.

She held onto Maya's hand and gazed at her so kindly.

"We thank you, Maya, you have been so good to all the fairies.

As long as you keep feeling love, we'll all stay bright and merry."

She kissed sweet Maya on the cheek before she flew away.

Maya started getting tired; this sure had been a day.

With lessons learned of fairy life nestled deep inside,

Maya said, "I gotta go, I'm planning a surprise!"

*

The fairies hugged and sang and laughed and bid their friend goodbye.

Maya rushed to find her Mom, who was baking cherry pie.

"Momma, Momma, I have magic! The fairies said I do!

I have to do some magic, Mom, so I'll be in my room!"

With that, she dashed right up the stairs and closed her door so softly.

She grabbed a brown, old paper box and thought, "This could be lovely."

She glittered, colored, painted, drew, and wrote right on the top:

Where to Store My Magic for the Fairies - Maya's Box!

*

Now she had a place to put her happy, loving wishes.

She'd leave them treats and gifts and notes, with little magic kisses.

If all her friends would ever need is love and care for nature,

Maya knew that they'd be safe for now, and then forever.

Fantasy
4

About the Creator

Dani Banani

I write through the passion I have for how much the world around me inspires me, and I create so the world inside me can be manifested.

Mom of 4, Birth Mom of 1, LGBTQIA+, I <3 Love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.