Families logo

Who is happier in old age, with grandchildren or without grandchildren? Just look at the comparison

Many old people think that they have worked hard all their lives to bring up their children, and now they are finally retired and their children are married and have a career, so they should enjoy the happiness with their wife. Why do they have to help take care of their grandchildren endlessly?

By yuyongbeiPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
1

01, guide language,

In the eyes of the older generation, it seems to be a natural thing to take care of grandchildren when they are old. But nowadays, with the diversified development of society, taking care of grandchildren is no longer just for the elderly. Many old people think that they have worked hard all their lives to bring up their children, and now they are finally retired and their children are married and have a career, so they should enjoy the happiness with their wife. Why do they have to help take care of their grandchildren endlessly?

However, some old people, no matter how hard and tired they are, insist on bringing their grandchildren out so that they can enjoy their own blessings with confidence. In their eyes, taking care of grandchildren has become their responsibility and mission.

In fact, who is happier in old age, with or without grandchildren? Aunt Zhao and Aunt Li have different opinions. Let's hear from them.

02, 65 years old Aunt Zhao said:

I was a teacher before I retired. After I retired at the age of 55, I lived a life of relaxation in my hometown. At that time, my wife was not yet retired, so I cooked for him at home and cleaned up the housework every day. When he had a holiday, we would go to the neighborhood together and meet old friends.

When I was 59 years old, my son just got married, and we wanted to have grandchildren as soon as possible. So I told my son, "We have to give birth sooner or later anyway, so I'd better give birth as soon as possible. I can take care of my child while I'm in good health, otherwise I won't be able to take care of my child in a few years.

At the end of the next year, my granddaughter was born. My son asked me to help take care of the child. I quickly called my wife, packed up my things, and came to my son's house to help take care of the granddaughter.

Don't tell me. It's exhausting with kids. I've only been wearing it for three months, and I've lost more than 10 pounds. I've never slept a whole night. I've got heavy dark circles under my eyes, and my hair has turned white. Because my wife is a rough man, he can't do housework and take care of the children. He can only buy the food, sometimes hold the children, and I do the rest. So cooking, doing the housework, taking care of the children, taking care of the daughter-in-law in confinement, that's all I do.

At that time, the daughter-in-law's milk was not enough, so the child was mixed feeding, in order to let the daughter-in-law rest better at night, I took the child to sleep at night, the child woke up in the middle of the night, I would change her diaper, milk powder, during the day to the daughter-in-law breast-feeding.

As long as my granddaughter cried, I would get up immediately, hug her, and walk around to soothe her to sleep. When children are young, they can sometimes get up as many as seven or eight times. It became impossible for me to sleep, and I'm still a little nervous.

Fortunately, watching the children grow up day by day, I also feel very happy, tired and happy. My daughter-in-law went back to work half a year later, and now the child is clinging to me day and night. When I cook and do housework during the day, she refuses to play alone, and she is unwilling to find grandpa. She has to stay with me and help me get some of this or that. I was smiling from ear to ear seeing her helping me at such an early age.

My son and daughter-in-law see what I do, taking me out to restaurants on weekends, shopping for clothes, and buying me gifts for the holidays.

My wife and I are responsible for picking up my children when they go to kindergarten. She and I this grandmother is very close, sleep at night do not recognize my mother, but only recognize me, to follow me to sleep together. Now I will tell her a bedtime story every night, which also makes her learn a lot of things, and her daughter-in-law is also very assured of my education for her, because I never spoil her, she will scold him if she does wrong, educate her, teach her the truth.

My wife and I are now living with our son and his family, who are expecting a second child next year, so I can't avoid a lot of hard trips.

But I am not afraid, because after all, there is a process, generation for generation, so that our blood will continue to continue, endless.

In this respect, I think my thoughts are very traditional. I care about the happiness of my family very much. Although taking care of grandchildren is tiring, the happiness it brings is irreplaceable. I see around some old friends, they go out every day to travel, dance, but also pull me said, do not spend a lifetime around the children, to have their own life.

But I laughed when I heard it, because it was happiness for them, but it was secondary to me. I had to get the baby out before I could enjoy it. And taking care of the child is not a chore for me, looking at the smiling face of the child, I think all the hard work is worth it.

03. 58-year-old Aunt Li:

I am 58 years old this year, although I have retired, but I have found a new job, is to go to a relative's factory to sit in the office, to help do some simple chores, a monthly salary of 2500 yuan. My son and his wife had a granddaughter a few years ago, and they asked me to help look after the baby, but I refused, because I like my current job, it's easy and I can make some money, I'm quite satisfied.

