Families logo

Your S/O's friends

exposing assholes and bullies...

By Author shall remain namelessPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Your S/O's friends
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

My partner and I have a long and complicated past, made messy with alcohol use disorder on my end, being dishonest/unfaithful and other things neither of us is proud of. We have since addressed and continue to work on our defects of character as they arise. I find myself pretty damn agreeable to most people since I spent 20 years in the service industry and have had my run-ins with assholes, bullies, entitled dickheads and sexist jerks alike.

I have been sober just over 4.5 years and have grown immensely throughout that time. I have looked at myself with a long scrutinizing eye, admitted my worst wrong-doings and try my best every day I'm above ground to not be the dickhead I was when in the depths of my despair and disease. I was manipulative, conniving, judgmental, skeptical and a liar. All the shitty traits that popped out of Pandora's box way back when, were my defense mechanisms; sarcasm, being observant with malicious intent to use whatever I found to emotionally extort friends and loved ones. Quite the asshole, so I kinda know what I'm talking about when it comes to identifying another member of The Shithead Club.

And now for the dunce in question. This individual is old enough to know better and do better (mid-late 40's); no one holds him accountable. His antiquated mindsets, bullshit comments thinly veiled with racism, disrespectful behaviors towards women and lack of consideration for his own fiance are just the most frequent of offenses. In this information age there is no excuse for this type of behavior other than the fact none of us says shit to him. I restrain myself simply for I know the anger, fury and general disgust for this person will not allow me to communicate effectively, without bringing forth tears. It's sad and pathetic really, he surrounds himself with younger people in order to feel superior and exert his version of "authority" by belittling and jokingly patronizing them to their faces. "Oh, that's just so & so (name + batteries not included), it means you're ok with him" AYFKM?

I see you dickhead, and I am sick of your shit. Today's display of disrespect came in the form of a "Save the date" wedding sticker on my car bumper. Not only do I not think this marriage will work due to the groom's immaturity, but I don't know how long it's been there. My car may not be new or flashy or have the best paint job. 2001 Toyota Camry with some front end damage, but Rocky is my car, my ride, my buddy! My dear friend GAVE me that car as a birthday present and it represents MY freedom. To have that fucking sticker put on my car against my will or knowledge is like violating my personal space. you may not feel that way about your car, possessions or things but after losing everything in my life to alcoholism I have busted my ass to have what I do have, even if the car was given to me. I do not take kindly to that brand of fuckery.

So now what? My partner has been made aware of the transgression and has yet to respond. I am curious what path he takes, looking honestly at his friend's behavior towards myself, him, us as a couple? Does he stand up for what is right even though it may mean standing separate from that group? My partner and I have made enormous strides personally, professionally and as a team over the last year, I believe the best outcome will present itself.

STAY TUNED!!!!

satire
1

About the Creator

Author shall remain nameless

These words are meant to be read by anyone & everyone. I am writing for my own sanity, I am relinquishing years of guilt and shame that was uncalled for and undeserved. I am writing to free my soul.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • test2 years ago

    加油!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.