Families logo

What Now!!!??

šŸ˜…

By Magdaline VictorPublished 4 years ago ā€¢ 6 min read
Like
Earthquake

Who is this beautiful young woman in the picture? She looks so happy and so calm. She looks like she is having fun. Nobody except her knows what is going on inside of her head. Let's take a back one of her scariest moments of her life.

Imagining growing up in a very poor family in Haiti. Everything was a struggle, few jobs, but your family managed to survive. When i was younger , i was this happy little brown eyes girl that everyone in the neighborhood adores. Strangers used to give me gifts based on how I used to talk and help them. I remember one of them from the United States could not wait to meet me. She used to call her family member on my house phone, and I always answer. Politely talk to her and run to get the person she wanted to communicate with. Lol!

Now, I'm pretty sure that everyone on the internet remembers the January 2010 earthquake in Haiti. When thousands of Haitians lost their lives. I was there, and I was only 12. My family had an amazing Christmas because my grandma came to visit us from the U.S. ( Spoiler alert: she stayed permanently in the U.S now. Never went back since the earthquake caught her there.)January 12, 2010 started as a normal hot day in Haiti. The left side of the house was still in construction, so we had some nice workers over. The morning was beautiful like the previous. The afternoon came pretty fast, and the workers were wrapping things up. My grandma was in her room resting. My older male cousins were cleaning their rooms and talking to the workers. My mom and I were on her bed watching commercials and waiting for the Telenovelas at that time started at 4:00pm or 4:30 pm. The show started and the bed was shaking, the Tv was dancing. In my head, I was doing that in my brain. My mom thought a big trailer was coming down the hill. In less than 3 seconds the whole house was shaking. My mom saw the TV was about to fall on me, she saw me frozen, so she pulled me against her and held me. We ran to the door and hold the frames. Meanwhile everyone except me was creamingā€ Jesus, help us, save usā€¦ the blood of Jesusā€¦.ā€I was in shocked i could not say anything matter fact i only talked the next day when we were completely safe because they were trying to make me talk. Back to the story! I was SHOCKED. I was terrified to see two big houses in front of our house falling down while ours was still shaking. I really thought we were going to die too. When the big phase ended, everything was quiet for a couple of seconds. We could not see anything, everything was dusty. Out of nowhere people started screaming and crying. My mom rushed to my grandma's room but she refused to come with us. My mom said she found her in the middle of her furnitureā€¦ nothing fell on her. She was sayingā€ let's kneel here, pray and die togetherā€¦ā€.They convinced her to get out of the house. As soon as we got out we saw more than half of the neighborhood house on the ground flat. People were screaming and all covered in dust. I saw my best friend's mom screaming for help because my best was under her house. The ground kept shaking every 3 to 5 minutes; we had to find an empty area to sit. It looked like it was about to rain. we grabbed 3 blankets and walked our way to the closest house free area. There were too many of us there so the ground split a little. We had to leave our refuge area to find a Park. The closest one was 4 or more miles away. We walked there. we thought it was only the neighborhood that was on the ground because a week before a pastor came and told the neighborhood that God was going to destroy us for being sinners. As we were walking to the park we realized that it was Haiti. The sky cleared up. It was a cold night. Although I was sleeping on the grass, it felt like I was in a canoe or a water bed. I tried to sleep but everything felt like a nightmare. Early next morning, I think it was 3 or 4 we started walking back to the house to get food, water and money to go to the countryside until things got better. we had to leave early in the intention to beat the house. Mom already knew it would be like a war zone if we let the sun catch us. We had nearly 20 miles in front us to walk to go catch the bus to St. Marc. My grandma has knee problems and she was/is overweight. Image the struggle. We bumped into some in laws, they were looking for their last brother.( They found him dead 3 days later by their house) he was trying to get to them but the house next door fell on him and the metals of the house and the ground pierced his body.)The caught us by the house still, we could see all of the damages, dead people swollen on ground and people crying, screaming, pulling people out of the debris, fainting, dying...My best friend calling me and i saw her right side all swollen up as she was reaching her left hand to me. I freaked out! I could barely recognize her. I was traumatized. That was my first time seeing dead people. On the road I saw a mother all 12 of her kids died and lined up in front of her. Nobody could console her. We reached the bus station late afternoon, and they mugged my mom. Everyone that had a place in the countryside was trying to run away from the capital. It was crowded and people were fighting for spots in the buses. The bandits saw her gold jewelry, so they stopped her and took every valuable thing she had on her. Thank you God she thought of splitting the money before we left home. It was a total nightmare.

I have more stories to share like

Going to school while street shootings

Coming to America

Getting to U.S Army and getting my citizenship papers

How mess up life is with student loans, school balance, and getting layoff because of COVID-19. And moreā€¦.

Please read my stories they are real and they are mine!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Magdaline Victor

what now!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.