Families logo

Why I Do What I Do

Hint: it's not because I love babies. I don't. Not especially.

By Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)Published about a year ago 3 min read
6
Why I Do What I Do
Photo by Alex Hockett on Unsplash

Mainly - because birth is raw, powerful and transformative. I love it. Sure it can be goopy. It nips a bit. But it's also wonderful in its rawness. Gorgeous!

Tough truth: the shitty part is, it also has the potential to be traumatic if you lack good preparation and support.

That's why I'm here. I don't want that for you!

Pregnancy and birth represent the pinnacle of human endurance. Every woman deserves support to make it as smooth as possible, so she can look back on this time with satisfaction, and treasure the memories for the rest of her life.

Every baby, too, deserves the best birth her mother can give her. The smoothest transition possible from womb to world.

I LOVE getting another email from a woman who has booked her birth prep course with me. That's another woman who is engaged with her care and ready to own her birth - exactly the kind of woman I want to work with!

I love women. I love working with women. I work with partners too, usually dads, and they're pretty cool as well. But nothing touches what a woman can do, and the magic that happens when women support other women. 💪

She's going to walk a line between surrendering to the process and stepping into her power. I can hardly believe she has invited me along to support her. It's an absolute honour and a privilege to see women discover and rediscover their own strength.

I'm a geek. All things pregnancy, birth, and baby - I nerd out over them completely, and I share whatever I learn generously. I might as well 🤷‍♀️ Use me! Please do browse the page - I'm confident that you will find something useful or interesting. I'm sure you will find something that resonates with you.

I will never not be astounded and fascinated by what women - mothers - can do. It never gets old for me.

Image credit unknown

In case you're wondering what I actually do...

🤰 Weekly pregnancy classes

For mums-to-be, on Wednesday evenings in Radbrook, or Friday evenings online . Movement, breathing & relaxation.

It's like all the best bits of pregnancy yoga, birth hypnosis, and active birth - pulled together in one relaxing and positive class.

🤰Birth Partner Workshops

For mums-to-be and birth partners to attend together. Last Sunday of the month. Jam-packed with useful information and techniques.

🤰 Newborn Care Workshops

For parents-to-be. First Sunday of the month. To help you feel prepared, informed, and confident about caring for your newborn.

We touch on the basics, but there is greater focus on what is normal, and calming a fussy baby. Breastfeeding is covered separately.

🤰 Breastfeeding Prep Workshop

For parents to be . Second Sunday in the month. Physiology, common hurdles, pros and cons of different approaches

🤰 Pre-Labour Relaxation (my personal favourite!)

For mums-to-be. 1:1 sessions that can be tailored to your needs and preferences.

Help your pelvis to open, encourage your baby to find their best position, and let them move down. Increase your oxytocin levels, address any worries or stresses, so you're pickled in the right hormones for labour to begin as smoothly as possible. Can include bump decoration, massage, foot soak (but not if online, obviously).

I have a special interest in this unique and tricky phase of pregnancy, and the women experiencing it.

🤰 Birth Support

They don't call me Sam the doula for nothing.

Advanced booking essential for all classes. Book early to avoid disappointment.

________________________________

Book antenatal classes in Shrewsbury or online:

parentspregnancy
6

About the Creator

Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)

Childbirth Eductator since 2011

Building a resource for mothers-to-be to feel informed and confident about their choices

You can find me on Facebook or book classes with me

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Robbins10 months ago

    “Nips a bit”. Loved this.

  • J. Delaney-Howe10 months ago

    Very informative. It is evident that you really love your job. Nice work.

  • This is amazing. Thank you for sharing your experience.

  • Holly Pheni11 months ago

    This article was very interesting! It's clear you're passionate about what you do. The births to each of my three babies were very different experiences, but each miraculous in its own way.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.