Blush logo

OSEA & Gua Sha

Beauty by the Sea

By Katie ShayPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Third Place in Holy Grail Challenge
7

Many stories are told of treasure at the bottom of the sea. Whether real gold or seaweed, I believe this to be true. When it comes to skin care, the skin needs to breathe. This is why I choose OSEA for my skin care routine.

“The moment I pulled my first harvest of seaweed directly from the waters, I knew I had found the key ingredient for OSEA. To this day, I love being on the Patagonian shores when we hand-harvest our seaweeds directly from the frigid waters.”

- JENEFER PALMER, OSEA FOUNDER

As a fashion model and Instagram Influencer, I can truthfully say that I have tried hundreds of skin care products and makeup lines, and OSEA has become my favorite by far. I have always enjoyed trying out different products to see what works best for my combination skin, and what I love about OSEA is that their products are made straight from Mother Nature. They are vegan, cruelty-free, gluten-free, and their USDA certified organic seaweed is sourced directly from a family-operated cooperative along the shores of Patagonia. The seaweed is hand-foraged, as it naturally migrates into the shallow waters along Patagonia's prestine beaches. Knowing the story and intention behind OSEA makes my skin care routine nurturing for both my skin and my soul. Every evening when I do my routine, I am taken back to the refreshing feeling of dewey ocean air breezing over my skin.

OSEA is a woman-run, family-owned business that has a magical inception. Great-grandmother Elda was a healer, and one of the very first female chirpractors, who had a terrible accident resulting in paralysis of her leg. She was bedridden, unable to care for herself or her patients. She had a prophetic dream that the ocean would heal her, so her husband took her to the beach in Long Island, NY where she plundged into the freezing cold December waters. She continued this routine until a few weeks passed, and she was healed. Elda attributed this miracle to the minerals and trace elements present in the saltwater and seaweed. Her decendents followed in her foosteps as healers, studying various healing modalities such as Polarity Therapy, Acupressure, Shiatsu, and Biodynamic Craniosacral Therapy. These studies then translated over to the skin care line, OSEA, founded by the family in 1996. The history, knowledge, and wisdom that backs these products truly makes me feel like I am doing myself a magical service every time I use them.

Elsa; photo from www.oseamalibu.com
I love my OSEA skin care products as much as I love the Sea

OSEA has formed the perfect combination of Earth's essential oils and sea minerals to nourish the skin and make it glow. The three prodcuts I am crurrently using include the Atmosphere Protection Cream, the Vitamin Sea Serum, and my Jade Gua Sha Sculptor.

The first product that I apply to my skin daily is the Vitamin Sea Serum.

Vitamin Sea Serum, $68, www.oseamalibu.com

This serum has 3 different types of seaweed, which together promotes firmness of the skin, reduces the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, and deeply hydrates the skin. Seaweed is optimal for anti-aging, because it forms a barrier on the skin protecting the collagen. This serum also includes turmeric, which is rich in antioxidants and brightens the appearance of the skin. I have been using this serum for about one year and I can attest to the truth of the glow that it gives me.

After I apply the serum, I apply the Atmosphere Protection Cream.

Atmospehere Protection Cream, $48, www.oseamalibu.com

The Atmosphere Protection Cream is also made with sea ingredients, but is primarily a combination of algae, avolcado, lavender, ginko biloba, and flower extracts like calendula and chamomilla. The algae is packed full of antioxidants and minerals for optimal hydration, and when combined with the fatty acides and vitamins from the avolcado, this moisturiser forms a barrier on the skin to protect it from free radicals. With the air quality of today, especially in urban areas, protecting the skin from free radicals is very important.

Once I have applied my serum and cream, I give myself a daily Gua Sha facial massage. This technique originated in Eastern Asia and is used to release tension in the face, detoxify the meridian channels, tighten the skin and facial muscles to prevent signs of aging, increase blood flow, and is a wonderful grounding practice. The slow pace and gentle massage that this tool provides is deeply soothing, and relaxes the parasympathetic nervous system, which can help improve self awareness, and how well we handle the emotional stress that life presents us. This ritual is particularly calming for me because it helps me connect to my breath and body as I glide the tool gently across my skin.

My tri-fecta; the Holy Grail of skincare

If you are looking for a new skincare line that is nourishing, ethical, and affordable, I highly recommend diving into the sea of OSEA. You can browse their podcuts at www.oseamalibu.com. Whether you have dry skin, oily skin, or combination skin, there is something for everyone. The Jade Gua Sha Sculptor is $32, and 100% worth the investment. Treat yourself to mineral rich grounding practice with this sacred skin care routine. Enjoy!

product review
7

About the Creator

Katie Shay

Conscious Influencer

Content Creator

YouTuber

Writer

Artist

Model

Friend

@bosskatie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.