Families logo

Why Didn't You Love Me More?

A Daughter's Letter to Her Parents

By Mama MoodPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Why didn't you love me more? It is a question that rattles in my brain daily. It wasn't that you were bad parents. I never felt like I was lacking, financially at least. There was something off, however. I don't think I realized it fully until I was a mother myself. Being a mother has given me such intense joy. It has also made me sad knowing I never felt that intensity from my own mother. It has taken until now, at 29, to realize how royally fucked parts of my family are.

A Letter to My Parents:

Dear Mom and Dad,

Why didn't you love me more? Hug me more? Kiss and snuggle me more? Was I not good enough, thin enough, pretty enough?

These questions wreck me. It would kill me for my own daughter to feel this way. I worry that someday I will become you without realizing it. Yes, you took care of me. I had enough food, enough room, but is that all a child needs? For the life of me, I don't remember you saying you loved me. The only time I remember being told was in some attempt to absolve guilt. Dad, you would apologize after yelling, but it would inevitably happen again. Mom, you never apologize. I think in some way you believe you were doing us a favor. Doing us a favor by not leaving, even though you would spend all your time away. At this point, I didn't realize the damage this would have on our future relationship.

I was quite young when I first felt bad about myself. I believe it was fifth grade, Dad, you would speak of other kids who were athletic. I remember being a good soccer player, but that never stopped comparisons. I recall you forcing me to go for a run with you. I wasn't fond of distance running and quickly ran out of breath. You criticized my conditioning, at ten years old. It was at ten years old I felt the first tinge of self-hate. This forced exercise continued until I moved out.

It is in my adult life that I feel like I don't know myself. I don't even know what I actually like. I blame you. I blame both of you for never lifting me up and only tearing me down. I felt I needed to do better. It has me questioning if I ever do anything right. We couldn't be emotional or upset. Especially my brother. Being emotional made him weak or a pansy to you. I watched you tear him down, too. I respect my brother, as an adult, he doesn't seek your approval. He broke free. I hate that I haven't.

Why didn't you love me more? When I was a teenager and I gained five pounds, why did you tell me? Why did you put me on endless diets and tell me you could see the weight I gained. These eyes always watching me, I felt fat and ashamed. I look back now and think it is ridiculous that I thought I was fat. I have slowly gained weight since that first criticism. I can't help but think I would be smaller if you never said a word. You put my value, as a human, on how much I weighed. Dad, you would comment about how pretty other girls were. I remember the single most painful thing you ever said to me. You looked at an old photo of me, I was slightly thinner. You told me I used to be so pretty. I have that photo in my brain, it burns.

Mom, where were you? I needed you. I needed a hug, love, something real. At home, nothing was good enough. You weren't willing to bend, not the way a mother should. I felt like more of a burden to you. I would have no hesitation dropping everything for my daughter. I understand now that you are selfish. Not necessarily in the worst way, but like a teenager who has closed everyone out. I know you saw your marriage to Dad as losing your freedom. Having me must have felt like prison. Maybe you weren't ready for kids. Even now, I feel like you connect with me when it is convenient. You don't call, but I don't blame you. We would have nothing to talk about. I don't even really know you.

—Your Daughter

parents
Like

About the Creator

Mama Mood

I am a stay at home mom and love being home with her. At 29, I am a little bit broken and trying to find my way. Writing has been therapeutic for me. I hope you enjoy:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.