Fiction logo

A Beautiful Thing

Always hold on to your dreams.

By Mark GagnonPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
8
A Beautiful Thing
Photo by Spencer Davis on Unsplash

It has it all! The design incorporates sleek aerodynamic lines. The smoothly crafted body includes functional air scoops that feed a ravenous ram-induction power-plant. Fit and finish are flawless down to the micro millimeter. The interior, constructed of soft Corinthian Leather and brushed chrome, radiates luxury. However, there is no doubt in the observer’s mind that functionality has value over all else. Completing the package is a seven-speed, paddle-shift transmission, wide road hugging run-flat tires, and adaptive suspension.

People stare in disbelief that a parked car can project the illusion of rocketing along at 120 mph. When the beast rests at idle, the people nearby feel a ground tremor similar to standing atop a subway tunnel as a train passes underneath. A rumble, not unlike distant rolling thunder, vibrates the air as I casually depress the accelerator. A gentil press on the peddle unleashes only a limited portion of the 700 horses that live under the hood.

Whether driving to work or navigating a track at maximum speed, this car never disappoints me. Next week, I’ll be taking part in the Watkins Glen Pro-Am and I know I’ll return home victorious. Nothing can beat us when we meld with each other, man and machine functioning as one.

Once again, the sun breaches the horizon and my alarm rousts me from my slumber. I shave, eat breakfast, say goodbye to my wife and kids and walk to my ride, a 2010 Toyota Prius. No, it’s not the car of my dreams, but it gets me to work and back, picks up the kids when a dad cab is required, and it doesn’t cost a lot for gas or repairs. My wife is talking about trading it for a minivan or SUV. I loathe the suggestion, but it makes sense since we will have another family member soon.

Fantasies are a beautiful thing, even if I’ll never own the car of my dreams.

Microfiction
8

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    I love this! I'm less or a speedy roadster person and more of an off roading, trail blazer! I got lucky because a jeep is still pretty handy with kids/ can fit care seats! Love the concept of this though!

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Hi Mark - You & me Both, "Dream Car." Just the deep throaty-subtle roar puts the charm of the 'lectric cars into a different category - love those Aston Martins - especially in my favorite blue. But, Mark, on the down-side here in HollyWeird, probably unlike in Canada, you can't 'Flash' anything anymore; especially cars and jewelry. Thieves run rampant on you if you are even wearing a Timex or driving a Datsun; such a shame. Need to ask a favor: I'm feeling that I oversold within my 'This is DUDE' story, that I promoted too much rather than just tell a story as I usually do. I'm too close to the forest to see the trees, and since we always seem to relate to one another. Please tell me what you think of how I put it out - don't want to think I'm actually selling something but only an idea - you know where I'm going with this, Mark. If so, I'll OU-1 Thanks, Jay

  • Test8 months ago

    Loved the twist! Very persuasive- I have zero knowledge or interest in cars but you sold me! I almost wanted to learn to drive! 🤍

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Oh you got me sir….you really had me thinking of all the muscle cars I owned , wanted , or looked from afar….but your car. Lol

  • I love daydreaming and fantasising! I don't know how I'd survive the reality of the world without doing that, lol! Loved your story!

  • Test8 months ago

    Lovely and clever, Mark. There is nobility in being a family man 💙Anneliese

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.