Families logo

Tribute

Words of wisdom from a dead man.

By Rachael HughesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My dad and me - New Years Day 1975

It occurred to me once when my father passed away, quite a long time ago, that I should write some things down – wisdom or analogies or just plain sound advice that he had passed on to me. Apparently, I did because I just found it in an old box full of things that I don’t know what to do with. With love in my heart for him (he has been visiting me in my sleep quite a bit of late), I thought I’d share. Here goes.

  1. Stay out of the “system’. It’s not a good place to be or go to and once you’re in, it’s a hard bell to un-ring.
  2. Listen to your gut. Your instincts. That little voice that tells you what to do. It’s always right and when you don’t listen to it, something always goes sideways. Every. Time.
  3. Stick up for yourself. Don’t let people push you around or shame you. Be aware of how loud you are about it.
  4. More importantly, stick up for others who can’t fend for themselves. And be loud about that.
  5. When you don’t know what to do, don’t do anything. Invariably you’ll make the wrong choice. If you just wait, the answer will come.
  6. Everything works out. One way or the other.
  7. If someone’s mad at you and you’ve done your best to resolve it, set it aside and move on. They’ll either get over it or they’ll die mad. Same applies to you.
  8. Stand in someone else’s shoes once a day.
  9. Pray to find and retain faith.
  10. Strive to find and retain trust.
  11. Be kind at all times. Until it’s time to no longer be kind and a different tack must be taken. (I believe this applies to bullies and it is also in a movie.)
  12. Forgive. Not for them but for yourself.
  13. Try to save one or five or ten dollars a day and put it away. It adds up.
  14. Believe in something bigger and greater than yourself.
  15. Watch and relish as many sunsets and/or sunrises as you can. It’s amazingly good for the soul.
  16. Pay your bills. No matter how much you don’t want to, find a way. Whatever it is that you want more than to pay the electric bill, it will still be there. If it isn't, you weren’t supposed to have it. If you believe you don't owe the money, pick up the phone to ask and figure it out. Even if you can’t – you have no money at all, find a way to pay something. Mo matter how humble your offering, with a sincere heart it will be accepted. This is important.
  17. Be spiritual, not just religious.
  18. Never bet money you can’t afford to lose. You will never, and I mean NEVER, win your rent.
  19. Never make a bet you don’t already know you’ll win.
  20. Be kind. To animals. To humans. To every living thing on earth. There is no reward anywhere in The Universe for cruelty. But there is surely punishment.
  21. Try to save anyone you can who needs it. It’s not always possible, but if you can’t help, say a prayer for them. That’s good help too.
  22. Go up to a perfect stranger and say something nice to them. Compliment their hair, their hat, their shoes, their coat. Watch surprise fall across their face and the smile that follows. You did that. You made someone smile.
  23. A woman can never have too many little black dresses. Nor shoes to go with them. (This one is mine.)

Thank you, daddy, for all you gave and continue to give me. You weren’t perfect, but I loved you and I miss you always. Rach

adviceparentsvalues
Like

About the Creator

Rachael Hughes

However it might turn out, a story is like an old friend that I haven't met yet. Who among us would like to make a new friend before we know the ending? Curious and lively, finding a moment of joy each day is my song and belief.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.