Fiction logo

88 Lunch Date at the Bloodbath & Beyond Bistro

For Thursday, March 28: Day 88/366 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
4
Their usual table at the ol' Bloodbath & Beyond Bistro.

They met as always, for lunch, at the Bloodbath & Beyond Bistro. It was their weekly ritual, and serial killers like them were all about rituals. They would meet n' eat and compare notes of their nefarious deeds of the week.

"Only two this week," Henry complained.

"Well, you beat me out. I didn't kill anyone this week," replied Chester.

"Wow," Henry said.

Chester didn't ordinarily make Henry nervous, but the fact that he hadn't had a single murder, in his now-famous series of murders, like Henry's own famous series of them, made him reconsider meeting him here today.

"So, how ya feeling about it?" Henry asked Chester. He eyed the utensils nervously.

"I'm hungry," Chester blurted impatiently. "Let's just eat, OK?"

"Sure, sure," Henry said. "I do like their Caesar's. You're gonna get your usual?"

He eyed Chester nervously. Being close to a serial killer who was Jonesing wasn't smart, despite their weekly ritual over the years without incident. He knew Chester wasn't averse to killing someone right in a public place if desperate enough.

Even his ol' buddy. Yet, a public place was relatively safe, because although he'd do it, he'd think about it. Henry knew Chester was hungry.

"Let's get you fed, ol' chum."

"Yea," Chester agreed. "Very! I suppose I could get my usual steak, 'black and blue'--you know me!"

"Oh, I know you all too well," Henry chuckled.

The waitress took their orders. She was new. The Bloodbath & Beyond seemed to have a new waitress every week and, as usual, Henry flirted with her and got her number.

The orders took too long. Serial killers don't need reasons, but being hungry doesn't help. They both eyed the cutlery.

Neither had scruples, morals, or a conscience. Both also being opportunistic bastards, as their ilk were want to be, when the place emptied out but for them, they eyed each other.

"You're gonna eat that?" Chester asked Henry.

"Eat what? Nothing here at the table but us," Henry answered.

And while it was true that both were cold-blooded killers, Henry knew in what way he differed from Chester. Henry was just a murdering bastard, but Chester was a cannibal, too. And hangry.

"Looks like leftovers for supper!"

SeriesMicrofictionHorror
4

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned Catholic church in Hull, MA. Phase I: was New Orleans (and everything that entails).

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Hehehehehheheehe I kinda knew where this was going. I mean I thought it was gonna be a cannibal restaurant and I was wrong about that. But Chester being a cannibal made my prediction come true a little hehehehe. Loved your story!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    😲😲😲😲 oh you fooled us all!

  • A. J. Schoenfeldabout a month ago

    And I thought my restaurant had difficult customers. Great opening, it sucked me right in.

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    I hope he tipped her well. Interesting story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.