Fiction logo

13 Letters PART 2

Short Story

By Delaney CarlsonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
13 Letters PART 2
Photo by Lukasz Szmigiel on Unsplash

I glanced around, I couldn’t see anyone but I heard a growl. That would be Alexander, or Dave. They growl a lot. I started climbing over the fence. They leaped over the fence just as I did, their mouths and faces smothered with dirt, they had been stealing and digging again. I had no way of knowing what they stole. I landed in the garden, it was quite beautiful, despite the holes and piles of dirt my brothers had made. I glanced into the tranquil garden, but then jumped back over the fence and chased after the little thieves.

Only about 20 minutes later I had the boys set in front of the tv watching the program that was supposed to calm them for their bedtime. Clarisse would be back in a few minutes. I had the things they had stolen, and I walked shamefully back to Mrs. Cardishon’s yard. I jumped over the fence and started fixing the mess. It seemed she hadn’t seen the holes and piles. Likely because there was a huge bush in front, obscuring the view from her back door. I grabbed a stolen trowel and started filling in the holes with the out-of-place dirt.

“Hello?” A yell came from the back door. Those little devils get me into far too much trouble!!! I thought as I rushed the rest of the stuff back as quick as I could. I saw the beam of a flashlight hit my back as I vaulted over the fence. I fell hard on my arm, it hurt badly. I staggered back home, my ankle had caught on a loose fence board.

“Where were yo-” Clarisse trailed off as I crumbled into the door. “What the hell happened?!?!” She screeched, fireman-carrying me up to our shared bedroom. I stayed silent. “You don’t seem to be bashed up too bad.” Clarisse looked me over. As I sat, she talked to me about everything and anything, I noticed that it really helped, I didn’t focus on the pain. “Tell me about your day.” She asked when she finished. I signed to her what had happened and how my day had been before then. She was putting a splint on my arm and bandaging it. My injuries must be pretty bad, she was taking a while. We all took a first-aid course when I was old enough, so we could care for the boys, it’s helped out more than we thought.

‘Clarisse?’ I signed, looking up at her quizzically. She stopped telling me the story she had been telling.

“Yeah?”

‘You’re amazing, you know that?’ I let my eyes sparkle with admiration and love as I signed.

“Yeah, I guess. But you’re the best.” She then continued her story with a sheepish grin, and a tinge of guilt.

I fell asleep that night confused about the guilty look I saw. Clarisse tossed and turned longer than she normally did. I waited until she fell asleep, then I quickly shuffled through a little shoe box she kept under the foot of her bed. It contained some special things, her first tooth, blanket, toy and other milestones. Nothing new, nothing new, bingo. A college pamphlet and application form. She was leaving us in two weeks. Two weeks. She was leaving. Mom, Dad, Alexander, Dave and me. Why was she leaving me? And why hasn’t she told me? Maybe she will? Questions blurred through my brain as I shoved the box and forms back under Clarisse’s bed. I jumped back under my covers and cried.

“Morning!” Clarisse said when I walked past the kitchen the next morning. I just walked on by. I went out the back door and up the steepish hill. 0n this hill there was a little oak tree. I could climb it, but I didn’t today. I sat under it and watched the sun for what felt like hours.

Short Story

About the Creator

Delaney Carlson

I’m a cringy author uploading stories I wrote when I was like 10, so please enjoy the depressed weirdness.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DCWritten by Delaney Carlson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.