Fiction logo

131 You and Me

For SciFriday, May 10: Day 131 of the 2024 Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 20 days ago Updated 20 days ago 2 min read
6
Child Is Father to the Man

"I was another person before I was born," Hunter said--casually, matter-of-factly, as he stacked the Lego blocks. I blew it off and we finished the Lego truck. "Why do we have to build?" he asked.

"We don't," I answered. "But it's how we live. We keep making things better and bigger."

"Oh," he replied, as five-year-olds typically accept the first answer that's delivered in a serious tone of good faith.

I went to the kitchen to help my wife, Linda, with the dishes. Just as casually, she said, "Hunter said he was you in a previous life."

"Me? He told me just somebody. Me?"

"I know," she said. "Weird."

"He's five, Linda. File it away with the dinosaurs he's obsessed with."

"I suppose," she said, "but still, strange. How he knows things."

"Like what?"

"Like how you used to sell Cutco knives in college, before you met me."

"That is strange. Anything else?"

"Plenty. How your mother was killed by a drunk driver; how a drug problem got you fired from your first job. Things like that."

"Wow. He probably just heard us talking."

"I don't think so. He didn't hear about how I had to prop up my pelvis after sex because that's what the doctor said."

"Now you're scaring me."

"Don't most parents have stories like this?" she asked.

"No. Not like that, Linda."

Hunter was watching TV in the other room. I called him into the kitchen for dessert, and Linda handed him an ice cream sandwich.

"Hunter," I said. "You were me in another life?"

"Yea," he said.

"Before?"

"Before I was born--but now, too."

"You must mean someone from a long time ago," Linda clarified. "In the olden days."

"Nope," he said, "Daddy, from before and right now."

"I don't get it, Hunt. How? I'm here now, but you say you lived a previous life?"

"Yes, Daddy; I was you."

"Right, you were me. How long were you me?"

"Till you died," he answered.

"I died?" I asked.

"Not yet, Daddy. Not till right before next summer."

Linda and I went white.

"But don't worry, Daddy," he reassured. "You'll just be me. Built bigger and better? It's how we live, right?"

Bigger, better. Legos and otherwise.

__________

For SciFriday, May 10, Day 131 of the Story-a-Day Challenge.

366 WORDS (without A/N)

All pictures are AI-generated, but the homunculi are not!

Like Father, Like Son

---

There are currently three Vocal creators still participating in the 2024 Story-a-Day Challenge:

• L.C. Schäfer, challenge originator

• Rachel Deeming

• Gerard DiLeo (some other guy)

PLEASE SUPPORT THEM BY READING THEIR DAILY SUBMISSIONS

SeriesSci FiMicrofictionHorror
6

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran19 days ago

    Kids say the most terrifying thiings at times, lol. Loved your story. But I have heard of a lot of incidents like this

  • John Cox19 days ago

    Wow, Gerald, just wow! And what LC said.

  • L.C. Schäfer19 days ago

    This got my heebies jeebying if I am honest! In the best way!😁

  • D. J. Reddall20 days ago

    A splendid mind bender!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.