Families logo

Traveling for the First Time to El Salvador

My first time in El Salvador in the city of San Miguel

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
At a restaurant with my sister in El Salvador

When my mom decided to move to the U.S, she had to leave my older sister with our grandparents. Because of this, I had only known her through calls and video chat over the years. However, in December of 2021, all that changed. I video chatted my sister to let her know I booked a flight for two weeks to be with her. She was beyond happy like I was. I was so worried that something bad may happen to me the first time traveling alone, but my sister told me to not think too many negative things. On the day of my flight, I sent my sister a picture of the clothes I had on so she could recognize me at the airport. I was able to locate where I needed to be when it came to boarding the plane. There was turbulence but it was not severe and I was really sleepy so I did not react much. My heart was pounding with joy when the airplane finally landed. I went to immigration area and answered all the questions, then at last I had went outside where people were waiting. I was walking around looking for my sister, after a couple seconds I see her running up to me and we both started to cry out of happiness. This was the first time we have ever met, I am 23 and she is 32. This was an unforgettable moment for the both of us. I had also met my niece and my brother in law. They took me out to eat breakfast which I enjoyed. To my luck, the food did not make me sick, so I did not need to take any medicine. We talked so much about life and the differences there are in living in the U.S and living in El Salvador. Coming to El Salvador helped me learn the difficulties my sister faces, but despite that, she never complains. She would cook for the whole family everyday I was there, she would ask me if I was okay and to not be shy to take whatever I wanted. I got along with her three dogs as well, and some of her cats. But what I was really excited about was the pet bunny. It had been a dream of mine to hold a bunny and it finally came true. He was so friendly and soft. They named him Melocotón, which I believe translates to peaches in English. The house they live in had also been renovated by my aunt. There had been more space and they did not have to shower outside anymore. My aunt requested there be two bathrooms each having a pila. A pila is basically like a tub that contains water. A pila in El Salvador can be used to wash clothes, or to take a bath. For me, I was a bit cold at first because I had never taken a bath that way, but the more I kept doing it, the more I got used to it. I actually enjoyed pouring cold water on myself. While being there, I also learned how to wash clothes by hand. Instead of using dryers. All the clothes are hanged outside and they just air dry. When you go to el Salvador, you can expect to see stray dogs walking around the restaurant, but it is normal and that is because the restaurants there are outdoors. What I loved most from being there was going to the beach. I went to a beach known as Playa el Cuco. The view is breathtaking, the water was at a good temperature and the sky looked amazing that day. My 9 year old niece actually took swimming classes at a very young age, therefore she was teaching me the different ways to swim. Overall, I am happy that El Salvador is the first country I visited. I am happy to have gotten to known what the lifestyle is like over there, and most importantly, my dream to meet my sister became a reality.

siblings
Like

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.