Families logo

Will this relationship blossom?

My mom and dad divorced when I was in grade school

By jackzhangPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

My mother and father divorced when I was in elementary school. They were incompatible and they fought every day since I could remember.

There must have been no love lost between them. But they stayed married for me until I was in elementary school.

I was awarded to my father, because my mother is not as good as my father, and has some health problems, for my future, my mother gave upcustody of me.

After their divorce, I lived with my father and grandmother, and my mother came to visit me every weekend. To be honest, I didn't feel sad at the time, because the divorce was less peaceful than their daily fighting.

Because of the reason from a small family, I am more independent than other children, have a worry also a person hold back, do not want to tell anyone.

By the time I was in junior high school, my father had found another wife, also divorced, and had a son awarded to him.

I fought against it, but it didn't work, and now I think about it. There was no way I was going to stay with my dad for the rest of his life.

I was so hostile to my stepmother at the time that I was unlikely to call her mom. She can't say no to me, but she can't treat me like her own.

From then on, we lived under the same roof, and my stepmother and I could only do nothing.

I don't usually see my stepmother's son. He lives with his father. The first time we met was in the summer vacation, stepmother picked him up to live in my home for more than 20 days.

I learned his name was L. He was four years older than me. My dad told me to call him brother, but I can't even think about it. I hate him like a stepmother.

L doesn't seem to like me either. He comes to my house and hogs my bed, my pen, and my toys. And he told me so legitimately not to disturb him when he was reading.

Every holiday, L comes to stay with me for a while. Stepmother gave us the same interest class, let us go to study together. But we barely talk to each other.

Once in the interest class, there was a boy to see my braid long, he chased me pull my hair, I was angry to cry. L couldn't stand it anymore, so he started fighting with the boy. That was the first time I felt that L could protect me in the critical moment.

However, I did not move the heart of compassion, still look at his mother, look at him, I did not even say to him thank you.

When I went to high school, I lived in school and came home once a week. It is said that L has gone abroad to study at university. We haven't seen each other for years.

After I graduated from college, I found a good job on my own. You make money, you don't want to stay home. He came out to rent a house. The rent is not cheap. For me, who just worked, paying the rent is like losing most of my living expenses.

Father is old, he would like me to often go home to see, for the stepmother, so many years, I also gradually understand that she can do to me inculcate, not spoil not to be submerged, has been a very good. So every weekend, I make time to visit them.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.