Families logo

What's going on MOM?

Guess who?

By Paul HerreraPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Mom,

It has been two years since you left this world, I still miss you.

But I still hold the lessons you taught me that have held me through my life. You were different, working since the start of World War II. You have held your own beholding to no man. You were never dependent on any company or guy. You made in this world on your terms. Your way. If there was a position that you wanted you went for it, if it required further education, you got it. Never taking no for answer.

All this at a time when women’s position, their contributions to a company were considered secondary. It wasn’t until the 60’s and my growing up that you had the biggest impact on me.

I never saw you without a job, any job opportunities that turned you down, you walked away from not giving it a second thought. Those companies have long since closed their doors.

You were always learning or trying something new.

A person’s learning is never finished in life, there is always something to be better at. That is why I guess you were on me all through school. Always encouraging me to try new things that would benefit me in the job market. It worked, today I keep learning and trying different things. Automotive to computer skills.

The biggest thing I learned from you is relating and working with women in the workforce. Boy did I have a lot to learn.

Focus on their skills, talents, and their ability to do the job at hand. But most of all show respect, decency and listen to what they are saying. Great ideas originate from team thinking and focusing on the job.

Never ask a female associate to perform any task you would not do yourself, do not be self-conscious about asking a woman manager, boss, or CEO for help on a problem.

Communication: this is something you were a stickler about. You know the way guys are when your out with them. That type of thinking is never welcome in the workplace.

You will learn to keep your thinking in check and when in doubt do not say it. Keeping professional, to the point and pleasant. It is your responsibility to keep yourself in check.

It is better to remain silent than to open your mouth and come across looking like an idiot.

There are a lot of people that you will work with that do not see things your way, that is okay, never take it personally. But most of all regardless of who it is, practice being courteous. There's not enough of that in the world.

I have done well, everything you taught me played to my advantage in dealing with the issues of this world.

But the one thing that still amazes me is the way you predicted the outcome of every single relationship I have ever had. LOL. You saved me from a lot of grief, yet you made me ride the storms out getting me the chance to grow up.

Even then the lessons you taught me in relationships have served me well.

Be yourself. That is all you can ever be besides you find it increasingly difficult to maintain a false image. I lost track of how many times you preached that to me.

I intend to press on and live the best possible life that I can.

You have made a difference in my life all for the better. Yeah, it is true at your funeral I did not cry, I know you are up in heaven. But I cannot think of a better place for you to be. That makes me happy for you.

grief
Like

About the Creator

Paul Herrera

Looking forward to learning and earning on Vocal!

I love stories that have twists and turns, enough it creates good conversation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.