Families logo

Grandmas Possession

A love story

By Leslie StromPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
2
Grandmas Possession
Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

”Grandma, why do you always have that old owl in your hands.” Looking up at her with wide eyes.

She reached into her pocket and held it in her hands, she smiled looking at it while rubbing it in her hands. She looked at me and said, “Oh Sally this old thing!” looking at me forcing a smile. Just as she placed it back in her apron pocket I saw a tear.

We never talked about the Barn owl since that day. She always had excuses, but never talked about it. I new it was special to her, I often saw her sitting in the rocker on the wooden porch with it in her hands with sad eyes. She always looked like she was in another world far away.

When I was older she was put into a senior home as she was forgetting things. I didn’t get to see her as often as I would like but as a working woman living in the city the two hour drive once a month was the best I could do. It gave my mom a rest from helping her, and attending to my aging father.

One weekend I stopped in my grandmothers old house to pick her up a few things. I decided to go up into the attic. To my surprise it was exactly as I remember. There was an old window in the corner, and old dresser, dusty couch with a homemade quilted Afghan in the back of it and two doilies on the arms. My grandmothers doll Lacey was still there untouched. I sat in the couch after I swiped some dust and an old cobweb. I sighed as I sat to hold Lacey. I remembered how the house always smelled of baking, homemade bread, and garlic. She put garlic in everything. It made me chuckle thinking about it.

I heard the floorboard creak by the entrance of the attic and there she was looking at me smiling. She sat on the cedar chest In front of me and handed me her hand carved owl.

She smiled at me, and started to become blurry. “Wait, grandma I need to know more about your precious owl.”

She turned, smiled at me and pointed to the chest she was just sitting at. Then she was gone. I stared at the entrance, with tears in my eyes. Just then my phone rang and I new she was gone.

I sat on the couch holding the tiny owl, sobbing wanting to talk to her one more time. I blew off the dust of the treasure chest and opened it. It was just like looking into a time capsule. There was photos, Pom poms, a football, and several year books. I couldn’t believe it opened so easily because it is usually locked. I opened the year book.

There she was, my grandma young in high school. She was in a black and white photo being thrown into the air with cheerleaders all around her! I flipped another page and she was in a picture with a tall handsome boy in a convertible with the top opened. She had her arm around this boy holding a football, he wasn’t my grandpa!

I wiped my eyes and started looking for the boy. I found him several pages latter in a graduation photo. It looked like he was in grade 12 and she was in grade 10. I opened another yearbook and found him again in a wood shop black and white picture. To my surprise he was standing beside a huge barn owl sculptured from a big stump of a tree. He had his arm wround the huge sculpture with a ribbon in one hand a very small wood piece in his hand. Could it be the small owl my grandmother always had, and sitting beside me on the couch. I looked into the book to see what it was when my phone rang again.

It was a long hard week helping my mom and her sister and brother arrange things for the funeral. There was a reading of the will and my presence was asked to be in the room. I felt out of place as I was the only grandchild there, out of the six of us. After all of the assets were read I was given a white envelope with a key. The note said go to locker 336 in the high school and all of your questions will be answered. I looked around feeling all eyes on me and I grinned. My grandmother and I always played little games. She would hide notes around the house for me to find and many clues to the end. Once there was a wooden spoon and a recipie for homemade brownies. I still use the same recipie with her writing with my children.

I walked out of the small lawyers office, opened the door and walked out. I looked up and said, “grandma what are you up to” smiled and walked to my car.

The school was a short drive from the lawyers office and took me awhile to find locker 336. As I opened it a letter fell to the floor. I opened the envelope and there was very messy printing.

The printing was faded and barely kegable but it read:

Dearest Annabelle, I am being deployed overseas in a month not by choice. I hope you will hold my carving of the owl close to your heart. Because one day we will be reunited. I will always love you and will find you one day. Love Al

My heart sank, realizing that this young marine was in love with my grandmother made to fight in the war. There was at least 50 letters in the locker from him. It broke my heart that they were separated. I found the last letter that was sent to her post dated two years later.

In the letter was his dog tags, and a letterhead from the United States Marine Core. It read:

Dear Annabelle, your boyfriend/fiancé was killed at war, with no living relatives we request your presence at his funereal on November 8/1933. In the locker was a flag perfectly folded, a brown case with a purple medal with Al Stones name on it. Once again my heart sank.

I had to catch my breath, as I ran out of the school back into my car. I had to find his grave. At the gravesite it took me a while to find were they had officers of the war with wooden white crosses. I finally found his spot and there was a beautiful wreath, week old flowers, and a box. I barely saw the box as the grass was long, but I held it up to the sunlight.

I looked up and said, “grandma, is this for me to open?” A light breeze moved my hair and a bright blue butterfly landed on the cross. Again water filled my eyes as I opened the box.

It was tin and rusted. In the box was a note from my grandmother.

Dear Sally, this is where I want to rest my ashes. Beside the man I have been searching for my whole life. I finally have found him. Love Grandma.

grandparents
2

About the Creator

Leslie Strom

Hi, I come from a small town of 2,500 in Northern Ontario Canada. I love camping and fishing, which we have access to many beautiful lakes. I also knit, crotchet, sew, read and write. Our winters are very long and cold so crafting is a must

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.