Families logo

Time With My Dad

Dad's Day Out

By Pestis DeathbirdPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Time With My Dad
Photo by Anna Earl on Unsplash

First of all, I need to give a little bit of background on all of this (necessary to understand the context of this story).

At the time this happened, I was about 19 or 20 years old. My dad had underwent a lung transplant (single lung, due to lung damage suffered at work) and had been released from the hospital about a month or 2 before this event. As a result, he had a very compromised immune system, requiring him to wear a mask in public everywhere (keep in mind, this was 2006, long before Covid existed). Dad also wore a hat (due to his being bald and having skin that burned easily) and eyeglasses (the Transitions variety). This was also a very sunny day. Also, it should be noted that I actually enjoyed spending time with my dad, especially during my teen years.

Now that I got that out of the way, it's time to share what happened. Dad used to be very self conscious about wearing a mask everywhere. To the point where he had to be talked into it every single time and did not like going out in public. (Dad would've loved going out in these times though). Mom sent Dad on an errand: to the bank. It would be his first public outing after having had his lung transplant and he took me along.

Once we got to the bank, my dad put on his mask and hat (it was a clear, very sunny day) and he sat there nervously, check in hand (he was making a deposit). I looked at Dad and told him, "if anyone asks, just tell them the truth. That you have a compromised immune system. You're not gonna get arrested." Dad was nervous and not having it. He instructed me to go into the bank to inform the teller before he walked in. I didn't want to (thinking it wasn't necessary and that just politely explaining to all employees would be enough, as it was a bank that served people with multiple disabilities).

Dad and I got to the door, where he stopped dead in his tracks and made me go in. Insisted I go in and inform the teller that he was entering and let everyone inside know all was well and that he was harmless. I walked in, looked the teller in the eye, and said (my exact words), "The man wearing dark glasses, a hat, and a mask who is about to enter the bank is just my dad. He's not coming to rob you, only to deposit a check and has to wear a mask because he no longer has an immune system." Teller gave me this look like, "ok" and didn't know what to do. Confident I had solved the problem, I strode out the door and told Dad to come in.

Keep in mind, Dad's glasses were in sunglass mode and were beginning to transition to eyeglass mode as he's walking into the bank. Teller has her hand over the panic button under the table, looking like she's going to soil herself, while Dad handed over the deposit slip and his check. She breathed an audible sigh of relief as she deposited it, even smiling at my dad. All was well and the teller thanked me for letting her know beforehand.

We got home and Dad told Mom what happened. Mom gave us this look like, "how did you guys not get arrested?"

parents
1

About the Creator

Pestis Deathbird

Pet leech, sun conure, and pit bull owner. Writing mostly about what it's like to raise 2 differently abled children, along with many other assorted things. Everything I say is from a realistic point of view, so some of it's a little raw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.