Families logo

Who else is digging lock down

Says all introverts ever

By Michelle KingPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

I am what you call an introvert, always loved my own company and always wondered why some people just loved being around other people. Lock down for some is a nightmare, missing their loved ones and worrying about the dire strate the world is in since COVID 19. It's 2021 I am sure I am not the only one to have underestimated how long this was going to last. Nothing seems to be stopping for now and who knows how long it will continue. I empathise with the ones out there affected by lock down it must be very difficult not seeing family members. I on the otherhand love this about lock down it keeps my family at bay, a bit extreme some might say but you haven't met my family. Remember the TV show back in 2004 called Shameless, about a single dad on benefits with loads of kids trying to scam a living anyway they could. Well... thats my family no way are they having my address so they can show me up on my own door step. No my neighbours need saved from that believe me!! My brother said once, "Shell we should take mum on Jeremy Kyle and expose her" I was like "No way thats my worst fear" he was all for it even tried wasting his breath on trying to persuade me to change my mind. I was a nurse, can you imagine all my patients faces as I stood at their bedside to hand them their morning medication to look at me to then realise thats the person on TV. Nope thank you very not I will save my dignity and keep my life to myself not broadcast it to the world. My brother huffed and puffed and tried to blow my house down but he failed miserably. He felt hard done by and wanted payment for his suffering and was assessing all avenues available to him. I mean all avenues even if it meant he made a fool of himself in front of a full audience. I am not saying that's what people did on the show it was a fact I knew about my brother. He is something else. He saw he was getting no where with that idea and gave up asking, his next one was "Shell let's take mum to the newspapers" I was like "Not this again" my ears instantly wanted to close down any hint of his agenda against my mother. I chose to rise above that hence why I lived in an unknown location at an unknown address, only a very select few know where I live and it is staying like that. If I want to see my family I would visit them which was rarely to be honest. I am different from them in every way so its nice to do normal stuff but know lock down disbales them of the feel sorry for me phrase they normally use on me, they know its against guidelines so they can't say nothing and don't I know it. Hence why I am loving lock down no one can come to my door and not being able to visit my mum suits me fine I can chill at home blissfully and wouldn't change it for the world. I wasn't always so anti social it just gradually grew as I chopped toxic people from my life, it left me how I love it, on my own except for my partner that is. See someone might look at me and feel sad or think I may get lonely through having no friends it doesn't bother me at all. In fact I am faced with less drama, I have found in my experience that the more people in my life the more drama it causes. I am too old for that shit, no my life is much better with less people hence why I am digging the lock down rules I'm like "YEAH" "you can't get me" say that and imagine someone doing the Carlton Dance from Fresh Prince of Bellair then you will know the vibe I'm feeling. I am taking full advantage of the lock down and staying inside, even shut all the blinds except all the back windows google Falkland Hill and you will see why, stunning and many hours of entertainment for me during lock down. Events like this make you look at the world and appreciate what you have around you and how lucky you really are. That is how I feel anyway when I look outside, I breath it in. I do understand why people don't like being alone like I do, must be scary being stuck in your own household with no contact from family or friends from outside. It is important we try keep eachother safe, I am doing my bit without even trying as I prefer it, if it was the other way I am not sure my opinion would remain the same. My best friend prefers company, she gets anxious on her own and more than a week her mentle health starts to deteriorate, thank the lord for ipads and video call apps at least you can still see people even if you can't be around them. I often wonder about poorer regions that don't have this kind of technology it must be hard for them. I am just doing what I normally do and go about my day with minimum contact from people. My best friend understands why I am the way I am and never makes me feel bad for months with no contact its who I am and she is fine with that. I know she has good friends and supportive family around her at her end so know she is cared for. She has her partner I am grateful to him as if he was not there I am not sure how she would cope with lock down. I want COVID 19 to end like everyone else but not because I am struggling with lock down I want it to end to protect human life, it seems though that is not on the cards yet, who knows what the future holds it will end one day, until then I will enjoy my peace as I know that too can't last forever.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Michelle King

I write from the heart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.