Families logo

why didn' t they teach me that

You called that struggle, I call that teaching your kids how to hustle.

By Magdaline VictorPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

You called that struggle, I call that teaching your kids how to hustle.

Why didn’t they teach you that? I think most of our parents failed to teach us how to be a grown up, other methods to be successful without working a 9 to 5 job, how to keep a relationship healthy and so on…

I grew up in Haiti. YES, It is a very beautiful and poor country. Meaning I started realizing how hard life is at a very young age; However nobody warned me it would be that ruthless. I thought life was hard before it hit me when I turned 18 and started college. I came to the United States 2013 and graduated high school 2016. Obviously I didn't know the rules of college. Nobody told me about the Aids the U.S offer except, Fafsa and NJFAMS. Nobody taught me that the more classes you take the cheaper college is and the faster you finish. For example I could have just taken 6 to 7 classes and finish faster because financial aid was paying for it anyway. I could have been far. When I complain about how they did not help me, they reverse it with a “ nobody helped me when i was growing old and going through life either”. This is my point exactly! You could have been better if you had the tools you needed. Now it is your turn to give me the tools that i need because it would benefit all of us.

What should have happened? I do not have kids yet, but let's take the example of me. First of all I would have started a credit card on my kids name. Only buy their snack or gifts on that credit card. I would start building their credit score, and give them the card when they are 18. Secondly, I would buy them snacks, phone cases or any trend cool stuff to sell to their friends to start a little business. With that business money, we can even pay the credit card, and open a debit card. Every weekend , in the afternoon, go to a “ fun” course that would be useful for them as they grow older. They can make youtube videos about the hobbies they learned during the weekend. There 168 hours in a week, taking 18 hours of that time to build their future wont hurt them. I Know what you are thinking “ let them be kids”. They will be kids, but kids with a bright future and multiple options. They won't have to go to their 9 to 5 job everyday to afford anything. They can work 2 to 3 days a week for someone else and the rest of the week work from home for themselves. They can even travel to see the amazing world that we are living in. Finally, I would tell them the principle of college and how to fix their classes to get there faster. After all of that if they still messed their future up that is their problem because I did my work! That is just the basics of what I would teach them. Believe it or not that method would build their character even more and make them responsible.

Sincerely I feel like my family failed me by not showing me other options then working for someone else. Most of the time kids do not know better than wasting their youth sleeping. You may not have much now, but giving them activities to enrich their talents hidden that is like having another saving account. They may not see it when they are young but they will thank you when they are grown. I really wish someone taught me this when I was younger. What about you? What would you teach your kids?

advice
1

About the Creator

Magdaline Victor

what now!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.