Fiction logo

A bad day

reset your password

By Crystal R WhitchurchPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
A bad day
Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

The day started with the alarm not going off. I was running late for work and everything was just not going well. First, there was no hot water for the shower. Next, the milk went sour, and then my keys seemed to have grown legs, and walked off.

At this point, I wanted to scream and crawl back into bed, but I had an important report to turn in today. I could not miss doing this or I might lose the promotion I was hoping to get. After finding my keys and stepping outside I was greeted with rain. This was not my day.

When I got in my car I took a deep breath and turned the key. No sound but rain on the windshield could be heard. I tried again and was still silent. At this point I wanted to cry, what did I do to deceive this much bad luck? Did I harm an animal? Did I hurt a child? What did I do?

My phone had no service. I was soaked to the bone. Finally, the bus showed up at the stop. After paying the fee, I took a deep breath again hoping my day would get better. I should have just called in and returned to bed. The bus took me the wrong way.

I now was an hour late. After getting off and catching the right bus, I feared that something else would happen and indeed it did. About 15 minutes away the bus have a loud bang and shook.

The tire was flat and no spare in sight. Where we stopped was a small cafe. I went in and ordered a coffee hoping it would help my headache. After taking small sips not paying attention well checking my phone for service I was bumped into.

Coffee ran down my shirt. I stood there with tears slowly falling. What did I do? So off to the bathroom, I headed to clean up my ruined shirt. There were no paper towels and the room wasn't clean. An afoul smell fragrant the air. The mirror was cracked and the faucet only flowed brown water. I left the room as fast as I could.

My phone had a signal finally, so I called my boss, only to get an answering machine. I left a message to explain my troubles hoping to buy some time. After I called for a cab but was told I had to wait. So wait I did and waited and waited until an hour and a half later.

The cab ride was unpleasant. The smell of vomit from late-night parties was in the air. The seats were ripped and stained. Even the window was gross. The driver smoked a cigar with the window up and laughed loudly at the new cast on the radio. Finally, he said, "here you are." I gladly paid my fee and got out only to step into a large puddle.

The driver sped off splashing me with cold dirty water. Only after he left did I realize I had to walk 10 blocks. Taking a deep breath I set out with my heels clicking. In my head, I was repeating I am almost there. I am almost there. I tripped and fall.

My knees were bleeding and the heel on my left foot broke. What did I do to deserve this? After getting up I limped to the door. Entering the room to find no one there was strange but I kept walking to my office. After turning on my computer I waited for my emails to come up.

Only for a message to flash across my screen.

Reset Your Password

Seeing those words stopped me in my tracks. I looked at the bottom of the screen and read the date. Today was the day that the office was closed. Today was cleaning day. Today the system reset all passwords. Today was a very bad day.

Short Story

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CRWWritten by Crystal R Whitchurch

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.