Fiction logo

87 Some Things Just Don't Add Up

For Wednesday, March 27: Day 87/366 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished about a month ago 2 min read
6
Half the Man: room to grow.

In 1951, I was born. By 1954, I was 1/13th as old as my father.

In 1964, I was 13 years old, 1/4 as old as him. Fractionally, I got a big jump on him. If you were to graph out my progress, you would see that ten years later, in 1974, I would be 1/3 as old as my father.

I = 1/Fa x N (= N/Fa): Every father and child lives and dies by this formula:

I is me; Fa is my father's age; and N is my age.

So I knew I'd be 1/2 as old as he was by 1994. And so on...

Waxing philosophical over the qualitative instead of the quantitative, in 1994 I'd be 1/2 what he was. But could I ever be even half the man my father was?

In 1999, he died, when I reached an age 3/5 of what he was.

Did this mean I only had 2/5ths left? With 3/5 down already, what would I do with the remaining 2/5? When I finally lay dying, would I pray for another 1/5? Another 1/50? Even another hundredth? Doesn't the quantitative pale in comparison to the qualitative?

That is, isn't it not how long, but how?

My father and I had ridden an asymptote. The math said that one day I should be as old as my father, dead or not. That is, for all practical purposes; within "laboratory error."

While I could never have been born in the same year as he was, I knew that one day the differences in our ages would be statistically insignificant--negligible. Consider being 999/1000 of something.

What about living longer than he did? I'd finally be older than he when he had died. I would cross that divisor threshold of life, from denominator to numerator. Quite the rite of passage!

In 1951, the year of my birth,I was nothing, so the math came out that I was 1/0'th as old as my father. Isn't this impossible, because you can't divide by zero? But like birth, death just doesn't add up, does it? It didn't when he died. Will it will I die?

To somebody? A lover, I hope, who flunked math.

1/Fa x N = N/Fa = me

______________

AUTHOR'S NOTES:

Word count (excluding notes): 366

Submitted for Wednesday, March 27, 2024

2024: A Story-a-Day for the whole year. This one is #87.

All pictures are AI-generated, but the imaginary numbers are not!

SeriesMicrofiction
6

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned Catholic church in Hull, MA. Phase I: was New Orleans (and everything that entails).

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Your brain astounds me, Gerald. My own is feeling quite scrambled!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Whoaaaa, all those fractions, lol. I enjoyed this although it made my head spin a little hahahaha

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Haha! I love that birth year (😉😉😉)! asymptote, a new word, thanks. This is very clever, I loved it. Unique.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Impressive!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • I am a fan of numbers and this is a great, fun and informative story, excellent work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.