And if you help to take care of your granddaughter, not only tired, but also a great responsibility. There is an old man in our community who helps to take care of his grandson. One day, he took his grandson to play in the playground. He was not careful when the pole on the roadside suddenly fell down and hit the child's head. The old man has been living with guilt for years.

As a matter of fact, I am very afraid of something happening when I take care of my children. I can't leave my eyes for a moment when I take care of my children. Even so, there may be all kinds of accidents and it is impossible to guard against, so I am very afraid to take on this responsibility.

I have brought up my son with all kinds of hardships, and now he is married and has a good job. Then I think my mission should be accomplished, and his future life will depend on him and his daughter-in-law to create together.

What's more, we are born and raised by ourselves, and we are also from this way. Before, my mother-in-law did not help me take care of my children. As parents, we bring our children to this world and have the responsibility to raise them.

Plus I'm not in good health. If I don't rest well, I get dizzy easily. So if you help to take the child, where have a good rest, especially when the child is small, the child's schedule is more not fixed, which is also a kind of torture to my body, plus I have three high, the doctor also said that I don't work too hard, so I can't do it.

I explained my situation to my son and daughter-in-law, and they didn't say anything, but I knew they were unhappy inside. Later the daughter-in-law invited a relative of her mother's family to help take care of the child, but that man was rough, not suitable for taking care of the child, the child often knock to bump into, or is to give the child drink cold water, in short is very unreliable.

I once overheard that my daughter-in-law was dismissive of my son preference and thought I was unwilling to take her to see her granddaughter. Also said a let me help take care of the child, here pain, there pain, many old people are using the same excuse to refuse to take care of the child. But heaven and earth, my story is the truth, and if she doesn't believe it, there's nothing I can do about it.

Later, I fell ill and had an operation. My wife accompanied me and my son came to see me several times. He also invited a nurse for me. My daughter-in-law came to see me only once, bringing fruit, not smiling much, and making cold, polite remarks. I knew she was upset that I didn't take care of her baby, and now that she's in kindergarten, she doesn't need my help.

I felt so guilty that I didn't help them, so my daughter-in-law was pregnant with her second child last year. I directly gave her 50,000 yuan to go to the maternity center. I told her, "Mom really can't take care of your child, because you know her health condition, and she is still working now, so as to make more money. Ma lifetime also a strong this one child, after what also is to you. 50 grand, it's not much, but I'll give you a trip to the maternity center as a gesture.

In the future, I will transfer 2,000 yuan to you every month. It is better if you hire a nanny, find reliable relatives to take care of the children, or if your in-laws can help take care of the children. Even if I support you a little bit in taking care of the children, if you can't help, at least give me some money to show you.

My daughter-in-law was very surprised at my practice, she did not expect that I would be so generous to take fifty thousand yuan to her to live in the maternity center, but also to give 2000 children every month subsidies, but feel embarrassed.

Now my daughter-in-law is also very kind to me. She often brings the two children to our house for dinner and helps with the household hygiene. I also buy toys and gifts for the two children from time to time. Now we get along happily as a family.

04, endnotes

In fact, the happiness of the elderly in their later years has little to do with whether they take their grandchildren or not, but closely related to the filial piety of their children. Well educated parents, children are filial children, you do not help them take care of their grandchildren, they will not ignore you. On the other hand, if you are not filial children, even if you take care of their grandchildren, work for them, spend all your efforts, do everything, they will not be filial to their parents. Therefore, parents are very important to their children's education from childhood to adulthood.

Of course, if our children really need their parents' help to raise their grandchildren, then we, as parents, should do our best to help if we can. If we can't do it, let's put in some money. After all, young people nowadays have too much pressure and it is not easy. Let's try our best to lighten the burden.

But if the old man in poor health, there is no ability, no savings, no pension, can't help children with children, also cannot provide economic help, that as children, we should also be considerate of parents, although they did not help us to take their grandchildren, but at least they gave birth to us, also raised the us, we should with a grateful heart, to the elderly.

We should not force our parents to "help us grow up, or we will not support you to grow old" as a threat. After all, we should respect the old people's own wishes with or without their grandchildren. It is not easy for the old.

In a word, parents and children should understand, considerate, respect and help each other. Only in this way can our family prosper. Is that right?

grandparents
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.