Families logo

My Beautiful Baby Shower

I had a baby shower as a birthday surprise

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

On July 9, I turned 24 years old. Naturally, I wanted to look beautiful on my special day, so I got a manicure and pedicure and got my hair done. I was also excited to wear my new maternity dress. My boyfriend picked me up and drove me to what I believe would be a small birthday surprise. When we arrived, a lot of guests greeted me. My dad had planned a surprise baby shower for my birthday. I was beyond happy, and I loved it so much.

I saw one of my closest friends there, and we talked about various things. I told her my boyfriend seemed annoyed because of the long drive, but eventually, he got over it. After about two hours, my best friend arrived, and her sweet daughter came to hug me. The fact that these two important people came to my baby shower means a lot to me, and I'm glad they got along. On the other hand, I was a bit sad that other people I wish were there could not attend.

My favorite part of the baby shower was when my boyfriend and I sat down, and I had to guess who the presents were from. If I guessed right, I got to draw on their faces with lipstick; if I guessed wrong, then the person who got me the gift had to draw on my face. For the most part, I guessed right. I got beautiful baby clothes for my daughter, three boxes of diapers, a baby swing, baby shampoo, baby bottle brushes, a couple of health kits, wipes, a unicorn duffle diaper changing bag, some blankets, and so much more. Receiving these items for my baby brought so much joy to my heart and I'm so excited to be using them when she is born. Aside from opening gifts, all the ladies had to measure my belly with toilet paper, my best friend was the only one who got the correct measurements for my belly.

I made it very clear to my mom or dad that if they were planning a baby shower, I wanted a turquoise color-themed one, not pink because I am not a fan of the color pink. However, despite my baby shower having pink decorations, it didn't affect me at all; I still had a marvelous time because I was surrounded by so much love. I loved the fact that bunny decorations were included because bunnies are my favorite animal. I feel that because this was a genuine baby shower, I did not feel isolated. When I saw my birthday cake, I was completely captivated by its beauty. The flavor of the cake was tres leches (three milk cake). I loved both the texture and taste of it. I thought it was adorable seeing a baby doll on top of it and it made me think of my daughter and how I can't wait to watch her sleep in peace. After everyone sang happy birthday, my boyfriend helped me with cutting the cake and handing out plates to the guests. The woman who baked and decorated my birthday cake did an excellent job.

I appreciate the fact that my dad put so much effort into this baby shower for my birthday because it shows that he wanted to see me happy. When I found out I was pregnant, I always said that I didn't need a baby shower because I felt it wasn't necessary or important. However, I am beyond happy I had one because my daughter deserved to be celebrated. I want her to understand that despite not being planned, I am looking forward to learning how to be a good mother. Having a boyfriend who has not left my side and loves our daughter so much is really important because no baby wants to come into a world where parents demonstrate no love. Also, my closest friends who did not criticize me for being pregnant and instead are so excited for her arrival illustrates to me that having supportive people in life is essential. I can't wait to hold my daughter in my arms.

pregnancy
1

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.