Families logo

View from the big red chair

Life in a red Suit

By Keith MolePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

It was not my first choice for spending my weeks leading up to Christmas. No, to be brutally honest I’d have loved to have been on the beach or swimming in the lagoon in Rarotonga. But it wasn’t to be. At that point in time, it was all down to money and getting time off. Not for me, my wife. Me, I was semi-retired at that point – almost unemployable. At least that’s how it felt.

A couple of friends had asked if I’d be interested in being Santa Claus at Christmas. After all it was just another acting job – and it was reasonably well paid. So I gave it a try.

That was six years ago and I’ve never looked back.

I started like most new Santa’s, with the false wig and beard. But it was clear very early on that it wasn’t going to be for me. After a year of hair growing and non-shaving, I had my own full set. As luck would have it silver grey in colour and ideal for the Job. After the second year it was the suit that had to go. Basic and boring. I contacted a friend in the costume business, who was making stuff for TV and movies and asked if she’d be interested in making me a new suit. A few months later I had a great new costume and a great new leather belt. New boots from a Santa shop in the USA and I was ready for action. And that’s how it’s been for the last few years. Have suit and beard – can travel.

I have had a fantastic time. Its not all fun. It can be stressful, especially with demanding and bossy parents, Kids being forced to take photographs regardless of their own feelings. I’ve always tried to make the best of it and for the last five years I was at a single store in Wellington – where I got to know a lot of families and had the opportunity to watch the kids grow. A lot of laughs, a few tears not all of them sad and some stories to treasure.

For example, I was visited by an elderly couple who were on a cruise ship that had docked at Wellington. They spotted me and asked if they could get a photograph. I said of course- I’d be delighted. The crew I was working with were great and soon had some fantastic poses and photos in the can. I asked them about their trip and they told me that sadly both of them had been diagnosed with terminal cancer and this was a treat and a last fling for them both. The photos were for their grandkids. They wanted something joyful and happy for them to remember them by. Quite humbling really.

So, this year I was asked to help out by working in Tauranga for a couple of weeks. They flew me there and back, paid for my accommodation and provided me with a meal allowance. What was not to like? It was a good experience. People were very helpful, respectful and the families and kids were wonderful – despite all the covid restrictions in place, social distancing and mask wearing!

That aside, I was really warmed about the way kids were behaving and asking for the old classics “ Pokémon Cards, Bakugan Toys, Barbie, Lego, and books etc.” Amazingly not one asked for a phone, iPod, Xbox, PS5’s or any technology which was quite astonishing.

Strangest thing anyone asked for (and two separate kids asked for this) a new toothbrush. Many wanted nothing at all and just wanted a surprise. But the one that will stick with me this year, was the 11yr old who asked if I would bring her uncle back. He had died a couple of weeks earlier and it was pretty obvious that they’d had a really strong bond. I thre Covid precautions to the wind and asked her to sit beside me. I held her hand and explained that no one could do that for her. I told her that the pain of loosing someone you love is special and will not go away, but it does get easier.

I told her, the way in which I deal with it is to remember as many of the good times as I could and the times when we laughed together or had some special moments. I explained that sadly this was part of being human and growing older. But I hoped she would feel better soon. She kissed me on the cheek and walked back over to her mum who gave her a huge hug and they walked off hand in hand. I shed a few tears and took a minute or two to get myself back to normal – and just like that the next family appear and Santa gives his best smile and greets the warmly.

A day later we did one of our Sensitive Santa sessions. This is where we invite children with special needs, those who are affected by the bright lights or loud noises such as Autistic children to come to a safe and pleasant location for a meeting and perhaps some photos. Highlight for me was a young autistic boy that sat and explained how he repaired phones and computers. Not only was it fascinating – but his mum tearfully told staff that she’d never seen him talk to anyone for so long ever, Maybe People need to learn to listen?

My last week I returned to my home store in Wellington, which will be closing this year (March?) They were only able to have me on site for a couple of days over the last weekend. Fortunately, I was able to meet and catch up with a lot of the families and children I had grown so fond of over the previous five years – Including one or two ‘special’ kids who I always keep an eye out for.

So next year – I’ll do it all over again. Could be in Christchurch or maybe back to Tauranga – who knows. One thing for sure- I’ll wear the red suit and sit in the big chair for as long as I’m able to.

SANTA

values
1

About the Creator

Keith Mole

Born and raised in Newcastle, England. Moved to New Zealand 1996. A career in Information Technology - redundant in Feb 2010. Took a (BA) in creative writing and then studied at the NZ Film and Television school. Actor/Writer/Grandad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.