Families logo

Time Capsule

the college student

By Leslie StromPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
11

How do people do it, go to college, work, homework, cook, clean, socialize? Something has to give. The nursing program is tough, so tough the homework is piled on my desk so high, my watch is ringing that I have an hour before I have to work. I pack my packsack full of texts, binders, paper, pens and paper.

This evening at work I am asked to serve the clients at the local senior home. I love it here it’s so warm, the clients are wonderful. I also love it here because my grandma is here. She doesn’t remember me, but some days I know she recognizes me, I see her eyes light up when she sees me.

After all the clients are ready for bed, tucked in, drapes are shut and lights out I sneak into my grandmas room on my breaks. I turn on her little lamp beside her bedside, I grab the rolling cart-that food is put on and read to her from my anatomy book to her. It gives me a chance to study and sometimes reading out loud it all makes sence to me.

One night on one of my breaks, I snuck in, and my grandma was sitting up looking around, was she waiting for me? I leaned over and very quietly asked if everything was alright. She looked at me with her watery eyes and said “Oh Maryelle, where have you been. would you like to hear a story tonight”. I said of course, she wasn’t talking to me she was talking to her daughter. Many people say we look exactly alike! I pulled up a chair, turned on the little table lamp, and gently touched her hand.

She sat up a little taller and her eyes went a little hazy and began to tell the story. Grandma Muckluski would go into the woodshed every Saturday and then give me a nickle to buy some milk, eggs, coffee, and a few candies. She would wink at me and send me on my way! When I got to the house an hour later from my bycicle and unloaded the groceries from the basket. She would give me the three candies and she said”shhhhh.. don’t tell anyone!” I gave her a big hug and play in the tree Fort with Zak and Murry. My mom would bring us kids for a visit every Saturday to help with the chores, and make bread for the week. One Sunday my mom had to go to town and dropped us of at Grandma Muckluskies. After mom left, Grandma asked us kids if we would like to put something into a time capsule in the shed. She told us what that meant and I was so excited! My brothers didn’t really care but Murry put a wooden car in, and Zak put in a few stamps. I had to think, mom would be gone for a while. My grandma said “perhaps draw a picture” ? I smiled and sat there for a long while. “I know what to put in grandma, but it’s not mine but I love it so much”! Grandma said “ what’s that dear”, I ran out of the kitchen. I walked up the old rickety stairs up to the attic.

“I’ll never forget Maryelle” she said looking at me. There was dust everywhere and the only light was coming from an old window in the corner of the roof. There was cobwebs, and sheets everywhere over boxes after boxes. It smelled musty but I know what I’m looking for. I was so excited! There she was on a rocking chair. It was an old porcelain doll that all of the parts moved. I carefully took her off the rocking chair and brought her to my grandma.

Grandma Muckluskie smiled at me and said oh she is beautiful, that was my grandmothers doll. She gently put her in the box and brought it in the shed! Maryelle, she looked at me and said “I’m tired”

Wow! That was quite the story! I turned off her light and carried on with my duties.

That story was the last thing my grandmother said before she died two weeks later. I was heartbroken not to see her there anymore, but I kept up with work, school, and studying.

It was reading week and uncovering of the will, the whole family was there waiting for what it said and who would get what. The lawyer called my name and said “ your grandmother wanted to give you this”. He handed me a box, it was covered in old news papers and taped rather tightly. I looked at my two brothers and my parents. My mom was smiling at me with tears in her eyes.

I opened the box, inside was a little black book. I opened it and most of the pages were blank. I saw some writing and opened it to the page. It read: dear Sally, the time capsule is yours, I hope it helps with school so you can quit your job. I cried, then took the box and sat at the back of the room while each member of the family got up and got something special.

In the summer my family took a trip to the old farm. The grass wasn’t cut, but my brothers were excited because the old house was still up and they inherited the farm for hunting or whatever they chose! We walked around, everyone went inside and I saw the shed.

I opened the creaky door, and searched everywhere for the time capsule. I noticed a shovel and picked it up and began to dig. I hit something metal. I couldn’t pick it up it was so heavy. I ran to the house and called for everyone. It took my dad and my two brothers to lift it out onto the very old picnic table almost completely white with sun bleaching it all of these years.

Inside was everything my grandmother told me about in the senior home, and more, old coins-lots of them. My dad picked up a very shiny, big jagged coin and shook his head. He got out his phone and it was worth $20,000 at auction. I looked at mom, she was holding the doll sobbing. She told me that she remembers the stories about this doll. I told her she could have it, but never to sell. We had the most precious heirloom that will pass on to many more generations. It was an emotional day for all of us. I looked up to the stars that night and thanked my grandmother for helping me while I was tearing up. A falling star fell for a long time right in front of me and new it was my grandmother.

grandparents
11

About the Creator

Leslie Strom

Hi, I come from a small town of 2,500 in Northern Ontario Canada. I love camping and fishing, which we have access to many beautiful lakes. I also knit, crotchet, sew, read and write. Our winters are very long and cold so crafting is a must

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.