Families logo

When Life Happens

The story of a crisis driven purpose.

By My Shared Faith with Pamela Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Life after crisis.

My Story:

You wake up one morning expecting a day similar to all other days, you do not realize today will change your life as you know it.

My story is a dedication to my mother and the untold story of my own battle with grief. I call this segment Remembering Mom. One thing is true about life, it goes on whether you like it or not, but what do you do when you’re having a trouble keeping up?

It was a typical Sunday morning, I was in town visiting my mom. I had made a home in Dothan, Al and my mom lived in a small town called Wetumpka, Al. I was just close enough with a two hour commute to visit often.

That morning was no different than any other Sunday morning as we loaded up in the car to go to church. I remember mom having a great time singing in the choir and then giving a soul stirring prayer.

It was moments after that I would see her slump over in the pew silently. She suffered a brain aneurysm. Instantly, I sprung up and ran to her side. I just remember screaming as the ushers removed the onlookers from the sanctuary and called the ambulance.

That Sunday morning was the beginning of a life forever changed not only for my mother but for me as well. We spent 30 days in the neurological critical care unit. I lived out of the hospital gift shop and cafeteria.

I remember spending nights on the hospital floor as we waited on the status of my mother’s condition. She lived but the next two years before her death was extraordinary; I got to know her, really know her. I journeyed through her early years as she gradually regained memory and started to live again. There are not enough words to express how hard, yet rewarding this time was for our family. The outcome? A ministry and a faith based business in her honor.

As the daughter of a brain trauma and stroke survivor I had to think of a way to reach out to families who were not so blessed. As you might imagine the trauma unit can become a place where non related family members are created overnight; many tears were shed as some families went home with their loved one and some went home alone. The University of Alabama Medical Hospital Neurology unit was where the idea for my business My Shared Faith was born. Through my product and ministry I gave cards and gifts when words were not enough...

Stay tuned for the next story, the beginning of a nightmare.

grief
Like

About the Creator

My Shared Faith with Pamela

Hi I am Pamela, a 40 something year mother of two and grandmother talks about life’s challenges and how to overcome them. A graduate of Auburn University of Montgomery, Al with a Bachelor’s in Psychology and owner of Faith based company.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.