Fiction logo

#177 — The Birds and the Bees and the Wasps: a Fable

For Tuesday, June 25, Day 177 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 8 days ago 2 min read
Guy talk.

A male bee and a male wasp were discussing love.

"I penetrate the one I love over and over until I see the next person I want," boasted the wasp.

"That's terrible!" fretted the bee.

"Shouldn't love sting? It's what stingers are for. My stinger is smooth--easy in, easy out. I can plunge it a dozen times, quick. Oh, my lover knows I've been there. What about you?" he asked the bee.

"I'm no smooth operator," the male bee answered. "When I attach to the one I love, I stay."

"Why would you do that?"

"Because I want to," the bee explained. "The one I penetrate is the one I choose--forever."

"That's no way to use a stinger," the wasp sneered. "In-and-out and out-and-in, I say. Why so monogamous? What would happen if you went looking for someone else?"

"I'd die," the male bee said. "It's eviscerating. Once in love, disengagement is amputation. Love, like my stinger, is a barbed thing--easy in, but..."

"Must be the honey," the male wasp blurted.

A female bee and wasp landed on their branch.

"Only female wasps sting," the female wasp corrected them.

"Same with bees," added the female bee.

"Aha!" said the male wasp.

"What?" asked the female wasp.

"If we don't sting, then what's this thing hanging down?"

"You men," chided the female wasp. "Always flapping around your genitalia."

"Not me," said the male bee. "I'm for life. I was just explaining..."

"You, too," corrected the female bee. "You can't--and don't--sting. But I like your attitude."

"If you lived and died by your penis," the female wasp preached, "you'd be careful where you stick it. Neither of you sting," she repeated sternly. "You should get that into your stubborn heads--the larger ones, that is."

The female bee hooted. "And it's not because of all the honey. So don't 'Honey' me. C'mon home before I sting you."

And the bees and wasps left their branch, the bees as different from wasps as men are from women. And this is how it came to be that everyone flies their separate way--both in love and in life--whether they know the truth about love or not. Whether the truth stings or not.

________________

AUTHOR'S NOTE:

Louisiana, the place I grew up and lived for a long time, just made it a law that the 10 Commandments must be displayed in every classroom. 47th in academic achievement, and this is what the state worries about.

__________

AUTHOR'S NOTE:

For Tuesday, June 25, Day 177 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

366 WORDS (without A/N)

Title-accompaniment photo was AI-generated but the stinging truths were not!

---

There are currently three surviving Vocal writers still participating in the 2024 Story-a-Day Challenge:

• L.C. Schäfer, challenge originator

• Rachel Deeming

• Gerard DiLeo (some other guy)

Read them. Support them. Pray for them. And watch out for bees!

SeriesMicrofictionFable

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 days ago

    "You should get that into your stubborn heads--the larger ones, that is." HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • L.C. Schäfer8 days ago

    This one had me chortling!

  • Rachel Deeming8 days ago

    Fantastic fable. So funny and a great use of dialogue. And that post script about Louisiana? Mmmm....

  • John Cox8 days ago

    Incredible depth at the end instead of a twist. I agree with Dr Benskin, this should be a Top Story!

  • This was really good! It makes sense.. also in similarities with human and life in general hmm

  • I love this one. Really good and entertaining. My vote For TS on this one for sure.

  • Dana Crandell8 days ago

    So that's how it happened! The image reminded me of the last time I was stung by a wasp. It felt like a cigarette had been put out on my arm.

  • shanmuga priya8 days ago

    It's a charming fable , buzzing with the sweetness of honey 🍯....I liked reading your fable....

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.