Fiction logo

899

A microfiction series: Part 7

By Real PoeticPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 2 min read
12
899
Photo by Jaroslav Devia on Unsplash

Part 6

It’s 9:00am on the day after Casey and Nia kidnapped Darlene. Jasmine’s uncle, Olek, enters the Helpful Hands Crisis Center with a hunger for vengeance. Unaware of Preston’s passing, he demands to speak to him or else.

Meanwhile, Casey is en route to the office to confront the director. Mary is still at home and depressed. Nia is hiding inside of the janitor’s closet at work, because she just heard shots as she was leaving the restroom. She takes out her phone and sends what she believes could be her last words.

Nia: Someone is losing it at the office! Call for help please! I’m too scared to make any noise.

Mary: Omg! I’m calling right now! Where are you?!

Nia: Janitor closet by the bathroom.

Mary: Hang tight! I’m on the phone with an operator now!

Nia: I love you.

Mary: You’re gonna be ok! Stay calm. Officers are being dispatched.

Nia: Am I gonna die?

Mary: Don’t say that! What’s happening?!

Nia’s phone dies, and she would have to cross paths with danger to retrieve the charger.

Mary falls on the floor and cries in fear, because she hasn’t received a response.

Casey arrives to the office and notices the threat standing in the doorway, so he draws his firearm and shuts his car door quietly. He moves militantly into the building through a second level window and heads downstairs towards the lobby.

The three security guards being held hostage are all reacting differently to the situation. One is talking to himself. Another is trying to convince Olek that it’s impossible to speak with Preston, and the third guard is completely silent with tears delicately falling from her eyes. It’s only her first day at work.

Olek screams, “Will you shut up already?” to the guard that won’t stop mumbling.

Casey is patiently waiting on the other side of the wall for an opportunity to help the hostages. Olek loses focus for a second as he tries to calm himself down, so Casey jumps out and eliminates the target; the attacker doesn’t die, but he’s disarmed.

Olek is lying on the ground in pain and trying to put pressure on his wound. Casey runs over to him and steps on his injured shoulder and says, “You’re a coward that preys on innocent people.”

Olek is in horrible shape, but he doesn’t plead for Casey to stop torturing him. He laughs uncontrollably and says, “I don’t care what you call me. Preston took my only family. Jasmine is gone, so do whatever you want. I’m already dead.”

MysteryMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
12

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    I guess I could never work at a crisis center. Not based on your story but realizing how intense it would be trying to talk people off the ledge and how it will make you feel if someone takes their life after you tried to counsel/console them. Tough job indeed and great episode!

  • Okay so this Olek is also connected. Gosh, what an intricately woven web! Waiting for the next chapter!

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Phenomenal storytelling! I'm loving this book series!

  • Casey, Jasmine & Preston, all connected. Can't wait for the next installment, R.P.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)2 months ago

    And the tension only continues to build!!!! Great twist here RP, I can't wait for part 8!!

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    Yay! I've been (im)patiently waiting for the next installment. Now we've got Okek in the mix! I'm going to have to up my blood pressure meds. You're killin' me RP. [Forgive me if I'm being "that guy", but one small note...the phrase is "en route", rather than "in route". It was adopted into English from French. The pronunciation is actually more similar to the English "on route" than the English "in route". I know. No one appointed me grammar police. Sorry. lol]

  • Steel2 months ago

    Are you kidding me!! Outstanding, Excellent, Sensational !!. Like NBA JAM, It’s heating up.

  • Intense and the conversation is excellent

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.