Families logo

Where the ancestors roamed

When the pull of your ancestors takes you on a lifelong journey.

By A. LeePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
winter evening on the Mississippi river

I was born to find and acknowledge my ancestors. I have been intrigued by my ancestors since I was about twelve years old. I still remember my first sentence that started my journey into family history. I remember calling my grandmother just to ask her what her grandmothers name was. Her name was Kizzie Epperson-Sproles and I am so glad I asked her that question. I was able to honor her by naming one of my own daughters with a similar name. When I was eighteen, I was able to see my dad’s favorite person in this whole world. His grandmother was Houma, and this is where my Houma tribal citizenship came from. She only spoke French so my dad had to translate any communication, and my dad warned me before hand that she may not remember me. My connection to her is our birthdays are one day apart, and I’ll always treasure that.

Most of my life I was like a little root that was picked up and planted. The beginning of my life was spilt between two towns Houma and Hahnville. These two towns are little dots on the Louisiana landscape. Might not mean much to most but it shaped my existence and helped me find myself here in the city of New Orleans. I always lived right on the outskirts of the city. When I finally found myself residing within the city limits something magical happened. I found a piece of my ancestors here their energy was looming, and I was being called home.

I am enrolled member of United Houma Nation. The Houma was originally from eastern Mississippi. They were forced off their lands during the 1800s Indian removal act. They were forced to Northern Louisiana then they were picked up and planted and pushed further down into Louisiana. Something interesting happened along the way though. When they got closer to New Orleans area, they took in members of the Acolapissa tribe. The Acolapissa was a tribe living along among one of the oldest trade routes here in Louisiana. Mind you all this information did not fall into my lap overnight. Quite a few years ago I recall moving close to this road and having a feeling of being home and not wanting to live anywhere else. I had no prior knowledge of the areas history or how it might be connected to me. About a year ago I was driving down a side street here in town and I found a little piece of the ancestry puzzle piece I have been trying to put together all these years. On the street sign it said Colapissa, half of me was happy they received acknowledgement but the other half me was a little sad for two reasons. First reason they forgot to add the A to the beginning of the tribe’s name and second, they were given the most inconspicuous street in town. I would love to see them get the recognition they deserve, but even if that recognition just starts with me acknowledging their existence, I am ok with that.

The other half of my ancestral story resides in the hills of the Appalachia. My grandmother came down from the hills of eastern Tennessee and lived her life here in southern Louisiana I appreciate her journey because without her I would not exist. I have researched my maternal ancestors. but I have never been able to visit where they roam. One day I will have grandkids and descendants and I will be considered someone’s ancestors I hope I am leaving them a legacy they are proud of. I hope I can take them on family journeys, and we can discover family roots together.

grandparents
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.