Families logo

To all the Darling Daughters

A Holiday Gift Guide for Mothers

By Katie ShayPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4

The joy of Christams, for me, has never been about receiving gifts. Growing up, my family had traditions, like finding the perfect tree at a local tree farm and having snowball fights while we searched. We would make snow angels and run around until that perfect tree called out our names. When we got home with the tree, we would give it water and light it up with decorations. It was never long before gifts started to appear on the red velvet skirt, growing in volume as we got closer to the sacred day. I remember staying up late on Christmas Eve to help my mom put the final touches beneath the tree, and the treats out for Santa. Oh how I miss the smell of fresh pine and apple pie. Like I said, it was never about the gifts.

However, this year my mother outdid herself. She knows just how to cheer me up when I have the holiday blues. You see, Christmas in Arizona is nothing like it is in the Pacific Northwest. There is no snow, no decorating the fresh pine tree, and for me, there is no family to celebrate with. So alas, here I am in Phoenix, with nothing festive but a package on my doorstep.

To my darling daughter, love mom.

Can you feel the love?

I felt the love ooze out as I opened the box. So many gifts! My mother usually asks me for a Chrsitmas Wishlist, but I always forget reply (sorry mom!) and yet somehow she seems to hit the nail on the head every time. Or should I say, the acorn on the nutcracker ;)

So many goodies!

When I opened the package, the first place my eyes went was the food. Raw granola, coconut chips, and chocolate. A perfect combination. I am always very grateful for food, especially when it's a delicious bowl of cinnamon granola that I get to enjoy on Christmas morning. Parents, never underestimate the power of chocolate and cereal. We love you for it!

The next item I goggled over was a singing bowl. How did she know I wanted this? Did she see my Instagram stories? I had placed a few items on my vision board as things that I wanted to manifest, and a singing bowl was one of them. Singing bowls are great for attuning yourself to a higher vibration. They also clear out stagnant energy from your body and make you feel lighter and more limber. At least, that’s how I feel. I’m still learning how to play with singing bowls, but what an exciting gift!

TIBETAN MANTRA SINGING BOWL - www.dharmashop.com

Next up were some pamper products. A girls favorite. My mom knows how much I love baths, so she equipped me with a sugar scrub, a bath pillow, a pink headband that’s soft and fluffy, a robe, and a Rose Quartz gua sha rolling kit. I’ve actually written another article that shows how to use a gua sha, so you can check that out here, but that one is Jade. They actually feel quite different against the skin. These items can be found at World Market, and will completely transform your (or your daughters) self-care routine.

Grateful for daydreamin'...
pamperin'...
and self-lovin'.

Next up...

"Oooh!" I pulled out a nice little hand massager. "This is great for my hips! " You can never have too many self-care items. It's just not possible.

www.mercari.com

Okay, now what’s this? It’s a teal knitted bag for groceries. Cute! My mom told me she found this gem at a local shop called The Mazama Store in Mazama, WA. I tested it out when I went to pick up ingredients for my vegan broccoli chowder, which turned out bomb-diggity, by the way.

I love sustainable gifts. We should all have shopping bags like this!

And last, but not least, a Matcha recipe book. I have been steering away from coffee these days, but I still really love a warm beverage in the morning. I alternate between turmeric lattes, adaptogen cacao, and organic matcha. I don’t even think my mother knew that before sending me this recipe book, but I guess moms are just like that. Somehow they just know.

Photo from www.ecocollective.com

MATCHA Recipe Book - www.ecocollective.com

All of the wonderful gifts I received are already being put to use. Thank you mom for always knowing exactly what I need to make my life a little simpler, and a little more enjoyable. I appreciate your thoughtfulness, your generosity, and your desire to make sure I feel loved. I know you wish you could hold me this holiday season, but just know that I am holding you in my heart. And for all of those mothers out there who are buying gifts for their daughters, this Christmas list is seriously perfect. It’s everything a girl could need to feel at home away from home for the holidays.

Thank you mom. Merry Christmas.

Love,

Your Darling Daughter

humanity
4

About the Creator

Katie Shay

Conscious Influencer

Content Creator

YouTuber

Writer

Artist

Model

Friend

@bosskatie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.