Families logo

What Is It Really Like to Live in an Apartment?

I made the move to an apartment and this was my experience...

By Liz JayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Are you suited to the apartment lifestyle?

I decided to move into my own place after sharing with a roommate for 2 years. Saving was the hard part because finding a new apartment with one bedroom and a balcony was quite easy.

While the apartment to rent wasn't newly renovated, it was close to my job which eased the cost of my weekly transport.

Take note of everything you need before you move in

Now the moving part wasn't too bad because I didn't have that much considering that previously I was just renting a room but once I was in my new place, I had virtually nothing to get comfortable with! I didn't have cutlery, my clothes were in different boxes, and my bedding was all over the place, so if you're moving into a new apartment, I suggest an apartment checklist. it just makes it easier when you have the four walls to stare at on your first night!

What I didn't expect once I moved in was how lonely I felt. Sharing with someone, there was always activity in the house and despite living on the top floor, it would be so quiet, I'd think I was the only one living there!

That's when I decided to muster up the courage to get to know my neighbors. I wasn't a nuisance but introduced myself whenever I saw someone I didn't know and ensured that I remembered their names. After a few months of settling in, I finally experienced a sense of community! There were no awkward stares in the hallway or weeks without speaking to someone. I could have a chat with my neighbors and we all looked out for one another.

Get to know people in your community

Today, more people (of all ages) and first-time renters, are moving into apartments because of the incredible sense of community it provides. You get to meet new people and you get to be part of a strong community where everyone living in the apartment complex keeps an eye out for each other.

If you are looking to meet new people and build a network, consider apartments that offer social events and amenities. Areas such as a gym or private garden spots, help you mingle with others and you establish yourself in the community.

Remember that moving into an apartment shouldn't be about living a lonely lifestyle. You can enjoy the privacy of your space while getting to know the people around you. If you don't want to become friends, you don't have to. Just being friendly and acknowledging the people who live closest to you will give you peace of mind you have neighborly support.

Apartments can be a great place for anyone to rent. It's about creating a strong sense of community and supporting one another in a safe environment. What I didn't do when I was checking out apartments to rent was find a place to suit my lifestyle. I enjoy socializing and keeping fit but my complex isn't close to any trails where I can take a jog in the morning or cycle in the afternoon. I'll be sure to include those on my checklist when my lease expires and it's time to find a new rental!

Finding an Apartment that's Right for You

By Giulia Bertelli on Unsplash

Before you start looking at places online, consider what you can afford. Look at your monthly expenses and adjust it a little just in case of price hikes or emergencies. Then, what can you comfortably dedicate to rent each month?

Think about your needs and your wants. You need to get to work every day, but traveling for 30 minutes isn't practical. Perhaps you prefer a private rental or you want to expand your social networks? The amenities at apartments can help you meet more people

With a plan and comparing apartments, you are sure to find the right rental for your needs!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.